We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE BEST INN!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rosewood Inn of the Anasazi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Rosewood Inn of the Anasazi to your Saves list
Rosewood Inn of the Anasazi
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   113 Washington Ave., Santa Fe, NM 87501 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Alamo, CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“THE BEST INN!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

My husband and I travel frequently, and we just stayed at the Rosewood Inn of the Anasazi in Santa Fe, NM for five nights. It was honestly one of the best hotels we have ever stayed in. It is the perfect mix of luxury and comfort. Our room was spacious, beautiful, and clean. The maids do a fantastic daily job and turndown. The hotel is charming inside and out; downstairs, adjacent to the lobby, there are lovely rooms in which to just relax, read, or watch TV. There are also the most amazing, freshly baked cookies available all day, every day, along with fresh iced lemon-water and hot cider. And the restaurant on premises is gourmet and fantastic. Best of all, however, is the staff—truly the most friendly and accommodating we have ever experienced—very similar to Four Seasons-type service, at half the price. We cannot recommend this Inn highly enough.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnOfTheAnasazi, Managing Director at Rosewood Inn of the Anasazi, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Thank you for your kind response regarding your recent stay at Rosewood Inn of the Anasazi. I am pleased we were able to provide you with excellent service. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Sincerely, Sandra Finlay, Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    311
    82
    29
    11
    8
See reviews for
52
253
17
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

A well run facility. Very friendly and efficient staff. Beautiful rooms with artwork everywhere in the building. The location is unbeatable. Near the Plaza, all the museums, and art galleries everywhere. You won't need a car but if you bring one, be aware that this hotel offers only valet parking for $20 per night. One other caution. Although the beds are very comfortable, the frames are high off the floor. The matresses are 3 feet high. I'm not that tall and had trouble getting on and off my bed. Despite this minor problem, I would stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DENVER
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Stayed at the Inn twice recently and it just topped all of our experiences. The Inn has wonderful rooms, roomy, cozy with a lovely fireplace, clean, we'll stocked bathrooms, and lovely Southwestern decor. The bed is equipped with two fabulous reading lamps, the best ever! It is usually so hard to read in bed while traveling, but the Inn's lamps have three levels of light and can be worked in the bed.
The restaurant was beyond anything else we experienced during our vacation. We had three dinners and three breakfasts. My husband is still raving about the lamb and the beef tenderloin. Juan, the executive chef, combines fresh, wholesome ingredients with each other in a delightful way. The plates are all beautiful presentations that look as nice as they taste. If you are in Santa Fe you have to eat there!

Room Tip: Ask for a fireplace!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

This was up there in the list of nicest hotel stays I've ever experienced. The hotel itself is very nice and in a great location. Rooms are really nice, clean and well-appointed. The restaurant at the hotel is well worth eating at also. We only had one meal there, but as a matter of fact, the mole duck enchilada appetizer I had there was one of the best things I ate during our vacation to New Mexico. But what really made this place stand out was the staff and how they run the hotel and treat their guests. So nice, so accommodating, down to every detail. From check-in to check-out, these folks know how to make your stay relaxing. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

I won't spoil all of the little surprises that await you as a guest at The Rosewood Inn of The Anasazi, but i will warn you to be prepared to feel SPECIAL. This romantic gem came highly recommended and now I know why. From the gorgeous materials used to build and decorate to the smell, sound, and feel of firewood burning throughout the Inn and the offering of exquisite food and beverages, your senses are in for quite an experience. All of that plus the added bonus of a perfect location in the heart of the plaza make The Inn of The Anasazi a must stay.

Room Tip: Get a room with fireplace!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnOfTheAnasazi, Managing Director at Rosewood Inn of the Anasazi, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you for your kind response regarding your recent stay at Rosewood Inn of the Anasazi. I am thrilled you enjoyed your time with us and hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Sincerely, Sandra Finlay, Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

From the scent of the real fire as you enter the lobby to the thoughtfully-chosen art to the amazing food and comfortable, Santa Fe styled rooms, the Inn of the Anasazi delights. I can't wait to return.

Right downtown, so it's convenient, but world's away once you are there.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Top Contributor
271 reviews 271 reviews
94 hotel reviews
Reviews in 100 cities Reviews in 100 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Selected the hotel based on past experience with other Rosewood properties and AMEX Fine Hotels. The location is terrific and the personnel are all friendly and helpful. The property is southwestern style and welcoming. There are some nice touches like blackout curtains in the bedroom, fireplaces in our room, Southwestern themes, leather furniture, free Wi-Fi, and cookies delivered each day.

The hotel did not quite deliver 5 star luxury as expected. It seemed the hotel management was interested in cost cutting measures instead of stellar customer service. When you get used to true 5 star experiences, you notice the things that a true 5 star property would not allow happen. Nothing that would justify no recommendation for a stay just don't expect the 5 star experiences (even though you get to pay for it).

The restaurant food is very good, but it seems as though management has elected to work with a downsized staff. The servers are great but the time from order to delivery is slower than it should be. When the food comes it is good, but not so good that such a wait should be acceptable.

Other issues that are accepted in a 4 star property but should not be in a 5 star are little unnecessary nuisances like having to ask for more than 2 coffees each day, slippers come in the room but instead of putting them out for the turndown service you have to search the room, ice comes to the room some days but not others (no ice machine so ice must be requested), a humidifier is in the room (a nice touch) but one of ours did not work (not as nice), reservations were made using AMEX fine hotels but the reservation on check-in did not show it, leather cushions in the dining room are torn with no apparent attempt to repair, and amenities are not replaced until empty so if you use up an amenity at night you have to wait until the service the next day for a replacement (a problem when there are two guests where one washes their hair at night uses up the shampoo then their companion tries to wash their hair in the morning).

It might be that there is a transition from one Managing Director to another. My hope is that the property reclaims the 5 star status it might deserve.

Prior to my trip I had written to the former Managing Director who did not respond. Megan did respond regarding my arrival and pre-arrival requests. Upon check-out I also spoke with Megan personally about my concerns. She promised to advise the new Managing Director. As of this writing neither Andrea nor Sandra felt the need to acknowledge my communication or my concerns.

Room Tip: If you want a balcony make sure you get it in writing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnOfTheAnasazi, General Manager at Rosewood Inn of the Anasazi, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
I appreciate you selecting our hotel for your stay on your visit to Santa Fe and was very concerned to hear of your comments upon check out from Megan on Monday morning, particularly that you felt our hotel did not live up to the Rosewood experience that you were accustomed to. Unfortunately my attempt to call you to personally apologize failed, the telephone number we had on file appears to be invalid, hopefully you have since received my email, sent the same day.
We do value your feedback, the housekeeping issues you experienced should not have happened, from the detail you gave to Megan I was able to follow up with our Director of Housekeeping who is reviewing and retraining on these issues in order to maintain consistency in housekeeping service standards equal to all of our Rosewood hotels.

I wish to assure you that our goal is to provide you with exceptional service and to ensure your stay is a most pleasant and memorable one, we clearly failed on this occasion; please accept my sincere apologies, and I appreciate that you took the time to advise us of these concerns and provide the opportunity for us to address and improve.

We would certainly welcome the opportunity to win back your confidence and goodwill towards our brand, please contact me at anytime if there is anything I can do to achieve this end.

Sincere regards,
Sandra Finlay
Managing Director
Rosewood Inn of the Anasazi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rosewood Inn of the Anasazi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosewood Inn of the Anasazi

Address: 113 Washington Ave., Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#9 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#10 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#16 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rosewood Inn of the Anasazi 4.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located and with one of the best restaurants in Santa Fe, this hotel provides local color in luxurious surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Rosewood Inn of the Anasazi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosewood Inn Of The Anasazi Hotel Santa Fe
Inn Anasazi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rosewood Inn of the Anasazi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.