We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Santa Fe Buffalo Thunder

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Santa Fe Buffalo Thunder to your Saves list
Hilton Santa Fe Buffalo Thunder
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   20 Buffalo Thunder Trail, Santa Fe, NM 87506   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 4 + WiFi
Ranked #26 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Fun visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

My husband and I drive up from nearby albuquerque to celebrate his birthday (and have kid-free time). We had fun at the casino, and even won some money on slots, which was exhilarating. The pool area was totally under construction, so it wasn't as relaxing as we would have liked -- or as aesthetically pleasing as it should be. We got a great rate and paid for most of our stay with our winnings so can't complain! Hotel is clean with very nice art. We only ate at Red Sage, the steak house, and overall we were actually impressed with the food. Excellent organic kale salad. Go, but if you don't care about gambling, maybe try the incredible and beautiful Hyatt Tamaya instead -- which is a step above.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    533
    400
    194
    86
    46
See reviews for
279
581
52
168
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (328)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
McKinney, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

We had a super quiet room with great space. We did ask for a fan to get it cool enough for our taste. Front desk provided it to us promptly with no issues. This is a fun place to stay! Lots of resort type things to do such as swimming, spa, casino, golfing, dining and shopping. All right here at the location. Santa Fe is a mere 15 miles away with all of its' offerings, too.

Room Tip: Not sure but our room was nice and quiet. We found the staff to be quite helpful at any request we m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

We spent only one night here while travelling through the area. I would have loved to stay more had time allowed. The price per night was comparable to a Hampton Inn/Hilton Garden Inn types of places but with so much more.

The room was very spacious and clean and had a balcony. For 2 adults and 2 kids, it was a great size.

We enjoyed the pool area - both the indoors one and the outdoors. It wasn't crowded when we were there although I could see that room may be limited when busier. The pools weren't terribly big although they were very nice. There were well kept and very clean.

The casino was terrible. Smoky and dingy. Husband and I took turns trying our luck but we both felt the casino was not a fun place to be. I am not sure if all the casinos in the area are similar. In any event, I would not return to it.

Would highly recommend this hotel if you are in the area.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livermore, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

Although listed as being in Santa Fe, the Buffalo Thunder Resort is in between there and Los Alamos. The rooms are good-sized and nicely decorated, as is the entire facility, including an attractive pool area. There is a good range of eateries. I couldn't care less about gambling, and so I can't comment on the quality of the casino downstairs--I ignored it, unless going to the downstairs restaurant that is attached to the casino area. I only have two complaints. First, because it's a resort, there's no free breakfast like many hotels offer (but there is a Starbuck's for a fairly cheap start to the morning). Second, I never got the Wifi to work. They do give a number to call if you're having trouble, but, since I was only there for one night, I didn't bother. Basically, only minor complaints, and Buffalo Thunder is definitely on my list of possible places to stay when in the area.

Room Tip: Rooms with a balcony are usually a premium (I lucked into an upgrade, because they were busy), but I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

We stayed at this hotel in August and no doubt, this was a maintenance period for this hotel. There was a lot of construction going on during the day and the indoor pool was closed. All of which is fine, it has to happen some time but i would have liked to receive notice, even an email, that the pool would be closed. The outdoor pool was too cold for use. However, beside this, this hotel is absolutely beautiful. It is a great summer great summer get away and we will definitely go back. The casino was fun. We found it smokey but the smaller gallery was smoke free at the time. The buffet at the casino was amazing and the hotel gave us buy 1 get 1 at the buffet for joining the members list- over $50 value for our group. This was a good family stay.

Room Tip: rooms are average size for the price. i would check on the status of construction before choosing a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surprise, Arizona
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014 via mobile

A real dichotomy at work here. Online specials got us a very nice room for $77 per night for 5 nights. It's about 15 miles from the Plaza. The TV system is terrible. Even after a few calls it remained bad. I have never seen ghosting on a digital feed until this hotel. Colors were way too intense with no way to adjust. This is probably not an issue if you are just staying a couple days or spending a lot of time in the casino. But I suggest you avoid the casino unless you smoke. Typical Indian casino, a smoke filled basement. There is a no-smoking room, small in comparison to the main room, but no card tables, just slot machines. But since I like blackjack, I decided to put up with the stink and play. To my surprise I found a $1 minimum table, so I sat down and put down a $20 to test the waters. The dealer took my money and just stood there looking at me. It was then I noticed the small screen on the table in front of me. Virtual chips! One of the things I like is handling the cards and chips, it's part of the allure for me. Not here, 2 cards up for players and virtual chips. Then, to top it off, they charge players .25 cents for each hand. Win or lose, your "stack" is debited each hand. That's just crazy. One of the players decided to cash out and the dealer had to call the pit boss over to help him do the math. Very unprofessional, even for an Indian casino.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lenorah, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

Everyone we saw or talked to was so nice! All the employees were smiling and friendly. The hotel room was very nice and very clean. We spent the afternoon gambling - loved the casino! It was close to the rooms and the restaurant was excellent. The BBQ ribs were sooooo good!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hilton Santa Fe Buffalo Thunder? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Santa Fe Buffalo Thunder

Address: 20 Buffalo Thunder Trail, Santa Fe, NM 87506
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#12 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#21 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#24 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Santa Fe Buffalo Thunder 4*
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hilton Santa Fe Buffalo Thunder reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Santa Fe Golf Resort And Spa At Buffalo Thunder
Hilton Santa Fe Golf Resort & Spa At Buffalo Thunder Hotel Santa Fe
Hilton Santa Fe Hotel
Santa Fe Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Santa Fe Buffalo Thunder, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.