We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Getaway in Santa Fe, New Mexico” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn at Pueblo Bonito Santa Fe

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Inn at Pueblo Bonito Santa Fe to your Saves list
Inn at Pueblo Bonito Santa Fe
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   138 W. Manhattan Ave., Santa Fe, NM 87501   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2 for 1 Wine Tasting
Ranked #18 of 43 Santa Fe B&B and Inns
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
57 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Getaway in Santa Fe, New Mexico”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

Great place to stay in Santa Fe. Walking distance to the Plaza, attractions, galleries and restaurants. Owners are friendly and helpful. Continental breakfast is outstanding. Rooms are large and comfortable. Highly recommended for any stay in Santa Fe, New Mexico.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santafeinnkeeper, Owner at Inn at Pueblo Bonito Santa Fe, responded to this review, March 5, 2012
Maschott,

Thank you for reviewing us after your stay earlier this month. We're glad we could host you during your Santa Fe getaway! Our location near downtown certainly makes it easy to explore the city on foot, and we hope you enjoyed the historic Plaza, the galleries along Canyon Road, and of course all of the delicious restaurants. It was our pleasure to see you off every morning with a plentiful breakfast spread and welcome you back every night with a cozy, comfortable room.

We really appreciate you recommending our inn to fellow travelers. The next time you are in town, we would love to welcome you back!

Warm regards,
Amy Behm
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    310
    137
    34
    16
    16
See reviews for
60
319
36
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

We have stayed @ Pueblo for two years in a row and have noticed a couple changes in their amenities. 1. Breakfast hours are now shorter so when we had to check out @ 730 we couldn't have breakfast there. 2. You only get 1 set of logs per day that burn a max of 2.5 hours whereas before you could get refills on the logs. 3. Tea time no longer includes their once amazing margaritas which I understand is due to a state law but I would think they would improve their snacks or drinks instead since they're saving $ on alcohol. In summary, pueblo is still a good place to stay at but has gone down in value in comparison to how it was before.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

I recently stayed at Pueblo Bonito during a ski trip to Santa Fe. The accommodations were perfect and I even was upgraded to a great suite due to some issues with the room I had originally reserved. The staff is friendly and helpful and they put out amazing spreads for breakfast and tea time. It's a perfect romantic hideaway, within walking distance to downtown shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

We have stayed here numerous times over 25 years, and have always left saying ":we will return!." Amy and Herb are delightful hosts, who make you feel "at home" and they and their staff are very available with suggestions and recommendations--bur never inrtusive. The property is a renovated hacienda compound located a convenient 5 minute walk to the plaza--but it is quiet and peaceful. Rooms vary in size, but the many we have stayed in are all comfortable, immaculately clean, include kitchenettes and private baths. Breakfast is delicious and ample, and afternoon "tea" is also included. Room rates are very reasonable for Santa Fe. We highly recommend Pueblo Bonito to friends and others.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santafeinnkeeper, Owner at Inn at Pueblo Bonito Santa Fe, responded to this review, March 5, 2012
We couldn't be happier to be your "home away from home" in Santa Fe! We love welcoming you both back again and again and helping to make each vacation as memorable as the last.

Herb and I try our best to strike a perfect balance with our hospitality— to remain as accessible and helpful as possible, tending to your needs, comforts and interests while still respecting your space and privacy. It's great to know you appreciate it, and I'll share your compliments with our staff!
We're also grateful for your compliments to the unique character, clean coziness, and great value of our B&B. As a guest who has stayed in several of our various rooms, you know the inn almost as well as we do!

Thanks again for this lovely review; your recommendation means a lot to us.

Until next time,
Amy Behm
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin TX
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

We stayed for 4 nights just recently for a quick getaway and to play in the snow and eat delicious New Mexican food. The host and hostess were probably the most attentive and gracious hosts of any hotel we have stayed at in Santa Fe (or anywhere). She brought us to our room once we checked in, offered us tea, and even brought us a cable to the internet (the authentic adobe walls are too thick for wireless). She asked us if everything was comfortable and ok before she left us to our room. They were the kind of hosts that are low-key and let you have privacy, but are always there if you have any problems, want to chat, or need a recommendation.
Every night there was wood and a fast lighting log waiting for us in the fireplace. Just strike a match and you have a crackling fire. The room (Santa Clara) was really cute with wood floors and bookshelves and wooden beamed ceilings. So, the room felt natural, reflecting the local culture, and "non-corporate". (The host said that this was a compound for a judge about a hundred or more years ago and then converted into little apartments in the 1930s. ) There is alot of storage space for suitcases and coats and shoes.
The location is great. A short walk to the square to shop and go to restaurants. We even took a very short walk (10 mins) to the Farmer's Market at the railyard which was great b/c parking can be hard to find if you are driving.

What makes this hotel unique could be a plus or minus depending on what you are looking for. The bathrooms and halls are somewhat tiny and the floors have a little creak to them because it is an old building. In the middle of winter it is a tad drafty (for a Texan like myself)... but once you get the fire going it is nice and toasty. There is also a space heater available, that we didnt end up using, to add an extra bit of warmth if you are used to warmer climates.

However, many of these things (creaky floors, small bathrooms, etc) is what makes it really special and unique. We stayed in a vacation rental home in Santa Fe before and it had the same feel as this hotel..... a historic authentic adobe where you can imagine what it felt like to live in Santa Fe several decades ago (well, except for the cable tv. haha). You cannot get that feeling in just a regular hotel. Sitting in the little casita with the fire roaring and the snow falling outside the thick adobe walls was so cozy and romantic.
I also appreciate that everything is included in the price of the room: parking, fire, breakfast, afternoon tea.

Breakfast has been covered in the other reviews..... a basic light breakfast with plenty of selection.

It is apparent these hosts put a lot of time and love into this little inn and will do whatever it takes to accommodate your stay. Stay here! In this price range, it is hard to beat!

Room Tip: In the winter, ask for a room with the head of the bed next to the wall rather than the window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santafeinnkeeper, Owner at Inn at Pueblo Bonito Santa Fe, responded to this review, February 15, 2012
Jen,
Thank you for taking the time to write such a thoughtful, thorough review. It was a joy to host you during your getaway earlier this month, and to welcome you to the mountains of New Mexico, quite a bit colder than central Texas! Winter is a lovely time here, but Herb and I realize that some guests need extra warmth and care. That's why we're very eager to make sure everyone is warm and snug upon arrival, and also provide comforts such as hot tea, space heaters, and fully-equipped fireplaces. In that vein, we appreciate your compliments to our hospitality; Herb and I are in the business because we love going the extra mile for our guests, and it's so satisfying to hear back about our guests' visits! We're so glad to hear you enjoyed the romantic, rustic nature of our historic inn; it's certainly "non-corporate" and we're proud of it! The charming Santa Clara room exudes an authentic New Mexican vibe that enhances the coziness of the decor and small, adobe casitas. (Seeing the snow fall outside certainly helps, too!) The large closet in each suite is a great perk because, unlike staying at many hotels, you can store your travel luggage and extra items away, out of view, and enjoy an open, uncluttered space during your stay. Last but not least, we appreciate you mentioning our convenient downtown location, which allows you to leave your car in our free parking. That's another rare perk! Thank you for recommending our inn for Herb and my hospitality, the rustic comfort and great value. The next time you want to escape to Santa Fe, we'd love to have you back!
All the best,
Amy Behm
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nampa, Idaho
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

We only stayed one night at this B & B for a romantic/skiing getaway. The professionalism of the owner/hosts was above & beyond anywhere that my wife and I have ever stayed. Upon arriving one of the hosts even took us and showed us our room. We loved the location and definitely the wood-burning fireplaces! We also really enjoyed the breakfast selection in the morning- I read many reviews by other guests and still am scratching my head what in the world they are complaining about....

To be as honest as possible...I was expecting a lot more as far as the room accomodations. From the reviews & website pictures it looked awesome, but after arriving it felt more like an older motel room. It was cozy and quaint, but definitely needs some updating that could make it shine. The bathroom was the smallest I've ever seen. The door would not close shut on the bathroom or the front door of the room without using a deadbolt. The bed was OK but definitely needed replacing (we were rolling into each other during the night). I understand this is a historic building, but I just wish there would be some small remodels to make the place more inviting and warm. It is usually the small things that sometimes leave the most lasting impressions....

