We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel St. Francis

Save Saved
You added Hotel St. Francis to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel St. Francis
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   210 Don Gaspar Ave., Santa Fe, NM 87501 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Affiliate website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Summer Deal - Save 15%
Ranked #29 of 60 hotels in Santa Fe
ma
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great place to stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I really liked the charm and ambiance of this hotel. We were at a wedding and had close friends and family there as well. I loved the bar in the hotel. They made incredible original cocktails and we had great fun there. The restaurant in the hotel we had an issue on the day we were leaving. We waited about 45 minutes for breakfast and then skipped it. Sevice was poor that day. Over all I loved the location and had a great time.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

570 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    239
    180
    79
    42
    30
See reviews for
68
293
65
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sandia Park, New Mexico
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
334 helpful votes 334 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

The location of this hotel in downtown Santa Fe is hard to beat. We stayed here two nights during shoulder season. Check-in was fine, but we immediately noticed a strong sewage odor in all the common areas, which the staff blamed on the city working on an undetermined road site nearby. The lobby itself is decorated in a strange black and white motif that replaced the formerly beautiful dark wood lobby. The rooms have been decorated in a very odd black, dark brown and white scheme, with the ugliest marble you can imagine in the bathrooms. Overall, the visual effect is very off-putting. The thermostat did not seem to be functional in our small room so it was hot. We opened the windows and were assaulted by the smell of burnt grease coming from the kitchen vents. Room keys are old style. On the plus side, the beds are very comfortable and we had 9 pillows of varying softness on the king bed. There are strange sounds that occur throughout the night. On about every hour, a beeping sound starts (about 10 beeps) followed immediately thereafter by what can only be likened to the sound of some animal being electrocuted (I can imagine it's a pigeon defense? Rats being fried?) In any case, it was a disruptive sound, especially the first night with the window open. The bar downstairs was o.k. It has a happy hour between 5 and 7. I could go on, but you get the picture. With as many wonderful options available in SFE, look elsewhere.

Room Tip: Pick another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Except for the pillows, of which there were nine, this is one of the most spartan hotels I have been in. No art on the walls. No mirrors. Bare wood floors. The room was very dimly lit by three, 15 watt candelabra bulbs (we asked the desk to send up a table lamp so we could read). Two very upright wooden chairs and a tiny table. Except for the inexplicable excess of pillows, it felt like a monastery. Wi-Fi worked great and the staff was pleasant. We ate one breakfast in the hotel restaurant and would not recommend it but with a fine restaurant like Pasqual's right across the street, there is no reason to ever eat at the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Albeit expensive for the small room, the friendly hotel staff and lovely ambiance made the stay in this hotel worth the price. The hotel restaurant offers great farm-to-table food unlike what you will find in most other restaurants in the area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Wonderful location, near everything. Stairs that make you want to avoid the elevator they are so gorgeous. The only drawback in my room was bathroom so dark and tiny almost too small. Other family members in rooms with gorgeous bathrooms. Windows operable no need for a/c at this altitude when evenings are so cool. Sometimes street traffic at parking lot side noisy.No swimming pool. Santa fe has limited kid activities.

Room Tip: Ask about bathroom size and whether sink in room or bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amarillo, Texas
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

I stayed here with my boyfriend for a weekend away. The front desk staff was very helpful and friendly at check in. After checking in we walked up to our room. It was a normal room, relatively good size but I honestly expected a little more chic for the price. But the bed was comfortable and plenty of room for us. The decor around the hotel is pretty awesome, kind of gothic church style. Definitely unique and interesting. There's a small bar next to the lobby. Pretty cute little hangout, a little pricy though, just like the hotel. I think my favorite part was the location. It's in the center square of downtown so there's plenty of great restaurants and bars within walking distance. I'm not much of a native american shopper but I still like to look. The weather was perfect to wander around. I would probably stay there again but maybe try to find a groupon or better deal. Cute, unique and fancy hotel if you want to stay downtown. Great for a romantic weekend away with your special someone. If you're in Santa Fe to ski, you're better off with a more practical hotel closer to the mountain.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

I stayed here for a full week to attend a conference. Although conveniently located, the room the antiquated, there was not a desk to sit at to work, I had to ask for shampoo daily, there was no way to regulate the heat in this hot room, and the workout facility was way below par for a $200+ per night hotel. Further, I could never get a hold of the front desk after hours. I could have saved a $1000 and stayed at motel 6.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael B, Manager at Hotel St. Francis, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Thank you for your recent stay at Hotel St. Francis. I have read your review thoroughly and I'm truly sorry you felt our hotel did not live up to your expectations. Please know that our hotel is a very historic building, and for that reason just a few of our guest rooms are on the smaller side. They just do not have room for a desk and chair. I wished you had said something to our front desk staff and we would have surly accommodated you with a larger room to fit your need. Moving forward I will use your review as a training tool to better teach our staff that being present at the front desk, even late night, Is absolutely just as important as regular hours of operation. Once again thank you for your review and we hope to see you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel St. Francis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St. Francis

Address: 210 Don Gaspar Ave., Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#24 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#25 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel St. Francis 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Named for the patron saint of Santa Fe, New Mexico, the newly remodeled Hotel St. Francis pays respect to the origins of the city with its unique interior. With a palette of natural colors reflecting the days of Santa Fe and handcrafted wood furniture by local artisans, staying at the hotel is a cultural experience. Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, its recent restoration and renovation expanded the amenities to entertain travelers from across the world. The hotel is located just steps away from the historic Santa Fe plaza. Whether you're planning a weekend escape, a business retreat, or a lavish wedding, the Hotel St. Francis is the ideal destination. "Hotels supporting cultural causes." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Splendia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel St. Francis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel St Francis
St Francis Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel St. Francis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.