We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas in Santa Fe” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Inn at Pueblo Bonito Santa Fe

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Inn at Pueblo Bonito Santa Fe to your Saves list
Inn at Pueblo Bonito Santa Fe
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   138 W. Manhattan Ave., Santa Fe, NM 87501   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free parking
Ranked #19 of 43 Santa Fe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Detroit, Michigan
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Christmas in Santa Fe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

Our room was wonderful. We had a small bedroom, the bed and bedding were fine. The living room had a couch and a great kiva fireplace. There was a small kitchen which was nice, except it was poorly stocked. We were staying there with several other family members. We all gathered in the evenings in the one living room and the kitchen let us prepare appetizers and keep the beverages cold. Herb and Amy were great. If you are there for Christmas, don't miss the Canyon walk for Christmas Eve. Thousands of people with luminaries lining everything. Breakfasts and afternoon teas were adequate, although not anything to spectacular.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santafeinnkeeper, Owner at Inn at Pueblo Bonito Santa Fe, responded to this review, January 12, 2012
Thank you for your nice review.  It was our pleasure to host you and your family over Christmas. We’re glad you loved your room with its authentic decor and kiva fireplace.  The evenings you spent with your family in the living room sound like fun, cozy quality time.  We're happy to know we helped make your stay with us special and your holiday memorable. The Canyon Road Christmas Eve Walk is a beautiful event and a wonderful suggestion to future visitors to Sante Fe. The luminarias (or farolitos) are a magical way to welcome the holiday.  Did you pause by bonfires or enjoy some hot cocoa along the way?  We appreciate all your recommendation and we hope to welcome you back in the future.  Whatever season, we can help you find unique ways to experience Santa Fe's culture. Until then, happy new year to you and your family!
Warm regards,
Amy Behm
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    285
    126
    31
    15
    16
See reviews for
50
298
35
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

My husband and I just returned from another overnight stay at Pueblo Bonito. This time we stayed in room #10, the Isleta room, which has a very comfortable queen bed, kiva fireplace, and all the amenities one could want for a romantic getaway. Since the bathrooms are tiny, we appreciated the extra vanity space in what looks like a former kitchenette area.

If you like a bright, sunny room, this one will fit the bill, as most of the windows face east.

We enjoyed the afternoon tea and continental breakfast buffet. This year I was pleased to see hard-cooked eggs were included in the selection; it's always nice to have some protein in the morning.

We're already talking about a return visit next year!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santafeinnkeeper, Owner at Inn at Pueblo Bonito Santa Fe, responded to this review, January 12, 2012
LeeAnn,
It's a pleasure to have you return for a stay. Thank you for beginning your New Year with us! We’re glad you enjoyed our Isleta room and found it clean and comfortable. We appreciate you mentioning all the amenities of the room, especially the lovely natural sunlight. The vanity area is indeed a plus as our historic property, over 150 years old, is rich in character and well preserves past time periods like the 1930's when major conversion from a private estate to apartments occurred. Originally a circuit judges residence built in 1880 (complete with servants quarters and stables), the main home has foot thick adobe walls. This magnificent adobe structure was transformed into individual living units each with private bath and kitchenette. The "smaller" sized bathrooms you state include: pedestal sink, tub & shower with brightly colored tiles and toilet, etc. More recent conversions replaced antique kitchenette for a vanity area to provide additional space for guests which you state appreciation of- thank you! Each room at our inn does provide special comforts that rise from our unique history and authentic culture of Northern New Mexico. We're so glad you enjoy them! Also, thanks for noticing and liking the hard-boiled eggs in our breakfast spread. We agree about the protein— it's just enough to kick start a day of exploring Santa Fe. Thank you for recommending us to fellow New Mexico travelers and readers. We can’t wait to welcome you both back once again next year!
Warm regards,
Amy Behm, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

First trip for us to the area. We arrived late in the evening, temperature was cold. Even though the Inn was closed our room was warm and cozy with directions to a restaurant that was close by and stayed open late. Breakfast was good, afternoon tea was enjoyable. Our room was prepared for us each day and the kiva fireplace was cleaned and made ready for the evening. Inn keepers were pleasant and made our stay special.---Goodnight's from Texas

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santafeinnkeeper, Owner at Inn at Pueblo Bonito Santa Fe, responded to this review, January 12, 2012
John,
Thank you for the 5 star review. We are honored you chose our inn for your first visit to Northern New Mexico. We're glad you enjoyed your accomodations and after a long days journey found them inviting, warm and comfortable. This is very important to us. Providing a welcoming respite from the cold weather, especially after travel and late arrival is one a primary goal. The kiva fireplace and foot thick adobe walls certainly help! Herb and I were happy to direct you to a restaurant; we wouldn't want you to go to bed hungry. In fact, it's important to us that we help you find things in the area that interest you— outdoor activities, sightseeing, unique shops, delicious restaurants— throughout your stay. After 26 years of running our inn and acquainting guests with Santa Fe, we feel we know the area pretty well! We appreciate you mentioning our breakfasts and afternoon tea, and we're happy to know we could make your time in Santa Fe special. Please come again; we would love to welcome you back.
Warm regards,
Amy Behm
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

My wife and I spent a couple of nights just before Christmas (2011) and wished that we could have spent a week instead. Amy and Herb Behm own and operate this historic B&B not far from the Plaza. Our suite of rooms was comfortable and clean. Breakfasts and the afternoon teas were bountiful. Amy was very helpful to us first-time visitors with tips on restaurants and things to do.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santafeinnkeeper, Owner at Inn at Pueblo Bonito Santa Fe, responded to this review, January 12, 2012
David,
Thank you for your kind review. It was our pleasure to host you and your wife just before the holidays, and we too wish that you could have spent a week. We're glad you found your suite clean and comfortable and that you enjoyed the breakfasts and afternoon refreshments. We’ve run our inn for 26 years now, and we love nothing more than helping guests find exciting activities and interesting places in the area— whether a fun day tour or a restaurant for lunch. I hope you both enjoyed exploring Santa Fe and its unique culture! We hope to welcome you back in the future. Happy New Year!
Warm regards,
Amy Behm
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hunt, TX
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

I spent Christmas 2011 with my family there. Amy and Herb are wonderful inn keepers; very hospitable and gracious. The room was very cozy with the fireplace. It is a wonderful location; very easy walk to the plaza and Canyon Road where all the art galleries are. The grounds are lovely, especially with all the snow that was there! They work hard to make the B&B a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santafeinnkeeper, Owner at Inn at Pueblo Bonito Santa Fe, responded to this review, January 4, 2012
Jane,
Thank you for the great review. It was our pleasure to host you and your family over the Christmas holiday, so I'm pleased you loved your stay with us. Thank you for complimenting your room and the kiva fireplace, as well as the beautiful snow-covered grounds. It's great to know you took advantage of our convenient downtown location— and that you enjoyed exploring the unique culture of Santa Fe! The next time you are in town, we would love to welcome you back. Have a happy new year!
Warm regards,
Amy Behm
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico mountains
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2011

I find it hard to believe that Pueblo Bonito is only ranked number 21 of Santa Fe Bed and Breakfasts. Herb and Amy are the most accomodating hosts, and did everything in their power to make our stay comfortable. We had a charming room with a nice little kitchen (Acoma), cozy living room and separate bedroom. It was very quiet and peaceful. The architecture is authentic old adobe, built around a courtyard (now a parking lot). I resisted writing this review, because I can never get reservations there in the summer. But the place is so charming in the winter, with a beautiful fireplace in the main dining room building, and twinkling Christmas lights all over the buildings. The only thing missing to make it perfection would be a hot breakfast. The breakfasts are fine, with bagels, selection of cream cheeses, cold cereals, boiled eggs, yogourt, fresh fruit etc.
We used the Dine and Dash company in Santa Fe to have delicious dinners delivered to our room, when the weather was to cold and the roads to icy to go out.
The price cannot be beat for Santa Fe in the winter.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santafeinnkeeper, Owner at Inn at Pueblo Bonito Santa Fe, responded to this review, February 9, 2012
Thank you for the wonderful review. It's great to hear you enjoyed a cozy stay with us last month, despite the cold weather. We appreciate all your lovely compliments on our inn during the winter season, including the kiva fireplaces and cheerful, twinkling lights. We think they enhance the northern New Mexico architecture and atmosphere that is native to our historic adobe buildings. I'm glad you found the breakfasts satisfactory and appreciate your feedback regarding a hot breakfast. I'm also glad to know Herb and I helped you enjoy your stay with us and your time in Santa Fe. I really hope we can have you back in the summer! But, of course, we'd love to welcome you anytime. Happy New Year!
Warm regards,
Amy Behm
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2011

Amy and Herb are truly nice hosts and provide a welcoming and well run B&B. It's location is good with an easy walk to the plaza, restaurants, everything in the center of Santa Fe. We enjoyed a fire each night in our room and all we had to do was strike a match! Would suggest requesting a room on the inside courtyard for the most in atmosphere. Overall, the B&B is clean and nicely decorated - that being said it could use a bit of "spring cleaning" and some attention from the handyman. Good value for the price. Ask about their winter discounts.

Room Tip: Upstairs or center courtyard for the tops in atmosphere. Ask if they have a room with a chest of dr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santafeinnkeeper, Owner at Inn at Pueblo Bonito Santa Fe, responded to this review, December 19, 2011
Thank you for staying with us during your visit to Santa Fe and for taking the time to review us. We're happy you enjoyed your stay and appreciate all of your compliments. It's especially great to know you took advantage of the kiva fireplace! In preserving the architecture and integrity of the adobe building, we were adamant about keeping an authentic kiva fireplace in every room. We appreciate your suggestion to request certain rooms. We're happy to accommodate our guests' preferences when we're able, and we can only try to do that if they speak up! We also appreciate you mentioning our winter discounts. Thanks again for your feedback and your recommendation. We hope to welcome you both back the next time you are in town!
Warm regards,
Amy Behm, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Inn at Pueblo Bonito Santa Fe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Pueblo Bonito Santa Fe

Address: 138 W. Manhattan Ave., Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn at Pueblo Bonito Santa Fe 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed and breakfast in downtown Santa Fe, NM. Walk to Santa Fe Plaza! Historic adobe pueblo-style compound with kiva fireplace in each of 18 rooms. Breakfast buffet featuring famous handmade "Pueblo Tamales"- with a wide array of other offerings. Complimentary afternoon tea, Wi-fi and parking for our guests, a rare commodity in Downtown Santa Fe! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, T4B, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Inn at Pueblo Bonito Santa Fe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pueblo Bonito Bed And Breakfast Inn
Pueblo Bonito Hotel Santa Fe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn at Pueblo Bonito Santa Fe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.