We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic views, rooms and location around 12 miles outside Santa Fe” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Santa Fe Buffalo Thunder

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Santa Fe Buffalo Thunder to your Saves list
Hilton Santa Fe Buffalo Thunder
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   20 Buffalo Thunder Trail, Santa Fe, NM 87506   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Manchester England
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Fantastic views, rooms and location around 12 miles outside Santa Fe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

Great rooms -we had a suite which was large with a very good lounge area. The breakfast was failry standard for a Hilton-not great but passable. The pool area was not crowded when we were there in early August but needs more shade for us.
We had dinner in the loung bar one night which was OK except for a moody server and as she announced the bar was closing early through lack of custom the next night we tried the Sage bar which had a much better vibe and the food was very good and reasonably priced
There is a starbucks on site and an upmarket wine shop which we liked.The restaurants were either expensive for our pockets or the buffet which had a long long line outside and we didnt like the look of thyis typical American eat all you can eat scrum.There was a bar with food in the casino but we didnt feel happy there and anyway the smoke was horrible
The location is great for seeing all that Santa Fe and the larger area has to offer
Downsides are the on site casino which attrcats a totally differnt crowd to the hotel guests-its very smoky and I didnt appreciate seeing people sleeping in the hotel areas when we were up ealry -I was asked for money on one occasion!
The complimentary for Hhonors members valet parking is a nice touch and the valets were great always smiling and ready to get vehicles
Yes we would return for the rooms and the location but hope that they get the WIFI sorted as it was very hit and miss and very frustrating to use

Room Tip: Its a very big property with many different views and wings etc
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    470
    357
    181
    75
    43
See reviews for
243
525
45
146
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (297)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rio Rancho, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Our first time there meeting relatives from out of town to eat at the Super Sunday Buffet, The Painted Parrot, We did not stay at the hotel. Lovely view of the hotel as we approached the property and knew we'd made the right decision. Awesome Native American artwork, beautiful carpeting we said how could we go wrong. What a letdown! Where was the beef?! Only carved turkey and some baked chicken (looked awful) were offered. Standard Mexican, Chinese and Italian dishes of which none stood out. Nothing at all outstanding which we were expecting at a Hilton Resort. The desserts were blah. Few offerings. No imagination and poor presentation. At least a third of the counter space was empty. The only high point was the valet service. Exceptionally polite and efficient. Kudos to them!
The quality just wasn't there and we will not be back.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hal L, General Manager at Hilton Santa Fe Buffalo Thunder, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear Nancy,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent dining experience at the Painted Parrot buffet. I'm truly sorry that you didn't enjoy anything on our extensive buffet this Sunday and wish that one of our managers was aware of the shortcomings that you mentioned. I can assure you that we are always looking for ways to improve on the Italian, Southwestern, American and Asian action stations that we offer, including our full salad bar and desert station. I will share your comments with our culinary team, as we always strive to provide value for every customer paying $15.99 for our all-inclusive buffet.
I was pleased to hear that our Valet department made such a positive impression on you and I will pass this along to our team at the Front Door.
Thanks again for sharing your comments.
Sincerely

Hal Leonard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Station, Texas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Nice location. Nice facilities. BUT, customers are just flat out trashy. Indoor swimming pool is small (20x40) and has three building columns in the middle of the small pool. Pool was filled with people in t shirts and street shorts. Our "neighbors" were "up" for two separate one hour periods either reenacting the closing scene of brave heart or running a small adult film operation. The staff was middle of the road. Couldn't operate the computer system. Booked me in the same room as a friend of ours. Went back to the counter to correct and learned I wasn't really ever checked in. When one of our traveling partners checked out the computer was down again. Bar staff was in slow motion. Took forever to get drinks and the bar wasn't even busy. Margarita mix was bad. They mixed else wet and sour powder in front if us...sort if takes away from the experience. There were several on site security guard types...again, not a good vibe. It's a shame since this is a nice facility and in a good location.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hal L, General Manager at Hilton Santa Fe Buffalo Thunder, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear Wisconsintotexas,
Thanks for taking the time to share comments on your recent stay at Hilton Santa Fe Buffalo Thunder. I was happy to hear that you felt our resort had a nice location and facilities, however concerned that you felt our customers did not meet your expectations. I have passed along your concerns about the Front Desk staff's inability to operate our computer system to our leadership team responsible for their training. And yes, we do have a Security Department that makes regular rounds throughout the property, which many of our guests appreciate seeing.
Thank you again for your candid review.
All the Best

