We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“charming b & b” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Pueblo Bonito Bed & Breakfast Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Pueblo Bonito Bed & Breakfast Inn to your Saves list
Pueblo Bonito Bed & Breakfast Inn
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   138 W. Manhattan Ave., Santa Fe, NM 87501   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$99 (USD)
Ranked #20 of 43 Santa Fe B&B and Inns
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“charming b & b”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

A charming B&B, within walking distance to Santa Fe Plaza, government buildings and the railroad station. Friendly and helpful innkeepers who prepared a nice breakfast buffet including tamales!. Gift shop right on the premises. Our room was clean, but needed some updating; the front door didn't feel that secure, and part of the back of the room was being used to store an old freezer. Bathroom very small; at least there was a second sink in the nicely equipped kitchen. Microwave, coffee maker, fridge and stove convenient for longer stays.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santafeinnkeeper, Owner at Pueblo Bonito Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Roni and Gary--thanks so much for leaving a review. Glad you had a good stay with us. I'd like to quickly make a clarification if I may.

As our property dates back to 1860, there is certainly an historic feel to our rooms, but each room is definitely secure! Each room is equipped with its own hot water heater- each is 40 gallons, in the shape of a cube and around 5 yrs of age! You mistakenly classified yours as a freezer! All 19 rooms have full baths (tub and shower), bedroom, large closets, microwave, refrigerator and coffee set ups. Great southwestern artifacts, like kivas, nichos and vigas adorn the rooms as well. Modern utilities are provided, including a flat screen cable tv, WiFi, alarm clocks, and air conditioning controlled by each guest to their preference level.

One of the benefits of Pueblo Bonito Inn is our proximity to so many great Santa Fe sights. The plaza, museums, shops and restaurants are all just a quick walk away. And we'll be sure you're prepared for the busy day ahead, with our complimentary breakfast. In addition to tamales, we've got fresh pastries, fruits, granola, coffee and juice, just to name a few of our tasty offerings.

I do appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. Happy to host you anytime you're in the area--I know we'll be even better your second time around!

Sincerely,
Amy Behm
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    259
    116
    31
    15
    14
See reviews for
45
273
33
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Everything about our stay here was fantastic. The location was great- in a nice neighbourhood but just a 5/10 minute walk to downtown. The staff couldn't have been more helpful and welcoming, and gave us some great tips for where to visit during our stay. Our room was very clean and cosy (everything very fresh and clean despite the age of the buildings) and we loved the traditional style. There was a great choice for breakfast and the afternoon refreshments were a nice (unexpected) touch. I'd definitely return and would recommend to anyone wanting a relaxing Santa Fe stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santafeinnkeeper, Owner at Pueblo Bonito Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Thank you, Oishiocha! I'm really glad you had a fantastic stay. As we're just a short walk away from the Plaza, Canyon Road, and a number of museums, you certainly won't have a shortage of things to do in Santa Fe!

Another benefit of Pueblo Bonito Inn is our staff. Our team really wants nothing more than for you to enjoy yourselves. And unlike some bigger hotels or inns, the owners (myself included!) are on-site most of the time to ensure you're taken care. That means clean, comfortable well maintained rooms, a tour, a tip --whatever you need!

Our property is 154 years old, so "historical significance" is one of our most distinguishing features. Each room highlights local historic architecture, many feature nichos, kivas, vigas and adobe. The history simply adds to the charm!

Our guests also enjoy our complimentary breakfast and afternoon tea every day. There are plenty of options at breakfast to meet most dietary needs and it's the perfect way to start a busy day of exploring. Free parking in our prime location is always appreciated as well!

We'd love to see you again the next time you're in town. Thanks for sharing your experience!

Sincerely,
Amy Behm
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

When we were in our room, which was not much, it was quiet and comfortable.
Owners kind and friendly. Parking is at a premium here and if you come in late you have to fit in where you can. The bed was soft , but there are no drawers anywhere in the room to put clothes. ONLY 2 closets. The apartments needs updating badly. Tile in bathroom was pretty, but old and moldy. Great Water pressure tho!
Shades are old plastic with old lace valances over them. I was not impressed. Air conditioning seemed to work fine, but it is only one unit in the window at the front of the apartment, so you have to blast it to stay cool in the back bedroom. Overpriced for the quality, but it is close to the market in Santa Fe. We never had the breakfast as we were told they served Tamales and we are not Tamale fans.
The kitchen was handy for snacks & coffee in the am. Nice big frig for all our perishables.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santafeinnkeeper, Owner at Pueblo Bonito Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. Sorry you felt our pricing was off. If one takes into account our nightly rates include complimentary parking ( up to a$35/nt savings), breakfast buffet, afternoon tea, and Wi-Fi- we're actually one of the best bargains in downtown Santa Fe!. Guests can easily walk to Santa Fe plaza, galleries, shops, restaurants and historic attractions so our location is prime!

