We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“St Francis Hotel Santa Fe” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel St. Francis

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel St. Francis to your Saves list
Hotel St. Francis
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   210 Don Gaspar Ave., Santa Fe, NM 87501 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Affiliate website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“St Francis Hotel Santa Fe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

With its light touches of a genuinely historical building, sensitively renovated, and the helpfulness and charm of its staff, the St. Francis has been consistently the Santa Fe hotel with the finest old-fashioned values. Dim your eyes a little in the vast reception hall and you could be in the town in 1880, but with well-stuffed sofas, excellent cocktails, deeply comfortable rooms and a very good restaurant. Our thanks to Ren and all the rest of the staff for making our stay so enjoyable and such fun.

Room Tip: Choose a king or deluxe king bedroom at the front of the hotel
See more room tips
Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank simonbell_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

825 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Kansas City
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

We recently stayed at the Hotel St Francis for two nights in June. The room was wonderful, well furnished. The air was wonderful at night and we opened the windows to enjoy it. The staff was incredibly helpful in giving directions walking or driving. Inger knew our name without asking. I would definitely stay there again. The location was very convenient to the main square, shopping and restaurants. We loved the plaza.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Samantha P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

We made reservations in February for our June visit to Santa Fe. Our COO called a month ahead and the day before to ensure we have our reservations and were told yes both times.

When we arrived they told us we were supposed to come the end of July - the COO had our confirmations showing they were wrong. They took us and stuck us on the third floor, which turns out is clearly where they put the walk-ins when/if they have room. It's their rooms of last resort. Making reservations five months ahead did not save us from this fate.

The internet descriptions all say they have air conditioning specifically in the rooms. Our room was hotter than blazes, keeping us up until midnight, forcing us to open windows and live with a lot of street noise, and making the room uninhabitable during the day.

We asked them to fix it the first full day we were there. The manager promised if they couldn't, that they would move us to another room. We never heard back. Early the next day I found the hotel engineer who said "Our rooms don't actually have air conditioning [they use swamp coolers] and there is nothing we can do to bring the temperature down."

I found the hotel manager the next day who had no explanation for why he didn't get back to me the same day and move us. He, too, gave me the surprising, "We don't have air conditioning" excuse - a direct contradiction of all their internet advertising.

There were no coffee makers in any of the rooms (what modern hotel doesn't have them?) - if ou wanted coffee in the morning, you paid $6 to have it brought to your room, plus a $3 tip - $9 for one cup of coffee.

The internet also advertises "complimentary bottled water" a "desk", "weekday newspaper" and "desk" - no water, no newspaper and no desks in the rooms our people were in.

The last full day we were there I found the manager again and he offered at 1pm to move us to a new room, from which we would check out the next morning. We had been fully unpacked for a couple days and they could only move us if we put it all back in suitcases. We decided to gut it out for the last 22 hours.

Room Tip: If you have to stay here, only take a room on the first or second floor. Their swamp coolers, which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chuck B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Hotel St. Francis, responded to this review, June 30, 2012
Thank you for your current review on the Hotel St. Francis. Please know that we always strive for the highest level of standards and insure every guest enjoys our historic hotel with it's special unique ambiance. The air conditioning system here at Hotel St. Francis works on a different principle than most hotels. It's not a swamp cooler system- it's a unique and special system which adjusts automatically to the outside temperature which is better suited for our high altitude and dry climate like Santa Fe's 7000 feet. Unfortunately like most of the country our temperatures have been hotter lately which is unusual for Santa Fe; the nights tend to always cool off to a very pleasant temperature. We do apologize If the Air Conditioner was not adequate to fit your needs during your stay. I really hope you understand that our third floor guest rooms are every bit as charming, comfortable and cozy as those on the first and second floors. Just to let you know for your future stays with us, we have coffee makers available for our guests upon request. If this wasn't made aware to you upon check-in, I am truly apologetic. Due to the fact that Hotel St. Francis is a historic property, not all rooms are furnished with desks. However If we know in advance that a guest would like one, we always try and accommodate. It was a pleasure serving you and we look forward to your next visit to Santa Fe!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012 via mobile

Although the hotel boasts the fact that it was completely updated the update is woefully in adequate. For the price the rooms are rather spartan the bathrooms ridiculous and the bar of rather poor quality. The housekeeping staff and Front desk staff were helpful. The public spaces of the hotel are very nice and it belies the appearance and accoutrements of the rooms

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank dfkmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Texas
Level Contributor
141 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

We stayed here on our first trip to Santa Fe. The front desk people were very helpful especially Alder. She gave great recommendations for dinners. It has a great patio out front to sit and have a drink and snack. Chris the bartender was wonderful. The only problem is the rooms. Ours was very small about 12 x 13 feet. The bathroom did not have a light in the shower making it a bit dark. As we spent most of the time out of the hotel, this was not a problem. We had a delightful stay, and the great location and staff made this hotel one we would be pleased to return to again.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Two_Wilsons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
60 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

Our recent stay at the St. Francis Hotel was exceptionally delightful. The quaint room was very small but very comfortable and charming. The staff, especially Jeremy, was friendly, efficient, and helpful. We enjoyed a delicious 'Santa Fe' breakfast in the lovely outdoor dining area. The location can't be beat! We will definitely stay at this hotel again and again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the second and third floor have better air conditioning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Mary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

What a complete delight! I stayed at this hotel for just one night during a brief business visit to New Mexico -- but every moment at this property was such a treat, I wished I could simply move in! I've never before stayed at a hotel where the "energy" was so utterly peaceful. Every square inch was serene & elegant -- and immaculately clean. What a comfortable bed and -- Frette linens, too! The staff was exceptional -- warm and hospitable -- so eager to help. Make certain to eat in the marvelous restaurant, where the food is superb! And -- breakfast in the delightful courtyard is a must!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MaryMargaretCannon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
La Fonda on the Plaza
#4 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,613 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe
Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe
#23 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 stars 722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Eldorado Hotel & Spa
Eldorado Hotel & Spa
#24 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 stars 1,009 reviews
Inn of the Five Graces
#1 of 60 in Santa Fe
5.0 of 5 stars 471 reviews
Downtown
Inn and Spa at Loretto
Inn and Spa at Loretto
#26 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 stars 1,165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel St. Francis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St. Francis

Address: 210 Don Gaspar Ave., Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#22 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#25 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#26 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel St. Francis 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Named for the patron saint of Santa Fe, New Mexico, the newly remodeled Hotel St. Francis pays respect to the origins of the city with its unique interior. With a palette of natural colors reflecting the days of Santa Fe and handcrafted wood furniture by local artisans, staying at the hotel is a cultural experience. Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, its recent restoration and renovation expanded the amenities to entertain travelers from across the world. The hotel is located just steps away from the historic Santa Fe plaza. Whether you're planning a weekend escape, a business retreat, or a lavish wedding, the Hotel St. Francis is the ideal destination. "Hotels supporting cultural causes." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel St. Francis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel St Francis
St Francis Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing