We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hospitality in Santa Fe” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel St. Francis

Save Saved
You added Hotel St. Francis to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel St. Francis
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   210 Don Gaspar Ave., Santa Fe, NM 87501 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Affiliate website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Summer Deal - Save 15%
Ranked #28 of 60 hotels in Santa Fe
Suffolk
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best Hospitality in Santa Fe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

I want to Thank Everyone who made my visit and little girls visit to Santa Fe a memorable one. I would also like to Thank one paticular young lady who when above and beyond to make our visit the best EVER. Her name is Corina. My daughter and I came to the bar after going to see the biggest event of the year in Santa Fe, the viewing of Zozobra. We arrived back at our hotel at 1145 pm and my little girl was thirsty and famished. Nothing was open to eat or drink in downtown. Corina, asked my little girl if she would like her to run to the back and make her some chips and salsa, and my little girls eye's lite up and said "Yes Please" and when she returned with a tall glass of Water and plate of chips/salsa my little girls said to her "Your and Angel". Now I know this may sound silly for just a plate of chips and salsa, but my daughter was beyond hungry and the thoughtfullness of Corina was beyond measure. The Entire Staff at this Hotel made it possible for us to enjoy ourselves and be safe. If you are ever in Santa Fe and want some good ole fashion hospitality stay at the Hotel St. Francis. They are in my mind a 5 star hotel. Thank you to the entire Staff and especially "Corina". Your are an Angel.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the plaza, you can open your window and see the sunrise, absolutely Breathtaking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

572 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    239
    181
    79
    43
    30
See reviews for
68
295
65
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

A real mystical treasure in the heart of classic Santa Fe. So much so that we stayed one night on our way to Denver and decided to stay 2 nights on the way back!! And it was worth it both times. Great staff...friendly and helpful. Room was a bit small but given where and what the hotel is not a problem...besides the beds were very comfortable. Restaurant food was oh, soooo good. Clean, organic, healthy and so tasty...the chile relleno and fish special were outstanding...as was the service...be sure to try to organic goat milk flan...yum. The bar was intriguing especially with the traditional "watch the people" porch attached. Strategically located with walking access to so much of the beauty and culture of Santa Fe. Will be our stop in Santa Fe from now on...P.S. Be sure to eat breakfast at Cafe Pasqual just across the street.

Room Tip: Select a room on the outer side facing the street. Ask for a larger king room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Spent three nights at the St. Francis over Labor Day weekend and had a great experience. Well situated in the historic downtown area, close to the Plaza and all the shops, restaurants, historic churches, museums, loads of galleries. The bedding, both the mattress, topper, pillows and linens were wonderfully soft and smooth. The long-time and highly knowledeable concierge Inger is ready to assist in every way. Cucumber and lemon-sliced water waits in the lobby for the ever-needy guest of high altitude hydration. The front desk staff were generally very friendly and helpful. The restaurant has a lovely small outdoor dining room, under generously fruiting apple trees, with a gently splashing fountain basin at the center. The goat's milk flan is worth seeking out. The hotel is part of a series under similar ownership of other lovely, old hotels and offers a great $75 for any 3 meals at any of the 3 hotels. Our only (slightly small) complaint was that our room is tiny. If we were lying in bed it was fine, but trying to negotiate two people in it at the same time was very difficult.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Although we generally enjoyed our stay, not everyone would. So, read the entire review before deciding. PROS: 1. Great location in the center of town. 2. Best beds for sleeping ever. Frette sheets, lots of pillows--unbelievable. 3. Relaxing, almost zen-like atmosphere. Simple, old mission/ southwest-style decor. 4. Great bar. 5. Cool front porch for sitting and people watching. 6. Friendly and accomodating staff. CONS: 1. Tiny bathrooms, poorly lit with no room to set down toiletries. (We actually prefer the rooms with the sink in the bedroom.). 2. Poor functional design overall. 3. Small bedrooms. Only a few of the largest rooms have a desk. 4. Can't get a cup of coffee before 7:30am. 5. No newspapers. Definitely not a good choice for business travel. 6. Staff not very knowledgeable about Santa Fe. Only a part-time (and, frankly, ancient) concierge. Don't expect much help with tourist related questions. We had to book our own tours.
We had a special "Centennial package" rate. I would think twice before paying full rates. Overall, If you are not demanding and wish to relax, this is a great place. If you need all of the usual amenities, maybe not.

Room Tip: We prefer rooms on the 3d floor. Better view of the mountains and more sunlight. Also, hardwood floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012 via mobile

We had an amazing stay at the hotel St Francis. The hotel is completely renovated and is absolutely beautiful . The staff is extremly helpful and friendly and will accomodate to every need! The hotel loby is absolutely gorgeous. The hotel bar is lively and drinks are delish. The rooms and bathrooms are clean, completely new, and tastefully decorated. I am VERY picky about where I stay, and i trully would trully recommend this hotel to family and friends!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport News, Virginia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

You don't stay at Hotel St. Francis to have an enormous room with ridiculous amenities. You stay at Hotel St. Francis for its superb location in old town Santa Fe. Everything you want to see in old town is merely blocks away. The rooms are indeed tiny (as many other travelers have complained about), but sufficient for sleeping, dressing, and showering. The beds are extremely comfortable (I think I got my two best nights of sleep on a thirteen day vacation there). Parking is a little bit wonky. Their assigned lot next the building is incredibly small and will not fit all the guests. They do have overflow parking in the lot across the street, but make sure you check in first and get your parking pass before heading over. Otherwise the lot attendant will charge you $4 to park then the hotel charges $9 per day (which may or may not be worth it depending on how long you plan to stay and how often you are going to move your car). Also, if parked in the lot across the street, every time you want to leave you have to get a special pass from the front desk that lets you get out of the lot. The whole process was a bit overcomplicated for my liking. I booked last minute and got an awesome deal (20% off the regular nightly rate). As such I was give the room with no view and located right outside of the staircase (what do you expect when you book last minute and for cheap?). The first night was wonderfully quiet. The second much louder as people kept going up or down or the stairs and talking in the hall. Overall, I would stay here again, but only for the 20% discount, not for full price. This hotel is nicely decorated, clean, sophisticated, and has a great location, but those things aren't worth the normal rate of $200 per night to me. Of course, you may have a different opinion.

Room Tip: Room 228 has no view and is next to the stairwell. Ask for another room if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parker, Colorado
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

and only using your room for sleeping.
We stayed here for two days.
We picked The Hotel St. Francis for its central location, and you cannot beat where it is located. You will have to pay an extra $9.00 per day for Parking.
Live with it. Or try driving around ALL day and try and find somewhere else to park in the middle of Santa Fe
Our room was pretty bare bones, with just the basics to speak of.
The toilet area with bath/shower is a very small area, with the vanity sink in the bedroom.
I was surprised with the quality of the towels; they just didn't fit with the other amenities of the Hotel.
The bed and sheets were clean and comfortable.
Soundproofing is an issue as we could here the herd of elephants moving around above us.
The house staff are great, along with the front of house.

BUT, best of all, everyone made our little dog very very welcome.

Would we stay here again.
Of course.
But we would upgrade to a suite and have a bit of room to move around.

Room Tip: Always get a suite, as the rooms tend to be small and a little Claustrophobic. Bring your Dog. He...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel St. Francis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St. Francis

Address: 210 Don Gaspar Ave., Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#25 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#25 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel St. Francis 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Named for the patron saint of Santa Fe, New Mexico, the newly remodeled Hotel St. Francis pays respect to the origins of the city with its unique interior. With a palette of natural colors reflecting the days of Santa Fe and handcrafted wood furniture by local artisans, staying at the hotel is a cultural experience. Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, its recent restoration and renovation expanded the amenities to entertain travelers from across the world. The hotel is located just steps away from the historic Santa Fe plaza. Whether you're planning a weekend escape, a business retreat, or a lavish wedding, the Hotel St. Francis is the ideal destination. "Hotels supporting cultural causes." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Splendia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hotel St. Francis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel St Francis
St Francis Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel St. Francis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.