The property originally was a private estate with stables, servants quarters and an orno oven (Native American bread oven) built in 1860- so yes you are correct in stating we are old! One huge attraction to our guests is our history significance which exudes native New Mexican culture and tradition. Since 1970 (date of our acquisition of Pueblo Bonito), we have intentionally retained the original authenticity of structure and architecture- inside and out. The original bread oven is in full tact and highlights our courtyard! 18 charming guest rooms boast original foot thick adobe (mud brick!) walls, some with hand carved nichos, others with viga ceilings, corbels, etc. Each of our 18 rooms have a private bath with low-flow toilet, tub/shower, and adorable nicho vanities! Most recently we were awarded "Santa Fe Outstanding Preservation Award" specifically for our bathroom renovation in 2014. We have huge walk in closets for storage space, dressers, flat screen cable tv's, WiFi, coffee set ups, a refrigerator, microwave and air conditioning in summer months with wood burning kiva fireplaces in winter months! Our inn is unique to say the least- not something you're probably use to in a larger hotel, etc. We are a small family run business working diligently to ensure everything works well and is comfortable and relaxing for our guests. Sounds like it was during your stay!

While we do serve tamales at breakfast, that's certainly not the only thing! It's disappointing that you didn't check out all we have to offer. We also provide freshly cut fruits, oatmeal, granola, boiled eggs, low fat yogurts, pastries, coffee cake, baked breads, bagels, French toast, waffles, raspberry preserves, smears, fresh coffee, tea and juice. There's something for everyone, and it's the perfect way to start your day.

I do appreciate you taking the time to leave a review, and hope I've cleared up any confusion about a stay at Pueblo Bonito Inn. Thanks again!

Sincerely,
Amy Behm
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moore, Oklahoma
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

We loved this place it has lots of charm and the homemade tamales waiting for us were wonderful. The location is wonderful, just a few minutes walk to the plaza. It is located on a quiet street away from all the traffic. Our room was very spacious, clean and quiet. If you are looking for a modern hotel this is not the place for you, but if you want a place with a lot of charm and history this is it. The breakfast was very good and the staff very friendly and helpful. We would enjoy staying here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santafeinnkeeper, Owner at Pueblo Bonito Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
And we'd love to host you again, Darlene! Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us at Pueblo Bonito bed and breakfast inn!

Homemade tamales are intentionally served for our guests enjoyment and are our signature breakfast dish (Best breakfast tamales in New Mexico!). Tamales are a New Mexican tradition and very well indoctrinate our guests into our local culture and cuisine. I'm glad you took advantage of them! Our location is "prime" as we're next to the NM state capitol and a short stroll from the Plaza, shops, galleries and restaurants. But we still maintain a quiet ambiance within our foot and a half thick adobe walls, for when you want to relax and unwind.

Our property dates back to 1860- so yes... we do have our fair share of history and charm! I'm so happy you enjoyed your stay, and I'll share your compliments with the whole team. Thanks again, and please do stop by the next time you're in town!

Best,
Amy Behm
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fountain Hills, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

This B&B is very old and it showed it. Our room was very dirty -- if you walked on the floors with bare feet the bottoms of your feet were black! The grout in the bathroom certainly had never been cleaned (white near the sink and black in the traffic area). The bathroom faucets at the sink were pretty bad and the tub had hair in it that was not ours. The kitchen counter and table were sticky. yuk. Why would you have a kitchen area/sink with no paper towels, no utensils or even paper plates? The food offered here was not up to par. Breakfast had freezer-burnt waffles and afternoon tea was not worth your time. Needless to say we would NOT recommend these accommodations. Gift shop space was wasted real estate considering all the options you had at the Plaza! The photos were deceiving and the descriptions were overblown. Caveat emptor! The only positive aspect was the person who greeted us upon arrival.

Room Tip: If you want good value for your money, choose a brand-name hotel that has all the amenities. Also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santafeinnkeeper, Owner at Pueblo Bonito Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Hi Tanya--I must say, this is very upsetting to see. I do appreciate the opportunity to clarify a few things from your review.

For starters, I'm confused as to when you might have stayed with us. I have no record of a "Tanya" staying at Pueblo Bonito anytime so far in 2014 nor any guest from Fountain Hills, AZ! My apologies, I truly wish I could remember your visit. That being said, my sincerely apologies if you had a poor stay. I have unsuccessfully gone back to January of this year to find any record of any guest expressing any of the concerns stated above. Did you attempt to make us aware of your concerns while you were here? Possibly, did you get us confused with another establishment? I personally would have happily addressed any/all of the items listed above with no hesitation as I in no way would ever expect anyone to stay in such shabby conditions as you describe.

You state our gift shop is "a waste of space". We feature some of the top name Native American New Mexico artists. Artists like Acoma Pueblo pot tress Marilyn Ray and Vera Tenorio, a contemporary jewelry designer from Santo Domingo Pueblo. We also feature some of the finest Mata Ortiz pottery created and signed by Renaldo Quezado himself, and at a better price than you can get anywhere in downtown Santa Fe! All artists are extremely well -known and revered. None would even consider placing their fine pieces of art work in a gift shop that were considered a waste as you so describe.

