We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful get away!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel St. Francis

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel St. Francis to your Saves list
Hotel St. Francis
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   210 Don Gaspar Ave., Santa Fe, NM 87501 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Affiliate website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Southwest
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful get away!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

Located in the center of Santa Fe, wonderful small rooms, much in walking distance. Great for a weekend or overnight get away.

Room Tip: Great place to stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

675 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    285
    212
    98
    48
    32
See reviews for
73
345
78
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Espoo, Finland
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
166 helpful votes 166 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

We ate here breakfast once and had a wonderful experience. Chef Estevan Garcia had a day off and sat on the patio and had a chat with us while we ate. Food was great and service impeccable. Wine was quite spendy (Chardonnay 13 USD per glass) but atmosphere really fine dining and worth a visit. We didn't stay in the hotel so can only review the food. Interior looked breathtaking and I would love to stay here overnight on my next travel to the city.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

Lovely building, but electric lights instead of candlelight in the lobby, no fire in the evening, no informational material of any kind in the guest room...guide to monthly gallery exhibits? No clues to current and ongoing cultural events. The stunning factor was the noise. I have never had a worse night's sleep. Our lovely large room fronted on the street, overlooking the "plaza" (actually a car park). The noise from midnight to 6:30 am on a weeknight was almost constant, between truck traffic, garbage trucks, restaurants closing and tossing glass bottles in metal trash bins, etc. The room curtains did not close completely so large lights from the car park filled the room with light. Absolutely terrible sleeping conditions. The front desk could not accommodate us with a different room and we checked out to locate another hotel for the rest of our stay in Santa Fe.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

We ha a wonderful stay. Alder, a front desk attendant, and Mike, the Operations manager assisted in making our stay comfortable! I would recommend this hotel to everyone. It is quite charming, low key, close to everything, and not super expensive. I cannot wait to go back!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

The hotel is truly beautiful. With a great rate from Sniqueaway we had a nice, small room, which was expected. Very clean room and comfortable bed. Didn't expect how cramped the bathroom was (they can't change the room set-up because of historical regulations). The sink was in the hallway as you enter the room. The fixtures and furniture were all nice and new. We, too, had quite a bit of early morning garbage truck noise. We also got billed twice for the room at the end of the stay, although upon check-in they had record of full payment. The restaurant is very nice and has excellent food. The bar has a good atmosphere and is pretty lively. Nice concierge desk. Lovely lobby and patio.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

Beautifully renovated 19th century hotel, decorated with a Franciscan monastic theme. The rooms are very small with no place to sit other than the bed. Even so, our room was comfortable and clean. The lack of space in our room was more than compensated for by the incredible lobby, which is spacious, comfortable, and beautiful. We ended every evening by sitting in the lobby with a glass of good wine from the Secreto Bar which is located within the hotel. The staff was friendly and helpful, and the price was more than reasonable. I had previously stayed at the La Fonda, but actually enjoyed the St. Francis more (and paid far less). The location is perfect...a very short walk to the plaza and well into the historic downtown section of the city, but just off of the foot traffic pattern so as to make it quiet without the crowded feeeling that you get elsewhere in that section of town.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

I liked everything about my stay except the 5 am wake up call from the trash truck outside room 106. Everything else was great.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel St. Francis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St. Francis

Address: 210 Don Gaspar Ave., Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#24 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#26 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel St. Francis 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Named for the patron saint of Santa Fe, New Mexico, the newly remodeled Hotel St. Francis pays respect to the origins of the city with its unique interior. With a palette of natural colors reflecting the days of Santa Fe and handcrafted wood furniture by local artisans, staying at the hotel is a cultural experience. Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, its recent restoration and renovation expanded the amenities to entertain travelers from across the world. The hotel is located just steps away from the historic Santa Fe plaza. Whether you're planning a weekend escape, a business retreat, or a lavish wedding, the Hotel St. Francis is the ideal destination. "Hotels supporting cultural causes." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Splendia, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel St. Francis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel St Francis
St Francis Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel St. Francis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.