The wood burning fireplace, location, professionalism of the owners, and the breakfast make up for what is lacking in the accommodations. I just expected a little more from the room and hope you can start making the necessary improvements to make this place truly shine! Thank you for a great stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santafeinnkeeper, Owner at Inn at Pueblo Bonito Santa Fe, responded to this review, February 9, 2012
We're glad you stayed with us and to hear you enjoyed many specific aspects of your Santa Fe ski get-away with us. We honestly appreciate your feedback. Herb, I and our staff strive diligently to provide a warm and welcoming atmosphere as well as a memorable experience for all our Santa Fe visitors. We sincerely appreciate your recognition of our outstanding hospitality. Our kiva fireplaces in each room definately set a romantic atmosphere and we're glad you were able to enjoy yours as well as our breakfast offerings and location! The bathroom door closure difficulty has been taken care of- thank you for bringing it to our attention. Changing the size of our baths would be much, much more complicated. Tearing down complete adobe walls (mud bricks make up the exterior and interior walls) to replace internal walls with 2x4's and drywall simply to increase bath size in our opinion would completely change the character of this authentic 150 yr old structure. We have supplimented bath size by creating "vanity area" outside of the bathroom. This includes a large wall mirror, spacious sink and storage area for hygeine items (curling irons, make up, etc). What Pueblo Bonito offers it's guests is a true experience in traditional, authentic, historic Northern New Mexico living- this is where we "shine". We are unique. We are not plush, but we are very comfortable, charming and extremely welcoming. We reflect local historic culture and for those Santa Fe visitors who desire this type experience- we are one of a kind! We thank you for your patronage and are glad you enjoyed your visit. We would love to welcome you both back to Pueblo Bonito in the future!
Warm regards,
Amy Behm, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012

We stayed at Pueblo Bonito from Tuesday, Jan. 24, 2012 until Friday, Jan. 27. Our room was comfortable and attractive, and we lit a romantic fire in our kiva fireplace each night. Parking is free, and the B&B is conveniently located (short walk) to the Capitol, the Railway Yard, the Plaza, Canyon Road art galleries, and lots of delicious restaurants. The free breakfast was abundant and tasty, with piping hot coffee and a terrific assortment of teas, and included lots of fresh fruit, yogurt, hard boiled eggs, pastries and breads/muffins/bagels. There was a lovely, complimentary tea each afternoon too, with cookies, chips and salsa, and cut up fruit, which afforded us a nice break from the day of sightseeing. Amy (the owner) had great recommendations for lunch and dinner, and helped us plan out our itinerary each day. We highly recommend Pueblo Bonito!

Room Tip: "Taos" room #5 is quiet, tucked back from the street, and just steps away from the common...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santafeinnkeeper, Owner at Inn at Pueblo Bonito Santa Fe, responded to this review, January 31, 2012
It was a joy to have you stay with us last week. Thank you for the excellent review. We're pleased you liked the rustic charm of the Taos room, complete with a romantic kiva fireplace. We don't only want to make sure you're comfortable at our inn, but also that you're having a great visit overall, so we're glad to know you had fun exploring Santa Fe and that our local tips helped you around the city. We're fortunate to be so close to downtown that, in the afternoon, you can stop back by the inn for a rejuvenating cup of tea and fresh snacks before continuing on with your day! We appreciate your attention to the plentiful breakfast spread, as well. Thank you for recommending our historic, cozy inn and friendly hospitality to fellow travelers. The next time you are in Santa Fe, we would love to welcome you back!
All the best,
Amy Behm, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Old Santa Fe Inn
#4 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,147 reviews
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#2 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inn of the Five Graces
#1 of 60 in Santa Fe
5.0 of 5 stars 433 reviews
La Fonda on the Plaza
#5 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,448 reviews
Downtown
Inn of the Governors
Inn of the Governors
#12 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Pueblo Bonito Santa Fe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Pueblo Bonito Santa Fe

Address: 138 W. Manhattan Ave., Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn at Pueblo Bonito Santa Fe 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed and breakfast in downtown Santa Fe, NM. Walk to Santa Fe Plaza! Historic adobe pueblo-style compound with kiva fireplace in each of 18 rooms. Breakfast buffet featuring famous handmade "Pueblo Tamales"- with a wide array of other offerings. Complimentary afternoon tea, Wi-fi and parking for our guests, a rare commodity in Downtown Santa Fe! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Otel, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Inn at Pueblo Bonito Santa Fe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pueblo Bonito Bed And Breakfast Inn
Pueblo Bonito Hotel Santa Fe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn at Pueblo Bonito Santa Fe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.