Hal Leonard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, AZ
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Our King with Balcony and Fireplace room was lovely. We enjoyed the morning sun on the balcony and appreciated the fine furniture, furnishings and artwork in our room as well as the wonderful collection of Native American artwork throughout the hotel. The bed and bedding were very comfortable and the bathroom accessories & shower were great. It would have been nice, however, to have a second mirror over the desk in the main room for female hair & make-up prep while my husband was shaving & showering.

The young man that welcomed us at the Front Desk when we checked in was especially nice, as were most of the Front Desk staff. The wait staff in the Red Sage, Painted Parrot Buffet, Mica and theTurquoise Trail restaurants all provided excellent service and the man at the Pool Cafe was also pleasant. It was delightful dining outside by the pool which was serviced by Red Sage. Jennifer in the Turquoise Trail went out of her way to explain the menu, which she said was new, and she also enthusiastically explained the benefits of the Lightning Rewards Club

We enjoyed our round of golf at Towa Golf Club which, luckily, we completed just before that heavy storm on Monday afternoon. The golf course was beautiful & challenging but we missed having restroom, drinking water & a refreshment cart on the golf course. We also took advantage of the free shuttle bus into Santa Fe so we could spend a day there and have a lovely dinner. On our last day, we relaxed around the pool for several hours which was pleasant even though the young kids took over the pool.

All and all, we had a pleasant get-a-way. There are, however, some suggestions that we may offer to new visitors.

This hotel has two adjacent buildings and if you have a room in the secondary builiding where the spa is located, please be prepared to walk a little further to the main building where the restaurants and casino are located. As we mentioned earlier, we had a lovely room with a partial view of the golf course and were happy to walk the extra steps.

If you are staying for more than one day, please be aware that Housekeeping may not service your room until early afternoon so if you wish to have them clean your room earlier, please let them know.

One other thing ... although we managed to try all of the dining options available ... we found the options very limited. On Monday & Tuesday, the only option for dinner was Red Sage & the Red Sage Bar. Our preference would have been Mica, rather than the casino options. More outdoor dining would be great. No place to get a late night cup of java or ice cream. We also missed having free wifi in the room.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Beautiful architecture and an amazing collection of local art Buffalo Thunder is well worth the money. The pool is huge and the hot tub is just right. They also have a nice little fitness center. Food wise the Turquoise Trail has the best chicken enchilada I have encountered at a reasonable price. The rooms are super clean and very sound proof. You can't hear noise above or below you. You can hear stuff out in the hall, but that's it. A few warnings however. The wifi is not free in your room. It cost an additional 9.95 per night per device. Also, if you want to go hit a few balls at their driving range, there is a dress code.

Room Tip: avoid the second floor near the pool area. Shoot for the 3rd floor or above
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corrales, New Mexico
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

Beautifully decorated hotel, reflecting the Native American cultures of New Mexico. Pleasant, welcoming staff; very comfortable room. Outstanding experience in every aspect. Would definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, United States
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

My only complaint is that Hilton charges for wifi. Overall we had a vey pleasant stay there. The Casino ventilation was inadequate and had an unpleasant smell. The balcony and fireplace were very nice additions to our room.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Santa Fe Buffalo Thunder? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Santa Fe Buffalo Thunder

Address: 20 Buffalo Thunder Trail, Santa Fe, NM 87506
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#8 Spa Hotel in Santa Fe
#18 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#21 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#25 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Santa Fe Buffalo Thunder 4*
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Santa Fe Buffalo Thunder reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Santa Fe Golf Resort & Spa At Buffalo Thunder Hotel Santa Fe
Hilton Santa Fe Golf Resort And Spa At Buffalo Thunder
Hilton Santa Fe Hotel
Santa Fe Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Santa Fe Buffalo Thunder, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.