We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Character, convenience & caring hosts” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pueblo Bonito Bed & Breakfast Inn

Save Saved
You added Pueblo Bonito Bed & Breakfast Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pueblo Bonito Bed & Breakfast Inn
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   138 W. Manhattan Ave., Santa Fe, NM 87501   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Handmade Breakfast Tamale
Ranked #18 of 43 Santa Fe B&B and Inns
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Character, convenience & caring hosts”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

This very historic pueblo-style B & B exudes character without sacrificing comfort. Each room is different. Check out the website or ask the Innkeepers (Amy & Herb) for help in choosing a room. The only "downside" to our room was a very small bathroom, but that is what you often get when staying in such an historic property. Apart from that, the room was very clean & comfortable with a refrigerator, large closet, TV, telephone, nice wood fireplace and great WiFi.

One of the best things is the location -- only a 5-10 minute walk from Santa Fe's historic plaza. It has plenty of free parking -- a great bonus in Santa Fe. The breakfast was ample & filling although not a fully fresh cooked breakfast you might get at other B&Bs. It was served Buffet-style & included pastry, hard boiled eggs, bread, bagels, fresh fruit, cereal, tea & coffee. We also really appreciated the tea & snacks served every afternoon. Actually it is great to see a B&B who recognizes that we are not all coffee drinkers. Thanks, Amy & Herb!

The Innkeepers are wonderful people who exemplify customer service & friendliness. They are more than willing to help you with any plans that you want to make for your stay in Santa Fe.

Finally, but certainly not least, the rates are so reasonable compared to the rest of Santa Fe. Of course, there are the outrageous taxes that the city imposes on lodging, but that will be the same everywhere in the city.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santafeinnkeeper, Owner at Pueblo Bonito Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review—not only is it helpful to me as your innkeeper, it's very helpful to guests considering staying at Pueblo Bonito Inn.

I'm glad you had such a wonderful stay with us and got to enjoy all of our lovely amenities. While our bathrooms may be "small" in modern day American standards, there's a reason for that. We've intentionally preserved the originality of the historic architecture, and each bathroom is roomy enough to contain a bathtub, shower, sink, mirror and toilet. Most of our guests consider them historically charming!

As you mentioned, we're just a few steps away from Santa Fe's most popular attractions and restaurants. Our location is "prime" and our parking is on-site and complimentary with a nights stay. To keep guests energized throughout the day, we're happy to offer breakfast and afternoon tea. Our lodging package offers an extreme valuable - especially when considering for one nights lodging you recieve complimentary: parking, breakfast buffet, afternoon tea, in-room WiFi, and an in-room kiva fireplace with the nights fire included- no extra charge! We do recognize not everyone is a fan of coffee, so we happily offer 12 alternative tea options.

I really appreciate your compliments. Herb and I love our city, and we want to ensure you make the most of your stay. We're always here to answer any questions you may have. That personal touch, combined with our reasonable rates and freebies, make Pueblo Bonito Inn the best deal in downtown Santa Fe! It's no wonder we were voted "2012 City Search Best Inn in Santa Fe"!

Thanks again for your review. We'd love to host you again the next time you're in town!

Sincerely,
Amy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    235
    105
    29
    13
    13
See reviews for
42
248
29
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Nacogdoches, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

This was the first trip for my wife and myself to Santa Fe. We did our research on where to stay and decided on Pueblo Bonito B&B. It's within easy walking distance to the Plaza, museums and most restaurants that you'll find listed in the various guidebooks. We stayed in the Taos room and it was always well cleaned and the wood for the kiva fireplace was replaced each day. The bed was really comfortable and the room was quiet. The owners, Amy and Herb, were very attentive to any of our needs and made us feel very welcome. The breakfasts were always good with fresh fruit and hot coffee. Can't wait for our next trip back and we will definitely return for another stay!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santafeinnkeeper, Owner at Pueblo Bonito Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
We're so happy we were a part of your first trip to Santa Fe! Thank you for the very kind words. It's always rewarding when guests find us through online research, and even more so when we live up to their expectations!

