We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel but great staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel St. Francis

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel St. Francis to your Saves list
Hotel St. Francis
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   210 Don Gaspar Ave., Santa Fe, NM 87501 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Affiliate website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% Off Nidah Spa
Ranked #28 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Orlando, Florida
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nice hotel but great staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

We were in Santa Fe for a 3 day visit, and The St. Francis was a good choice. It is close to the plaza. We got a great value on our room and it was very clean, and comfortable. Not anything big and fancy but great for the price. Ask for a quiet room as the walls are a little thin. Front desk staff was always willing to help. Concierge was very helpful with dinner reservations and our day trip to Taos.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

612 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    261
    188
    88
    44
    31
See reviews for
71
311
72
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Denver
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

I went to visit Santa Fe to get away for the weekend. I booked my reservation through Expedia and got a good deal as far as downtown hotels are concerned. The room was small. The staff was friendly. The drinks at the bar were great. I would return again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

We stayed at the St. Francis for two nights on a special rate that we had gotten from a travel site. The staff was very accomodating and pleasant, the hotel is beautifully decorated and well maintained. We enjoyed drinks and appetizers on the loggia, watching people walk by. Our room was small, but adequate for a very short stay. The sink was in the bedroom, with no real counter space for toiletries, the closet was small and the bottom half was drawers, so if I had brought a dress with me, I'm not sure it would have actually hung properly. There was a small flat screen TV in a secretary type antique, which was placed directly in front of the windows. The size of the room just made for a little more thought on logistics - not unpleasant, but it felt kind of inconvenient. It's the kind of place I'd want to go if I were alone.

The first night we made the mistake of opening with window for fresh air - our room overlooked the parking lot, but there was a lot of street noise and the trash truck at about 3:30 am. The second night we turned up the air conditioning and kept the window closed and there were no noise issues at all.

We went hiking on Saturday and returned to the hotel to find that both the hotel lot and the overflow lot (a city lot across the street) were full. One of the front desk staff immediately offered to move his car out of the lot to give us a space, which was great.

Overall, it is a beautiful old property, with a lot of charm. We have stayed at several other hotels right in the Plaza area and based on the size of the room and normal room rates, would probably stay at a different hotel next time.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

When the hotel we were supposed to stay in overbooked and moved us to the St. Francis we were a little reluctant about the change due to some of the reviews on Trip Advisor. Happily we were treated very well by all of the employees during our visit but particularly by Chris, who we first met at the front desk. Since we had not originally planned to stay there, we asked to see a room before we brought in our suitcases so Chris pleasantly escorted us to the 3rd floor and gave us a little history lesson about the hotel on the way up. The room was nice and very clean. Although it may have been a little small for some travelers, there was plenty of closet space, a flat screen TV, a refrigerator and a safe. Everything but the closet was hidden inside a beautiful almost full wall length southwest armoire. We ran into Chris several times after that and he and everyone at the front desk were always very accomodating and helpful. Our room, 305, was on the street side however the adjustable air flow controls helped muffle any noise we might have heard from the street. The parking cost was included with our room and there were two lots to pick from. One is immediately adjacent to the hotel and the other is directly across the street. Although we did not make use of them, there is a restaurant and seperate bar on the premises as well. A patio sits directly outside the main entry where I would imagine it would be fun to sit and have a glass of wine on a warm summer night after wandering around the easily reached plaza and historic sites all day. All-in-all, we would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Pick a room on the 3rd floor to be a little higher above any street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

This hotel had the most welcome reception, a gorgeous lobby with so many places to sit, think, pull out a laptop, and write. It is elegant without being formal. No better place to park my body for 3 nights. Am just sorry I didn't stay more!

Room Tip: I booked the most modest room and it was just fine. When I return, I probably would ask not to be on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwood Village, Colorado
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

Beautiful property/lobby. And that's about where it ended. Room was clean but lacked adequate lighting. Bathroom left too much to be desired. Maybe we just got a bad room. Customer service at reception very lacking and clueless. No change available for parking meters-should be a no brainer. Room was quiet, but than again; I think hotel was not too full. No, I wouldn't come back here.

Room Tip: best to check out room before hand. Wish we'd done that.... or find another property. They'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalhart, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

The building is a lovely Historical building & gives you a unique experience of history past. The candlelight gives a elegance & sense of romance about it. There was no fire in the fireplace, but rightfully so, it was a warm evening. The room was extremely small, but tastefully decorated accordingly to the era of the building. Disappointments, NO AIR CONDITIONING made for a very miserable nights sleep, having to leave the "non-screened" windows open w/more disappointment of "bar" noise down stairs until the wee hours of the morning. Room over looked the rooftop :- ( Most disappointing, $9 parking fee each day, sassy, rude young lady upon check-out & "overcharged $50" shown on our bank account upon returning home; dealing w/that now (wonder if she thought she deserved a BIG tip). Got more rest in a one hour nap upon returning home than the entire night stay. Disappointed, first trip stayover to Santa Fe, NM

Room Tip: Stay here if you don't mind "being taken" "like historical" "have money...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel St. Francis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St. Francis

Address: 210 Don Gaspar Ave., Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#24 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#25 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#29 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel St. Francis 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Named for the patron saint of Santa Fe, New Mexico, the newly remodeled Hotel St. Francis pays respect to the origins of the city with its unique interior. With a palette of natural colors reflecting the days of Santa Fe and handcrafted wood furniture by local artisans, staying at the hotel is a cultural experience. Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, its recent restoration and renovation expanded the amenities to entertain travelers from across the world. The hotel is located just steps away from the historic Santa Fe plaza. Whether you're planning a weekend escape, a business retreat, or a lavish wedding, the Hotel St. Francis is the ideal destination. "Hotels supporting cultural causes." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Splendia, Despegar.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Hotel St. Francis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel St Francis
St Francis Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel St. Francis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.