We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favorite lodging in Santa Fe” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pueblo Bonito Bed & Breakfast Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Pueblo Bonito Bed & Breakfast Inn to your Saves list
Pueblo Bonito Bed & Breakfast Inn
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   138 W. Manhattan Ave., Santa Fe, NM 87501   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$129 (USD)
Ranked #19 of 43 Santa Fe B&B and Inns
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Favorite lodging in Santa Fe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

We have stayed here numerous times over 25 years, and have always left saying ":we will return!." Amy and Herb are delightful hosts, who make you feel "at home" and they and their staff are very available with suggestions and recommendations--bur never inrtusive. The property is a renovated hacienda compound located a convenient 5 minute walk to the plaza--but it is quiet and peaceful. Rooms vary in size, but the many we have stayed in are all comfortable, immaculately clean, include kitchenettes and private baths. Breakfast is delicious and ample, and afternoon "tea" is also included. Room rates are very reasonable for Santa Fe. We highly recommend Pueblo Bonito to friends and others.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santafeinnkeeper, Owner at Pueblo Bonito Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, March 5, 2012
We couldn't be happier to be your "home away from home" in Santa Fe! We love welcoming you both back again and again and helping to make each vacation as memorable as the last.

Herb and I try our best to strike a perfect balance with our hospitality— to remain as accessible and helpful as possible, tending to your needs, comforts and interests while still respecting your space and privacy. It's great to know you appreciate it, and I'll share your compliments with our staff!
We're also grateful for your compliments to the unique character, clean coziness, and great value of our B&B. As a guest who has stayed in several of our various rooms, you know the inn almost as well as we do!

Thanks again for this lovely review; your recommendation means a lot to us.

Until next time,
Amy Behm
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    252
    112
    30
    15
    13
See reviews for
43
267
32
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Austin TX
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

We stayed for 4 nights just recently for a quick getaway and to play in the snow and eat delicious New Mexican food. The host and hostess were probably the most attentive and gracious hosts of any hotel we have stayed at in Santa Fe (or anywhere). She brought us to our room once we checked in, offered us tea, and even brought us a cable to the internet (the authentic adobe walls are too thick for wireless). She asked us if everything was comfortable and ok before she left us to our room. They were the kind of hosts that are low-key and let you have privacy, but are always there if you have any problems, want to chat, or need a recommendation.
Every night there was wood and a fast lighting log waiting for us in the fireplace. Just strike a match and you have a crackling fire. The room (Santa Clara) was really cute with wood floors and bookshelves and wooden beamed ceilings. So, the room felt natural, reflecting the local culture, and "non-corporate". (The host said that this was a compound for a judge about a hundred or more years ago and then converted into little apartments in the 1930s. ) There is alot of storage space for suitcases and coats and shoes.
The location is great. A short walk to the square to shop and go to restaurants. We even took a very short walk (10 mins) to the Farmer's Market at the railyard which was great b/c parking can be hard to find if you are driving.

What makes this hotel unique could be a plus or minus depending on what you are looking for. The bathrooms and halls are somewhat tiny and the floors have a little creak to them because it is an old building. In the middle of winter it is a tad drafty (for a Texan like myself)... but once you get the fire going it is nice and toasty. There is also a space heater available, that we didnt end up using, to add an extra bit of warmth if you are used to warmer climates.

However, many of these things (creaky floors, small bathrooms, etc) is what makes it really special and unique. We stayed in a vacation rental home in Santa Fe before and it had the same feel as this hotel..... a historic authentic adobe where you can imagine what it felt like to live in Santa Fe several decades ago (well, except for the cable tv. haha). You cannot get that feeling in just a regular hotel. Sitting in the little casita with the fire roaring and the snow falling outside the thick adobe walls was so cozy and romantic.
I also appreciate that everything is included in the price of the room: parking, fire, breakfast, afternoon tea.

Breakfast has been covered in the other reviews..... a basic light breakfast with plenty of selection.

It is apparent these hosts put a lot of time and love into this little inn and will do whatever it takes to accommodate your stay. Stay here! In this price range, it is hard to beat!

Room Tip: In the winter, ask for a room with the head of the bed next to the wall rather than the window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santafeinnkeeper, Owner at Pueblo Bonito Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, February 15, 2012
Jen,
Thank you for taking the time to write such a thoughtful, thorough review. It was a joy to host you during your getaway earlier this month, and to welcome you to the mountains of New Mexico, quite a bit colder than central Texas! Winter is a lovely time here, but Herb and I realize that some guests need extra warmth and care. That's why we're very eager to make sure everyone is warm and snug upon arrival, and also provide comforts such as hot tea, space heaters, and fully-equipped fireplaces. In that vein, we appreciate your compliments to our hospitality; Herb and I are in the business because we love going the extra mile for our guests, and it's so satisfying to hear back about our guests' visits! We're so glad to hear you enjoyed the romantic, rustic nature of our historic inn; it's certainly "non-corporate" and we're proud of it! The charming Santa Clara room exudes an authentic New Mexican vibe that enhances the coziness of the decor and small, adobe casitas. (Seeing the snow fall outside certainly helps, too!) The large closet in each suite is a great perk because, unlike staying at many hotels, you can store your travel luggage and extra items away, out of view, and enjoy an open, uncluttered space during your stay. Last but not least, we appreciate you mentioning our convenient downtown location, which allows you to leave your car in our free parking. That's another rare perk! Thank you for recommending our inn for Herb and my hospitality, the rustic comfort and great value. The next time you want to escape to Santa Fe, we'd love to have you back!
All the best,
Amy Behm
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nampa, Idaho
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

We only stayed one night at this B & B for a romantic/skiing getaway. The professionalism of the owner/hosts was above & beyond anywhere that my wife and I have ever stayed. Upon arriving one of the hosts even took us and showed us our room. We loved the location and definitely the wood-burning fireplaces! We also really enjoyed the breakfast selection in the morning- I read many reviews by other guests and still am scratching my head what in the world they are complaining about....

To be as honest as possible...I was expecting a lot more as far as the room accomodations. From the reviews & website pictures it looked awesome, but after arriving it felt more like an older motel room. It was cozy and quaint, but definitely needs some updating that could make it shine. The bathroom was the smallest I've ever seen. The door would not close shut on the bathroom or the front door of the room without using a deadbolt. The bed was OK but definitely needed replacing (we were rolling into each other during the night). I understand this is a historic building, but I just wish there would be some small remodels to make the place more inviting and warm. It is usually the small things that sometimes leave the most lasting impressions....

The wood burning fireplace, location, professionalism of the owners, and the breakfast make up for what is lacking in the accommodations. I just expected a little more from the room and hope you can start making the necessary improvements to make this place truly shine! Thank you for a great stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santafeinnkeeper, Owner at Pueblo Bonito Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, February 9, 2012
We're glad you stayed with us and to hear you enjoyed many specific aspects of your Santa Fe ski get-away with us. We honestly appreciate your feedback. Herb, I and our staff strive diligently to provide a warm and welcoming atmosphere as well as a memorable experience for all our Santa Fe visitors. We sincerely appreciate your recognition of our outstanding hospitality. Our kiva fireplaces in each room definately set a romantic atmosphere and we're glad you were able to enjoy yours as well as our breakfast offerings and location! The bathroom door closure difficulty has been taken care of- thank you for bringing it to our attention. Changing the size of our baths would be much, much more complicated. Tearing down complete adobe walls (mud bricks make up the exterior and interior walls) to replace internal walls with 2x4's and drywall simply to increase bath size in our opinion would completely change the character of this authentic 150 yr old structure. We have supplimented bath size by creating "vanity area" outside of the bathroom. This includes a large wall mirror, spacious sink and storage area for hygeine items (curling irons, make up, etc). What Pueblo Bonito offers it's guests is a true experience in traditional, authentic, historic Northern New Mexico living- this is where we "shine". We are unique. We are not plush, but we are very comfortable, charming and extremely welcoming. We reflect local historic culture and for those Santa Fe visitors who desire this type experience- we are one of a kind! We thank you for your patronage and are glad you enjoyed your visit. We would love to welcome you both back to Pueblo Bonito in the future!
Warm regards,
Amy Behm, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012

We stayed at Pueblo Bonito from Tuesday, Jan. 24, 2012 until Friday, Jan. 27. Our room was comfortable and attractive, and we lit a romantic fire in our kiva fireplace each night. Parking is free, and the B&B is conveniently located (short walk) to the Capitol, the Railway Yard, the Plaza, Canyon Road art galleries, and lots of delicious restaurants. The free breakfast was abundant and tasty, with piping hot coffee and a terrific assortment of teas, and included lots of fresh fruit, yogurt, hard boiled eggs, pastries and breads/muffins/bagels. There was a lovely, complimentary tea each afternoon too, with cookies, chips and salsa, and cut up fruit, which afforded us a nice break from the day of sightseeing. Amy (the owner) had great recommendations for lunch and dinner, and helped us plan out our itinerary each day. We highly recommend Pueblo Bonito!

Room Tip: "Taos" room #5 is quiet, tucked back from the street, and just steps away from the common...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santafeinnkeeper, Owner at Pueblo Bonito Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, January 31, 2012
It was a joy to have you stay with us last week. Thank you for the excellent review. We're pleased you liked the rustic charm of the Taos room, complete with a romantic kiva fireplace. We don't only want to make sure you're comfortable at our inn, but also that you're having a great visit overall, so we're glad to know you had fun exploring Santa Fe and that our local tips helped you around the city. We're fortunate to be so close to downtown that, in the afternoon, you can stop back by the inn for a rejuvenating cup of tea and fresh snacks before continuing on with your day! We appreciate your attention to the plentiful breakfast spread, as well. Thank you for recommending our historic, cozy inn and friendly hospitality to fellow travelers. The next time you are in Santa Fe, we would love to welcome you back!
All the best,
Amy Behm, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin Texas
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012

Our two-night stay at the Pueblo Bonito B&B, January 21/22, was certainly worthwhile. Friendliness and personal attention...GREAT!!! Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santafeinnkeeper, Owner at Pueblo Bonito Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, February 9, 2012
Tom,
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to leave such a nice review. Getting to know our guests and showing personal attention to their stay is one of our favorite parts of owning our B&B. We're not here to just make sure you're comfortable, but also to see that you find and take advantage of all the things in Santa Fe that interest you! We're glad to know you had a great time. If you roll through Northern New Mexico again, we'd love to welcome you back to Pueblo Bonito!
Thanks very much,
Amy Behm
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, New Mexico
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

I stayed 3 nights in this wonderful B&B. Cozy, very nice rooms, great service, breakfast buffet unbelievable und afternoon teas so nice. I could go on and on but can only recommend to everybody. Unbelievable at this price to get such a service. Location, location, you are basically able to walk to every place you want to see. Herb and Amy make you feel so welcome and are helpful with everything you need and want to know. Hope I can go back in the near future.

Room Tip: Amy picked the room for me and I couldn't have been happier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santafeinnkeeper, Owner at Pueblo Bonito Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, January 26, 2012
Barbara,
We were happy to host you for your visit up north to Santa Fe, and even happier now to know we helped make your stay comfortable and fun. Thank you for taking the time to leave such a positive review. Your compliments to Herb and me are very kind. We enjoy getting to know each guest— whether upon check-in, during breakfast or over the afternoon tea— and suggesting things around town they personally would find interesting. I'm pleased you liked the room I picked for you! Beyond hospitality, we really appreciate you recommending our prime location and great value. We’re proud to offer cozy accommodations in a historic, authentic adobe estate, just steps from the Santa Fe plaza— all at an affordable price. We’re glad to hear you hope to return soon! We look forward to welcoming you back.
Amy Behm
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NM
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

A charming historic inn that is quiet, private and comfortable. The rooms surround a compound well off the street in old adobe building with foot think adobe walls, kiva fireplaces and rustic furnishings. Our unit had a small kitchen with basic utensils, frig, stove and dishwasher. The queen size bed was very comfortable. The breakfast buffet and afternoon tea are served in a very pleasant common area in the main house. In the afternoon there is a good selection of teas, fruit, cookies, chips and salsa, and punch. The breakfast is a buffet not cooked and includes a selection of coffee cakes and sweet breads, bagels, toast, fresh fruit, cereal including a good granola, hardboiled eggs etc. The hosts are friendly, very helpful with suggestions for sightseeing, restaurants, art etc and very accommodating. And for Santa Fe the rates are good. Recommended.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santafeinnkeeper, Owner at Pueblo Bonito Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, January 23, 2012
Such a thoughtful and comprehensive review! Thank you for your attention to the unique character of our historic estate. We’re fortunate for our convenient location in downtown historic Santa Fe, yet secluded enough off the main roads to retain peace and quiet from the hustle and bustle. We’re glad you liked our suggestions of places to visit and hope you enjoyed making some of your own discoveries, too! The city has no lack of cultural landmarks or delicious restaurants, not to mention the thriving artistic community. We also appreciate your detailed description of the breakfast and the afternoon refreshments. There’s nothing like hot tea, fresh fruit, and authentic chips and salsa to keep you going through the rest of the day. Again, thank you for recommending our inn to other travelers as a well priced, charming, cozy, and accommodating place to stay in Santa Fe. It was our pleasure to host you and we hope to do so again in the future!
Warm regards,
Amy Behm
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pueblo Bonito Bed & Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pueblo Bonito Bed & Breakfast Inn

Address: 138 W. Manhattan Ave., Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Pueblo Bonito Bed & Breakfast Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enchanting, historic Old Santa Fe at it's best! Secluded adobe pueblo-style compound nestled quietly in downtown Santa Fe. Walk to plaza, restaurants, shopping, Canyon Rd, etc! New Mexico travelers favorite for 29+ years. Voted "Guests Favorite 2011, 2012 and 2013!" (8,500+ properties rated US & Canada)! THE Best Value in Downtown Santa Fe. Complimentary parking, Wi-Fi, breakfast buffet, afternoon tea and romantic kiva fireplace in every room! Seven foot breakfast buffet featuring our famous Breakfast Tamales- soon to be your favorite too! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, T4B, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Pueblo Bonito Bed & Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pueblo Bonito Bed And Breakfast Inn
Pueblo Bonito Hotel Santa Fe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pueblo Bonito Bed & Breakfast Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.