We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful historic hotel right in the heart of old Santa Fe” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel St. Francis

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel St. Francis to your Saves list
Hotel St. Francis
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   210 Don Gaspar Ave., Santa Fe, NM 87501 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Affiliate website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Wonderful historic hotel right in the heart of old Santa Fe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2011

Hotel St. Francis is on National Register of Historic Places and has been beautifully restored. Perfect location, wonderful staff. Front portico perfect for morning coffee or afternoon drinks...just great ambiance. Excellent restaurant on premises. Plus everything is walkable from here. It's overall fabulous. We plan to return and recommend to all.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Seliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

825 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Boulder
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2011

Friendly staff; clean, comfortable rooms; fantastic location!

Review would be 5/5, but the rooms are a little small (though, cozy).

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BoulderCO_Adam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silverthorne, Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2011

Location is right downtown. Very romantic and beautiful. Restaurant superb woth unique food. The rooms are renovated, but still kept in the original time period. We go to Santa Fe 4-5 times a year and this is the very best hotel we have ever stayed in. Staff gives excellent service and is very friendly.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank me245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hopkinsville, Kentucky
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2011

I was in Santa Fe to attend a family member's wedding. I chose the Hotel St.Francis because of its close proximity to The Plaza and also from other reviews I had read. I must say my stay was absolutely wonderful!!! The staff was very friendly and always helpful in anything you need. I loved my room! It was quaint and very comfortable! The linens on the bed were extraordinary!! I didn't want to get up in the mornings! Be sure and have a "lemon drop martini" at the bar! The best!! I will look forward to my return and will definitely stay again at Hotel St. Francis!!

Room Tip: I had a room on the second floor, very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank janetmarie1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Forge, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

When you are in Santa FE, stay in a hotel that makes you realize where you are. Historical, updated,great location. Rooms are well decorated, a little on the small size but it's part of the ambience.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 90Miler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

We got a very small dark room with a view of a wall and other windows, with the weirdest bathroom distribution that was subject of a lot of jokes, the sink was so close to the toilet, you could barely use it! not good ventilation and just next to the cleaning closet, so we heard all the loud conversations of the staff and throwing their things around at 7am.
This is not at all what I would expect of even a modest 3 star hotel. Parking is not included.
The food at the Bar was brought with a hair in it, and the lemonade was pretty much the worst I've had.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank viajerocdh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoomsMgr, Front Office Manager at Hotel St. Francis, responded to this review, June 17, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with me. The Hotel St. Francis was built in 1924 and many details of the hotel reflect that time period. While some of the rooms are on the smaller side, no two rooms are the same in size or layout. If there is a detail of the room that is not working, we welcome the feedback and will do everything in our power to correct the issue during your stay. We understand that our guests differ just as much as our rooms and strive to accommodate your needs in a fashion that will assure your stay is a pleasant one.

As for your experience with our staff and bar, your comments have been passed on to the respective managers and will be addressed immediately as to prevent this from happening again. Once again, thank you for your time and your feedback is appreciated.

Kim Hirst
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2011

This hotel is a one of a kind and has so much charm! From the moement we arrived we were impressed with the ambiance of the hotel from the lobby to the rooms. Everywhere we looked there were reminders of the history of the hotel with old picktures posted in the hallways of the 2nd and 3rd floors. The location is the very best in town and within walking distance to the churches, shopping, cafes, several museums and more. This hotel was a people magnet in the lobby, bar and restaurant because it trully captures the real feel of Santa Fe! Can't wait to visit again!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank spacecoastkim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
La Fonda on the Plaza
#4 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,615 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe
Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe
#23 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 stars 723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Eldorado Hotel & Spa
Eldorado Hotel & Spa
#24 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 stars 1,013 reviews
Inn of the Five Graces
#1 of 60 in Santa Fe
5.0 of 5 stars 474 reviews
Downtown
Inn and Spa at Loretto
Inn and Spa at Loretto
#25 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 stars 1,178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel St. Francis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St. Francis

Address: 210 Don Gaspar Ave., Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#22 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#25 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#26 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel St. Francis 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Named for the patron saint of Santa Fe, New Mexico, the newly remodeled Hotel St. Francis pays respect to the origins of the city with its unique interior. With a palette of natural colors reflecting the days of Santa Fe and handcrafted wood furniture by local artisans, staying at the hotel is a cultural experience. Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, its recent restoration and renovation expanded the amenities to entertain travelers from across the world. The hotel is located just steps away from the historic Santa Fe plaza. Whether you're planning a weekend escape, a business retreat, or a lavish wedding, the Hotel St. Francis is the ideal destination. "Hotels supporting cultural causes." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel St. Francis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel St Francis
St Francis Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing