We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing week at Puelbo Bonito!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn at Pueblo Bonito Santa Fe

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Inn at Pueblo Bonito Santa Fe to your Saves list
Inn at Pueblo Bonito Santa Fe
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   138 W. Manhattan Ave., Santa Fe, NM 87501   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #17 of 43 Santa Fe B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
Chicago, Illinois, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing week at Puelbo Bonito!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

This was my fourth stay at Pueblo Bonito and recently I spent one week. I cannot say enough wonderful things about the experience. Herb and Amy are the most gracious inn keepers always making sure your needs are attended to. The afternnon hostess (Strelsa) is a pure delight! The rooms are nicely decorated in traditonal Southwest decore with each having a woodburning KIVA which adds additonal ambiance to the room. The breakfast is plentiful and the afternoon tea is a welcomed delight after a long day in Santa Fe. In addition, the travelers who stay at PB are always quite interesting and FUN! I feel it is the BEST place to stay in Santa Fe to get the true Southwestern Experience and get away from it all!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HopiSoul1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santafeinnkeeper, Owner at Inn at Pueblo Bonito Santa Fe, responded to this review, March 16, 2012
You're always welcome to escape to Pueblo Bonito and get away from it all. We're happy your stays here are always relaxing, fun and rejuvenating. That means Herb, Strelsa and I are doing our job! Returning to us for your fourth stay is quite a compliment which we don't take lightly! That is one reason why we were voted "2012 Most Likely to Return" by our guests in lanierbb.com's "Best Bed and Breakfasts" which 8,500 properties are voted on.

I appreciate your compliments to our hospitality, as well as the compliments to your fellow guests. I agree that Pueblo Bonito attracts interesting, delightful people from all over— we're very lucky for that and proud of it, too!

Thanks so much for recommending us as the BEST place to stay in Santa Fe. We're grateful for your support and look forward to your next visit!

All the best,
Amy Behm
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Las Cruces, NM
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

When you stay in Santa Fe, New Mexico for just a few days, you'll want to be in a charming and welcoming place...and Pueblo Bonito is exactly that. From the adobe building with turquoise trim and inviting courtyard to the common area with breakfast and afternoon tea room and living room with white leather couches around a blazing kiva fire, you feel like you've been transported back in time -- to the days of historic Spanish and Mexican days, yet with the comforts of home. A fireplace in the room is special too. We 2 couples would spend our days in museums and the Palace of the Governors, Museum Hill, and of course restaurants! We walked from our Inn to the Plaza the first day--10 to 15 minutes, great. Coming back for tea and goodies (loved that salsa!) near 5 p.m. we would sit and talk about what to do that evening...we were in in the early 90's and I hope we don't wait that long for our 3rd visit to Pueblo Bonito!

Room Tip: Ask the owners & they will help you choose.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smitchellnm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santafeinnkeeper, Owner at Inn at Pueblo Bonito Santa Fe, responded to this review, March 19, 2012
So glad you and your friends came back to stay with us again! Thank you for recommending our inn for the ideal, "charming and welcoming" stay in Santa Fe. We absolutely want to provide a traditional New Mexico atmosphere with the comforts of home— both in your individual rooms as well as in the common lounge, the courtyard, and everywhere else.

I hope this second trip was just as memorable as the first. It sounds like you all had a great time exploring (and eating!) all over town. Here's to making the third visit even better- just don't wait 10 years in between visits- we'd like to see more of you!

Warm regards,
Amy Behm
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alameda
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

After a long drive over the Rockies from Aspen, Co., we arrived at this wonderful adobe compound that made us feel at home. The "Tesuque Room" where we stayed had a presto log in the kiva fireplace that burned for more than 2 hrs. Vigas, flagstone floors, rustic front and bathrooom doors, hand painted ceramic tiles in the bathroom, and period furniture all added to the charm of this place. The thick adobe walls kept the noise out. In the morning, we were welcomed to a wonderful breakfast of assorted breads, cereals, bagles, spreads, sliced melons, delicious grapefruit, and freshly brewed coffee in a thermos. Our host Herb was very attentive to detail and provided excellent directions to the Plaza, about a 10 minute walk away. Since there is no free parking near the Plaza, we were able to save some $ by parking our car free at Pueblo Bonito. We enjoyed our stay and wished we had more than just 2 nights here. We hope to return here the next time we visit santa Fe.

Room Tip: Rooms all have a kiva, buy may be used only in winter months. Every room is unique, so check out pi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santafeinnkeeper, Owner at Inn at Pueblo Bonito Santa Fe, responded to this review, March 16, 2012
Elaine,

I'm glad the Tesuque room and cozy kiva could welcome you in from the cold and from a long day on the road. Your description of the room is lovely; I appreciate you highlighting all the unique details and charm of the room. Also, thank you for all of your kind compliments. Herb and I work hard to show our attention to detail— from authentic New Mexico decor, to a plentiful breakfast spread, to providing tailored suggestions and directions around town. The complimentary parking is a huge perk, I agree. Parking costs around the city can be a surprise! That's why we like to offer our guests the convenience of parking their car with us and not worrying about it for the rest of the stay. You can save that money for something fun!

Hopefully your next visit will come sooner and later— and last longer. We'd would love to welcome you back.
Until next time,
Amy Behm
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

As a newcomer to Santa Fe, I don't have anything to compare it to, but I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at Pueblo Bonito. The staff was consistently welcoming, patiently and enthusiastically responding to our requests for recommendations for restaurants, museums, etc. We stayed in the Tewa suite with its gorgeous tile floor. We enjoyed a fire each night and slept soundly in our cozy and quiet accommodations. It was nice to come "home" to tea each afternoon in the common area, although we could have made ourselves tea or coffee anytime in our kitchen in the suite. All the restaurants recommended by Stralsa were winners, particularly Mucho Gusto. It's an easy walk to the Plaza. We met lovely guests during our stay and would definitely stay here again.

In response to an earlier review, we found the bathroom in our suite to be perfectly fine in its size and function. An extra mirror made it easy to put on makeup. The bathroom was not large, but if having a large bathroom is important, then it would be better to pick a newer place. We wanted the charm of this authentic 150-year old adobe compound. This is a well-run B&B. Kudos to the owners and staff.

Room Tip: We chose the Tewa suite because it has a king-size bed along with the futon. I don't usually li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank windowseatplz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santafeinnkeeper, Owner at Inn at Pueblo Bonito Santa Fe, responded to this review, March 15, 2012
Herb, Strelsa and I have a great time recommending tasty restaurants, interesting museums and other fun places around the city. We're so happy you and your family enjoyed your stay with us last month! We also thank you for taking the time to write your own review of our inn. The Tewa suite really captures the spirit of traditional Santa Fe, from the navy blue Mexican tiles in the kitchen to the shiny Saltillo tile floor throughout. I appreciate your evaluation on the bathroom, too. The history, architecture, and decor of our inn is completely unique among other downtown Santa Fe accommodations— we are proud of it for many of the same reasons you enjoyed it. We hope you return to Santa Fe; you know you are welcome back to Pueblo Bonito anytime!
Warm regards,
Amy Behm
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dripping Springs, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

On our recent Santa Fe sojourn to Pueblo Bonito Inn, my husband and I were truly enchanted, in hopes of not sounding too cliché-ish, with our three-day stay there. Between snows during the first and last nights, we were happily tucked away in Tesuque Room, with ancient flagstone floors, kiva fireplace and a small kitchen for dining in. We appreciated the smoking restrictions, too, that afforded “throwing open the windows to watch falling snow--a sight seldom seen in South Texas—and breathing clean, mountain air.” I especially enjoyed the feminine touch of lace swags and valances juxtaposed against an otherwise rustic but charming environment. On a day trip planned with the help of our delightful hosts, we read up on the Tesuque Pueblo, our room’s namesake, on a marker near Camel Rock. We learned that the women of this pueblo earned income as early as 1880 by making and selling clay figurines known as rain gods or “rain catchers.” I felt even happier in Tesuque Room after discovering these historical tidbits about its namesake.
Our hosts, Herb and Amy, went extra miles to ensure that we had everything we needed to celebrate our “lucky thirteenth” anniversary in unabashed Santa Fe style. Lavish breakfast buffets were spread in the tearoom where guests congregated around the fireplace and swapped Santa Fe experiences. In fact, we were so cared for at “Bonito,” we both commented that we’d be perfectly content to just sit and visit, and never even go out exploring. Even shopping can be accomplished onsite. I am deliriously happy with the brightly woven “tree of life” table runner I purchased there at the “pueblo.”
Our time passed all too quickly; then it was time to say goodbye and drive off in the snow. But we have our beautiful photos, memories and souvenirs until the next time when, God willing, we’ll be back—same time next year.