Our building is 154 years old, so we do encounter issues with an occasional leaks or such, but for the most part things are in excellent condition and guests really enjoy our accommodations. We recently renovated many of our bathrooms and were presented with "Outstanding Historic Preservation Award" by our Santa Fe peers. Possibly, you attribute not-new as dirty? Possibly historic adobe b&b accommodations just aren't what prefer? I again, apologies for your dissatisfaction and seemingly angry attitude.

Both breakfast and afternoon tea are complimentary. Our breakfast features our famous breakfast tamale as well as self-serve items like: freshly cut fruits, oatmeal, granola, boiled eggs, low fat yogurts, pastries, coffee cake, baked breads, bagels, French toast, waffles, raspberry preserves, smears, fresh coffee, tea and juice. Of course, you're welcome to explore the town for a meal on your own. We just want to help jump start your day, which is why we provide a complimentary meal.

We always do our best to make sure everyone's stay is great. Though we understand we can't make everyone happy, we certain try our best if given the opportunity! And again, we're always here to help with any concerns--all you have to do is let us know!

Sincerely,
Amy Behm
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

We were on our honeymoon. The owner said they were upgrading our room for ten dollars more. The room looked nothing like the photos on Pueblo Bonito's website. The room had dirty blinds, an old air-conditioner, the windows wouldn't open. The shower had mildew around the molding and felt like my grandmothers house, the shower knobs were hanging off the wall, and the sink knobs were loose and leaked. Not at all what we expected.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santafeinnkeeper, Owner at Pueblo Bonito Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Thanks for your review, Clifford. I'm very sorry you had a poor experience with us. Your reservation was originally for one night, yet later when you requested a second night, that same room had already been booked- thus we were able to accommodate you in a more spacious king room for $10/nt more.

This review is especially disheartening as it seemed you were very pleased during your stay as our morning breakfast conversation eluded. It wasn't until your request for firewood to use in your in-room kiva fireplace was denied that you became less enchanted. Unfortunately we aren't able to allow inside fireplace usage when outside temperatures are in the 80s. All 18 of our guests' rooms fireplaces are real wood and thus don't draw smoke properly in higher heats--all our marketing material clearly state winter months usage only (mid-Oct to Mid- May).

We want everyone who stays at Pueblo Bonito Inn to have a wonderful stay, and most do. Just look at our TripAdvisor rating. Of course, with a 154-year-old building, there's always something to do, may be a few things here and there that aren't at 100%, but we do our best to keep everything in great condition and functioning well for you. We appreciate your feedback.

I'm sorry for anything we did that made your visit turn sour. Thanks for taking the time to leave a review and our best to you and yours.

Amy Behm
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

With 19 different rooms, this is not your typical B&B. Our spacious room was once someone's apartment for many years. Kitchenette, narrow bathroom, walk-in closets, fireplace, lots of charm.
Breakfast in the spacious main building includes their famous tamales. Historic property is located on quiet street across from the Capitol; short walk to the Plaza. Great hospitality - a place you'll want to visit again.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santafeinnkeeper, Owner at Pueblo Bonito Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
I'm glad you had a wonderful stay with us! Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review. As you noted, each room is oozing with Santa Fe charm, history and reflect our native culture as well as all the amenities you need, refrigerator, microwave-even a kiva fireplace for winter months use!

Our property is over 154 yrs old -originally a West Texas Circuit judge's estate- complete with home, stables and servants quarters. The original orno (Indian bread oven) is still intact and featured on our courtyard grounds! The property was sold and converted in 1930 to apartments housing many a notable southwestern character (i.e. one of Robert Openheimers personal body guards, Hilile Heller (artist), and others!).

There's always plenty to explore in Santa Fe, as well, and we're always here to give you recommendations. We'll also give you some energy with our complimentary breakfast. The tamales are the highlight, but there are plenty of other tasty treats, from fresh fruit to pastries to piping hot coffee and tea. We're just a short walk away from the Plaza, and a number of restaurants and museums are easily accessible, too. You can explore to your heart's content!

I really do appreciate you leaving a review. We'd love to see you again on your next visit to the city!

Sincerely,
Amy Behm
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pueblo Bonito Bed & Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pueblo Bonito Bed & Breakfast Inn

Address: 138 W. Manhattan Ave., Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Pueblo Bonito Bed & Breakfast Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enchanting, historic Old Santa Fe at it's best! Secluded adobe pueblo-style compound nestled quietly in downtown Santa Fe. Walk to plaza, restaurants, shopping, Canyon Rd, etc! New Mexico travelers favorite for 29+ years. Voted "Guests Favorite 2011, 2012 and 2013!" (8,500+ properties rated US & Canada)! THE Best Value in Downtown Santa Fe. Complimentary parking, Wi-Fi, breakfast buffet, afternoon tea and romantic kiva fireplace in every room! Seven foot breakfast buffet featuring our famous Breakfast Tamales- soon to be your favorite too! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, T4B, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Pueblo Bonito Bed & Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pueblo Bonito Bed And Breakfast Inn
Pueblo Bonito Hotel Santa Fe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pueblo Bonito Bed & Breakfast Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.