We just love providing a wonderful place for you to stay, whether it's via our unique decor (the Taos room is a great choice!) or our hearty, filling breakfasts. Not only can you find fresh fruit and tasty coffee, we also offer tea and juice, oatmeal, granola, boiled eggs, lowfat yogurts, pastries, coffee cake, baked breads, bagels, french toast, waffles, raspberry preserves and smears. It's a great way to kickstart a day of adventure!

Of course, that adventure is right nearby. As you mentioned, we're within walking distance of the Plaza, as well as museums and several restaurants. We're in the perfect spot to see what Santa Fe is all about! And we're always happy to host you anytime you're in the area. Thanks again for your review!

Sincerely,
Amy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amarillo, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Booked on short notice over Spring Break for ski trip. This was our first B&B. Amy and Herb treated us like family and were extremely helpful in choosing restaurants and local sites to see. Our suite was quiet, clean and comfortable. We enjoyed the "afternoon tea" and visiting with Amy about our activities each day. Very handy to the square and an easy commute to the slopes.We will definitely be returning!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santafeinnkeeper, Owner at Pueblo Bonito Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you very much for your review—proud to be your home base while you hit the slopes! Herb and I love hearing about our guests' adventures, and we're always happy to make recommendations during your stay. After all, we've lived here for quite awhile, and know our way around the city!

Of course, one of the best things after a long day of skiing is getting warm indoors with a hot cup of tea. I enjoyed chatting with you and hearing about the daily activities. Thanks again for taking the time to leave a review; it's very helpful for both current and future visitors. See you the next time you're in Santa Fe!

Sincerely,
Amy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poolville
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

My Husband, my sister and I just returned from visiting Santa Fe for the first time and we chose this B&B as our lodging..what an excellent choice!!!! From the moment we were greeted by the Inn keeper and were allowed to occupy our suite 4 hours before check in time...to our exit to return home, it was first class comfort and quaintness. We were given a brief history on the inn which has been in their family for 40 years. Our host apolgized for the small bathroom in "Picuris" but it was very clean and very adequate for the 3 of us sharing this suite. A lovely stay for a real Santa Fe experience.

Room Tip: The "Picuis" was perfect for 3 adults with 2 kivas, a huge king size bed, and a queen size...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santafeinnkeeper, Owner at Pueblo Bonito Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Robin,

I'm so happy to read this! Thank you for the positive feedback. It was a joy hosting you all!.

We pride ourselves on offering that authentic Santa Fe experience. Not only through our decor and atmosphere, but also our proximity to some of Santa Fe's finest attractions and warm hospitality. Herb and I have been greeting and serving people for the past 28 years as owner/innkeepers and we're glad to welcome a new face!

Just a short walk from our inn located in the historic downtown district, you can dine at wonderful restaurants, explore 400 yrs of history, be awed by some amaziing art and see all our great city has to offer.

Regarding our bathrooms- they are "small" in modern day American standards because we have intentionally preserved the originality of archeticuture of this historic property, but each is complete with bathtub, shower, sink, toilet, etc. Many refer to them as "cute"!

Thank you again for taking the time to leave a review. It's helpful both for us as owners, and for potential customers who read this. If you're ever back in Santa Fe, we'd love to host you again and again and again!

Sincerely,
Amy Behm
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gordon, Texas
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

We booked this B&B for a short ski weekend. We wanted to be within walking distance of the Plaza when we returned from the slopes. We arrived after the office had closed for the evening and our key was waiting, along with a helpful map of restaurants that would be open for dinner late in the evening. Breakfast was ample and sufficient - the tea selection was fantastic! Loved having a roaring fire when we returned home each evening - every day the fireplace is cleaned and prepped with starter wood for the coming night. Very nice touch. This B&B is an excellent value in a perfect location for access to the Plaza. Easy parking is a plus.