Room Tip: Use the Internet to chose the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Will F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santafeinnkeeper, Owner at Inn at Pueblo Bonito Santa Fe, responded to this review, March 13, 2012
Will,

Thank you for such a wonderful review! It was an absolute joy having you with us for your lucky thirteenth anniversary, and I loved reading your description of your charming time here. Of course, you'd be more than welcome to sit (and shop) with us in the common lounge as long as you'd like. Once you're cozy on the couches around the kiva fireplace, it's hard to budge! But we're glad you did make it out and about on your day trip. The cultural background of the Tesuque Pueblo is fascinating; thanks for sharing!

Enjoy your table runner; I hope you think of us here at Pueblo Bonito whenever you use it! Thank you again for taking the time to recommend us to fellow travelers; Herb and I are so grateful. We look forward to welcoming you back for your lucky fourteenth, fifteenth, sixteenth...and beyond!

All the best,
Amy Behm
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

My husband and I just returned from our first visit to Santa Fe and we had an amazing time! Pueblo Bonito is a lovely, charming, quaint, convenient, cozy and comfortable place to stay. Our favorite feature was the kiva fireplace - rocked us right to sleep both nights we were there. The owners and staff are extremely friendly and accommodating. We surprised a friend who was also staying at Pueblo Bonito, and they made a note of it and made sure to not mention the surprise until after it happened. We arrived late due to flight delays, and they happily agreed to let our friends check in for us. Breakfast was delicious and the afternoon tea is a great way to recharge and warm up before heading back out for the evening. We would highly recommend this bed and breakfast to anyone staying in Santa Fe!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lthbph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santafeinnkeeper, Owner at Inn at Pueblo Bonito Santa Fe, responded to this review, March 7, 2012
Thank you for your sweet review. It was no problem letting your friends check in for you— travel delays are frustrating enough without worrying about your room here with us. Also, it was fun to take part in your surprise! Herb and I were glad to help make your visit as memorable as possible. I'm positive you all will never forget this one!

We do appreciate all of your compliments to our cozy inn, friendly staff and warm hospitality. Hopefully you will all return to Santa Fe and we can welcome you back again!

All the best,
Amy Behm
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
77 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

We booked our stay at Pueblo Bonito on the advice of a relative who was also going to stay there - what a great choice! Rooms were comfortable and relaxing - the fire in the kiva fireplace put us to sleep each night! Breakfast was above and beyond what one normally finds and offered nice range of fresh, homemade and packaged options. Herb and Amy were wonderful hosts and were always available for a little conversation or info about the Santa Fe area. Can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Jemez upstairs. It was a bright room with soft afternoon light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santafeinnkeeper, Owner at Inn at Pueblo Bonito Santa Fe, responded to this review, March 6, 2012
It was a true pleasure meeting you and your family. We're so glad you all found us and that you chose to stay at Pueblo Bonito b&b last month! I agree with your evaluation of the Jemez room. It is a lovely upstairs room, with sunlight flooding the space during the afternoon and the kiva glowing at night. I also appreciate knowing you found our breakfast offerings varied and plentiful; thank you for the compliment! We really do strive to go the extra mile and offer options to suit anyone's taste— even gluten-free cinnamon raisin bread and cereals.

Herb and I enjoyed our chats with you as well as helping you to find fun and unique things to enjoy around town. It 's always helpul to get an insider's perspective when visiting another city, and we love providing that for our guests. We're thrilled you plan to return and we look forward to your next visit!

Take care and thanks again,
Amy Behm
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Old Santa Fe Inn
#5 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,220 reviews
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#2 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inn of the Five Graces
#1 of 60 in Santa Fe
5.0 of 5 stars 471 reviews
La Fonda on the Plaza
#4 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,613 reviews
Downtown
Inn of the Governors
Inn of the Governors
#12 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Pueblo Bonito Santa Fe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Pueblo Bonito Santa Fe

Address: 138 W. Manhattan Ave., Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn at Pueblo Bonito Santa Fe 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovely downtown Santa Fe Bed and breakfast. Walk to plaza, shops, galleries, museums, restaurants and historic sites! 1860 built original adobe pueblo-style compound. Three buildings on one acre housing 18 individually decorated and charming adobe guest rooms. Kiva fireplace, private bath and private entrance in all 18 rooms. Breakfast buffet features handmade "Pueblo Tamales" and a wide array of other offerings. Afternoon tea, Wi-fi and parking are complimentary for guests. Affordable. Don't stay in Historic Santa Fe- Experience it at Pueblo Bonito bed and breakfast inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Inn at Pueblo Bonito Santa Fe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pueblo Bonito Hotel Santa Fe
Pueblo Bonito Bed And Breakfast Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing