We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful property with exceptionally nice rooms. However don't seriously gamble at this casino!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Santa Fe Buffalo Thunder

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Santa Fe Buffalo Thunder to your Saves list
Hilton Santa Fe Buffalo Thunder
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   20 Buffalo Thunder Trail, Santa Fe, NM 87506   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 4 + WiFi
Ranked #24 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Houston
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A beautiful property with exceptionally nice rooms. However don't seriously gamble at this casino!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is a masterpiece of architectural design. Its postcard suitable exterior is matched by its museum quality art collection and stunning Southwestern decor.
The casino is tight. The casino management apparently does not value its players as comps are tight and often have to be demanded to be obtained, based on my experience this trip.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,379 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    590
    436
    210
    90
    53
See reviews for
312
640
54
177
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (360)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
72 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

My husband and I were staying in Santa Fe. By accident we were in town during the Indian Market so we went to the market and finished early so we decided to kill some time at this casino. Well we didn't know that we would have so much fun. The bloody Mary's at the bar were nice. Then we played slots. They were loose enough so you could play all afternoon and not loose a huge amount if money. We liked that for a nice afternoon of entertainment especially after the very expensive prices at the Indian Market in the Santa Fe Plaza. We came out ahead by going to the casino and forgetting about the Indian Market. Lol

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level Contributor
207 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

We selected this hotel because we are Hilton Honors members. From the time we stepped up to the desk until we left two days later, we enjoyed every aspect of this resort. It is so clean, we thought it was new. The rooms are very large and everything is comfortable and clean. The breakfast buffet was delicious. The casino is large, well-lighted and clean..a bit smokey. The location was great for going into Santa Fe and hiking in the national monuments. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

My husband and I drive up from nearby albuquerque to celebrate his birthday (and have kid-free time). We had fun at the casino, and even won some money on slots, which was exhilarating. The pool area was totally under construction, so it wasn't as relaxing as we would have liked -- or as aesthetically pleasing as it should be. We got a great rate and paid for most of our stay with our winnings so can't complain! Hotel is clean with very nice art. We only ate at Red Sage, the steak house, and overall we were actually impressed with the food. Excellent organic kale salad. Go, but if you don't care about gambling, maybe try the incredible and beautiful Hyatt Tamaya instead -- which is a step above.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McKinney, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

We had a super quiet room with great space. We did ask for a fan to get it cool enough for our taste. Front desk provided it to us promptly with no issues. This is a fun place to stay! Lots of resort type things to do such as swimming, spa, casino, golfing, dining and shopping. All right here at the location. Santa Fe is a mere 15 miles away with all of its' offerings, too.

Room Tip: Not sure but our room was nice and quiet. We found the staff to be quite helpful at any request we m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

We spent only one night here while travelling through the area. I would have loved to stay more had time allowed. The price per night was comparable to a Hampton Inn/Hilton Garden Inn types of places but with so much more.

The room was very spacious and clean and had a balcony. For 2 adults and 2 kids, it was a great size.

We enjoyed the pool area - both the indoors one and the outdoors. It wasn't crowded when we were there although I could see that room may be limited when busier. The pools weren't terribly big although they were very nice. There were well kept and very clean.

The casino was terrible. Smoky and dingy. Husband and I took turns trying our luck but we both felt the casino was not a fun place to be. I am not sure if all the casinos in the area are similar. In any event, I would not return to it.

Would highly recommend this hotel if you are in the area.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livermore, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

Although listed as being in Santa Fe, the Buffalo Thunder Resort is in between there and Los Alamos. The rooms are good-sized and nicely decorated, as is the entire facility, including an attractive pool area. There is a good range of eateries. I couldn't care less about gambling, and so I can't comment on the quality of the casino downstairs--I ignored it, unless going to the downstairs restaurant that is attached to the casino area. I only have two complaints. First, because it's a resort, there's no free breakfast like many hotels offer (but there is a Starbuck's for a fairly cheap start to the morning). Second, I never got the Wifi to work. They do give a number to call if you're having trouble, but, since I was only there for one night, I didn't bother. Basically, only minor complaints, and Buffalo Thunder is definitely on my list of possible places to stay when in the area.

Room Tip: Rooms with a balcony are usually a premium (I lucked into an upgrade, because they were busy), but I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Homewood Suites Santa Fe
#8 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Eldorado Hotel & Spa
Eldorado Hotel & Spa
#26 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 stars 895 reviews
Hyatt Place Santa Fe
#17 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Santa Fe Buffalo Thunder? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Santa Fe Buffalo Thunder

Address: 20 Buffalo Thunder Trail, Santa Fe, NM 87506
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#12 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#21 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#22 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Santa Fe Buffalo Thunder 4*
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Hilton Santa Fe Buffalo Thunder reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Santa Fe Golf Resort & Spa At Buffalo Thunder Hotel Santa Fe
Hilton Santa Fe Golf Resort And Spa At Buffalo Thunder
Hilton Santa Fe Hotel
Santa Fe Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Santa Fe Buffalo Thunder, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.