Room Tip: We stayed in Santa Clara, Room #3. The large room was charming with fireplace, small kitchenette, l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santafeinnkeeper, Owner at Pueblo Bonito Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Being called perfect really makes me smile! Thank you very much for leaving a review. We loved hosting you during your ski weekend, and I'm thrilled you enjoyed our location. That's something we pride ourselves on—we're so close to the Plaza, as well as a number of wonderful museums and restaurants. And we're always available to answer any questions you may have or offer suggestions on what to see.

Not only is parking easy, it's free! Start your day off right with our filling breakfast, and leave your car with us while you explore the city. Like you mentioned, a roaring fire will be awaiting when you return. It's the perfect way to cap off a day on the slopes!

I really do appreciate you leaving a review. It'll be helpful for any guests considering staying at Pueblo Bonito Inn. Thanks again, and we'd love to host you anytime you're back in Santa Fe!

Best,
Amy Behm
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amarillo, Texas, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

The wife and I made reservations to Pueblo Bonito for Martin Luther King weekend upon discovering the bnb we normally stay at in the Arroyo Seco - Arroyo Hondo area was closed. The hosts were most kind and helpful for meeting our needs and requests. This was the first time we stayed at one that was more close in to the historical Santa Fe area. The walk to the old Plaza would be a brisk five minutes walk although with all of the shops and places to eat in between the trip to the plaza and back took most of the day. The comfort for our accommodations was spot on and well thought out, the little kiva fire for the room kept the winter chill away for the greater part of the night. Breakfast in the morning was satisfying and filling. We will be back when Martin Luther king weekend comes again next year. We had fun. :)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santafeinnkeeper, Owner at Pueblo Bonito Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
And having fun is the most important thing, Donald! Thanks very much for your thoughtful review. I'm glad you chose us this time, and even more thrilled that you had such an enjoyable stay.

As you experienced, a major benefit of Pueblo Bonito Inn is our location. We're so close to the Santa Fe Plaza that you can easily walk there and back with no problems. Of course, with all of the galleries and restaurants in between, it can be quite time-consuming and fun!

When you're taking a break from exploring, our hearty breakfast and cozy fireplace will help you relax and stay comfortable. And of course, we're here to answer any questions or concerns you may have.

I truly appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. with both past and future guests. We're looking forward to your next visit!

Sincerely,
Amy Behm
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We found this to be a perfect location for walking everywhere - downtown, railyard district, etc. The staff was super friendly and willing to share local insight which we found to be great for dining. If you are interested in seeing art, take some time to walk through the Capitol Building just across the street - its free, not crowded and has great variety!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santafeinnkeeper, Owner at Pueblo Bonito Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thanks for your review, compliments and tips! We certainly do pride ourselves on both our great location and knowledge of the area. The Capitol Building is certainly a great recommendation for Santa Fe visitors to experience and it's literally a "stones throw" from our inn! Of course, we're full of our own suggestions on places to go or dine as well, and we're glad you took advantage of some wonderful dining ideas!

Glad to know your stay was comfortable and that you enjoyed our inn and staff. We'd love to host you the next time you're in town. Thanks again and remember you're always welcome at Pueblo Bonito Inn!

Best,
Amy Behm
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pueblo Bonito Bed & Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pueblo Bonito Bed & Breakfast Inn

Address: 138 W. Manhattan Ave., Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Pueblo Bonito Bed & Breakfast Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enchanting, historic Old Santa Fe at it's best! Secluded adobe pueblo-style compound nestled quietly in downtown Santa Fe. Walk to plaza, restaurants, shopping, Canyon Rd, etc! New Mexico travelers favorite for 29+ years. Voted "Guests Favorite 2011, 2012 and 2013!" (8,500+ properties rated US & Canada)! THE Best Value in Downtown Santa Fe. Complimentary parking, Wi-Fi, breakfast buffet, afternoon tea and romantic kiva fireplace in every room! Seven foot breakfast buffet featuring our famous Breakfast Tamales- soon to be your favorite too! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, T4B, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Pueblo Bonito Bed & Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pueblo Bonito Hotel Santa Fe
Pueblo Bonito Bed And Breakfast Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pueblo Bonito Bed & Breakfast Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.