We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Customer” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel St. Francis

Save Saved
You added Hotel St. Francis to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel St. Francis
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   210 Don Gaspar Ave., Santa Fe, NM 87501 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Affiliate website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Save 35%- Exclusive Offer
Ranked #27 of 59 hotels in Santa Fe
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very Good Customer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

I was satisfied with this hotel. The room was albeit small. I stayed in a classic queen room. There was not enough counter space around the sink area which was outside of the bathroom. However I mad it work for me. Low lighting in the Bathroom. However, it was ok. There was a shower and not a bathtub which was ok. Room had a flat screen TV. The bed was very nice and comfortable. The maid service was excellent. They were very friendly and prompt in cleaning the room. Excellent customer service on the front desk and in the restaurant. The food in the restaurant was good. Excellent location and was in walking distance of the historic plaza and other points of interest.
This is a historic hotel which I thought I would not originally like. However, I ended up liking it very much. Would definitely stay in this hotel again. Their Customer Service should be a role model
for other hotels and business. They appear to put the customer first.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

532 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    227
    166
    72
    39
    28
See reviews for
60
278
64
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

This hotel located right in the heart of Santa Fe is quiet charming. The lobby is relaxing in the evening with the fireplace and candlelights creating an old world feel. The rooms themselves are small but to be expected with an historic hotel. The front desk clerk did explain that the room was small and offered an upgrade but for our 1 night we decided on the less expensive but small room. As a New Mexico resident, we got a rate under $100 in this fine hotel. We will plan on staying here again soon as we live nearby.

Room Tip: If staying more than 1 night, pay the extra for a larger room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Townsend WA
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

This hotel has changed dramatically since my last stay there about 5 years ago. Then it had a doorman, a lively lobby, charming if dated rooms, and seemed well-loved and cared for by the staff. The hotel had been renovated since then, so we were expecting an even better stay. However, it was not to be. The phone in our room was so dirty I had to clean it with alcohol and a cotton swab just to stand to look at it. The towels and sheets should have been retired long ago. The mattress was so soft that I was able to feel my spouse's every toss and turn.There was a strange smell in the elevator. While the location is still terrific and the food in the restaurant is very good, the place has lost its charm and just seemed like a place to sleep - nothing more. We were very disappointed.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

I was recently part of a wedding party staying at the St Francis. The staff were very courteous and helpful but the quality of the hotel itself was very disappointing. My room was very small, worn and tired. The hotel does use Frette linens but the sheets and towels in my room were very old, frayed and very dingy. My room was hot and uncomfortable. Opening the window helped with the temperature but significantly increased the noise level from the street traffic and trash trucks. The lighting in my room was very poor. Closet space was very limited and would not accommodate long coats or dresses. I had to hang the long items on the back of the closet door. The toilet /shower room was small with a heavily stained tile floor....Rust maybe .??? The shower curtain liner was too short and would not stay in the tub while showering which allowed water to get all over the floor. There was also a large window above the tub that was covered with a piece of shower curtain that would fly up and interfere with showering. There was no coffee pot in the room. A coffee pot was available upon request but housekeeping did not provide fresh coffee pods each day of my stay. The room did have a safe which was very nice. The food at the restaurant was very good but the service was poor at best. The wait staff constantly had to be reminded to bring all items ordered. Other members of the wedding party staying at this hotel had similar experiences and observations. I would not recommend staying here until significant improvements are made in the hotel.

Room Tip: Stay at another hotel!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charmaine A, Revenue Coordinator at Hotel St. Francis, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for staying at Hotel St. Francis. We appreciate your feedback and I can assure you we are looking into all matters you spoke of. We pride ourselves on giving all of our guest one hundred percent guest satisfaction and when these kinds of issues happen, we take them very seriously. We hope in the future this never detours you from visiting our amazing historic property. Once again thank you for your review and we look forward to the chance to show you what we are truly all about.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for one night and for the most part, loved it. It was beautiful and charming. I had read reviews about the small rooms, and decided to try it anyway. The room was indeed small, but it didn't bother us until the morning when we were trying to get ready and there felt like there was no place to move around. We had to shuffle around the bed, sliding past each other. It wasn't terrible, but it definitely got warm in the room (top floor) despite it being cool outside, and therefore felt claustrophobic.

So, excellent customer service, beautiful hotel full of history and character, and definitely worth a stay, just don't be surprised by your teeny-tiny room.

Room Tip: Top floor gets warm in the sun, even on a cool day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

We stayed over Thanksgiving and had a great value in a terrific historic hotel. The restaurant and chef are excellent. The bar is great and expands into the lobby. Location is right in heart of Santa Fe. Rooms are comfortable and well appointed. Concierge is expert and more than amazingly helpful. Overall, a great experience at a very good price. Highly recommend the St. Francis in Santa Fe

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

On a recent trip to Santa Fe I spent two nights and three day at the Hotel St. Francis. I arrived early, the room was ready (requiring no special request!) and the staff were quite warm and welcoming. The service and attention I received during my stay was excellent and always prompt, friendly and helpful. During my stay I ate several meals in their restaurant all of which were above average in every way. Here, again, the warmth and welcome was evident.

Since I was there on a business trip and am only a bit familiar with where things are I had to ask the Front Desk and Concierge many time for directions and recommendations. All of these requests were responded to with complete, in some cases, printed directions and all of their recommendations where great.

Given it's location, one block away fro the heart of Santa Fe, and the relaxed, welcoming atmosphere I can't imagine ever staying any other place in Santa Fe and whole heartedly recommend it to all who travel there.

Yes, the rooms are small. But really, how much time do you spend in a room when you are traveling? It's size was certainly adequate for my needs and it was spotless! The beds are large and very comfortable. I slept great!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel St. Francis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St. Francis

Also Known As:
Hotel St Francis
St Francis Hotel
Address: 210 Don Gaspar Ave., Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#10 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#27 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel St. Francis 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Named for the patron saint of Santa Fe, New Mexico, the newly remodeled Hotel St. Francis pays respect to the origins of the city with its unique interior. With a palette of natural colors reflecting the days of Santa Fe and handcrafted wood furniture by local artisans, staying at the hotel is a cultural experience. Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, its recent restoration and renovation expanded the amenities to entertain travelers from across the world. The hotel is located just steps away from the historic Santa Fe plaza. Whether you're planning a weekend escape, a business retreat, or a lavish wedding, the Hotel St. Francis is the ideal destination. "Hotels supporting cultural causes." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Splendia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel St. Francis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel St. Francis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.