We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Santa Fe Buffalo Thunder

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Santa Fe Buffalo Thunder to your Saves list
Hilton Santa Fe Buffalo Thunder
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   20 Buffalo Thunder Trail, Santa Fe, NM 87506   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Nice but....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

This beautiful hotel provides a high end feel. But the smaller amenities will cost you ie., a bottle of water and wifi. The snack tray provided in the room is tempting but a bag of M&M's will cost you $3.00! At least the coffee was free!

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    470
    357
    181
    75
    43
See reviews for
243
525
45
146
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (297)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We've been here several times and find it relaxing as you don't need to leave the premises. Room wifi is very slow. There's everything here but an accessible lift for either of the two pools. We asked when we checked in to make sure the indoor pool lift would be operable in the morning. It wasn't! Lots of excuses. "The kids break them." Really! The lifts are there for handicapped accessibility. Often swimming is an important exercise. Come on Hilton.

Room Tip: The hotel is large and rooms are often a good distance from the elevator. A manual wheelchair is dif...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

I try to stay here whenever I'm in Santa Fe, N M. It's a great resort. They used to offer great rates but now, they check your players card. Hey I'm in Chicago so I'm not there to play .
So they are not offering great rates unless you're a gambler. Which I think isn't a smart idea
They really should go back to offering great rates just to bring people there. They will always make money from the restraunts and bars and the gambling there
Why not offer us return customers good rates ??
I may never stay there again sadly, even though I like this resort , and I will be out in that area in 3 weeks
Sincerely
A former customer
Mrgoldfinger2100@aol.com

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arvada, United States
1 review
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

This place is awesome, it is a very calming place, beautiful inside and the rooms are well taken care of. A little pricey, but truly worth it. Sometimes get good deals off season. The location is perfect since its about 20 minutes from Santa Fe, but yet quite peaceful at night. Loved it!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leawood, Kansas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

The facilities are nice. So why would I think twice about staying here again? How about Third World looking security guards on the rooftop of the five story building, looking down onto the property over the roof edge? I have never seen such a thing at a quality hotel. And then security guards constantly flowing through the pool area...sometimes two and three at a time, snickering and sneering, into the pool gate, through the pool area, and out of the pool gate...they peer at the people, and quite frankly they are all sleazy looking and I wouldn't want to run into them in an alley. If you are Mexican or Native American, you are free to bring a giant cooler full of beer, but if you are white, you will pay $7 for a can of Bud at the pool bar and your cooler is banned. Clearly they turn a blind eye for some. No one drinks at the bar because the prices are ridiculous. $10 for a vodka tonic. Virtually everyone brought their own booze to the pool. I finally asked a security guard whether they had some sort of security concern, because of their overt presence...I am talking about standing on the edge of an empty hot tub, and peering down into it for no apparent reason. He said they cruise the pool every thirty minutes, just to make sure, for example, that no "non hotel guests" were there but since they had casino security, they were allowed to come up to the pool too... It sure looked like there were LOTS OF NON HOTEL GUESTS at the pool to me, and nothing was said to anyone, but then again, none of them were white. Second strange thing: Internet. Just plan on paying $9.95 per day, or you will receive zero internet...your data plan will not come in at this hotel. No Sprint, no AT and T - anywhere near this property. The "free wifi in the lobby" truly means, "on the carpeted area". Step off the carpet, there goes your internet. Why? because thousands of casino goers would be sitting around on the free wifi. (remember the non hotel guests?) Here's a good one: a hotel with 500 rooms at 100% occupancy, but their policy is that no one is allowed to use a luggage cart themself because "it's a full service hotel". NO, it's a management problem. Give us a cart if we want one. And some coffee too. Because the property is the size of 3 football fields, getting some real coffee is a real challenge. The only place to do so is at Starbucks...which for some reason, the architect placed at the extreme farthest end of the property from the hotel....After all, they close early so it's not for the casino goers going home...clearly it's the hotel guests that need it, yet it's 1.2 miles from your room. Be sure to be at the pool on a Tuesday around 1:30 pm. That's when they "test the generators". What??? Yep...black smoke billows follow a loud jet engine roar....and once the smoke clears, and it's running, it does so for around 20-30 minutes. I am talking "deafening sound" mid day, at the pool. Clearly management could reschedule that time to be less intrusive to pool guests? Hilton Buffalo Thunder is first an entertainment district for the surrounding indian reservation, second a small city, third a casino, and fourth, a place to sleep. We had a fabulous housekeeper who kept our room spotless. But we have a property that cannot manage what is under it's roof, and the hotel is an afterthought. See what I mean by strange? PS Management: You need not reply that your security is for the safety of the guests. We've all stayed in hotels before, and your security department needs an overhaul.

Room Tip: The architect should be fired, never to design a building again. The hotel rooms which overlook the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hal L, General Manager at Hilton Santa Fe Buffalo Thunder, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Dear Carrie,
Thanks for taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent stay at Hilton Santa Fe Buffalo Thunder. I was disappointed to read about your pool experience and agree that our Security team does make regular rounds around the property, with our pool being part of their patrol. As far as them being on the roof, I can assure you that they are not using this area and that an engineer or security officer would only be up there for a repair or routine maintenance. I can also assure you that we do not allow beverages or coolers of any kind to be brought into the pool area, which are serviced by pool attendants throughout the day.
I am truly sorry that we failed you in this instance and will be available to you, should you want to contact me personally regarding any part of your stay. I have left my email address and direct phone number below for your convenience.
Thank you again for taking the time to comment.
Sincerely

Hal Leonard
General Manager
(505) 819-2000
hal.leonard@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

The grounds here are beautiful, but if you're going to pay resort prices, I expect equal service and ambiance. My biggest pet peeve is that we had to pay extra for the internet and it appeared they opened their pool up to all the locals Saturday afternoon! Having drunk people yell and do cannon balls into 4 ft of water isn't really my idea of the resort experience. Check-out is 11am...if you ask for late check-out, it's noon…which is what other places normally have. The food is very expensive for the quality as well. We drove into Santa Fe for our next evenings' dinner to get good food. I'll be paying the extra $75 for Tamaya next time.

Room Tip: It seemed many of the rooms were very far from the elevator. If you have physical limitations, defi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hal L, General Manager at Hilton Santa Fe Buffalo Thunder, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Dear AHirshy8,
I greatly appreciate you taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Hilton Santa Fe Buffalo Thunder. I was disappointed to read that we failed to provide you with a high level of service and that the internet pricing, pool area and food prices had such a significant impact on your visit. I would enjoy discussing these issues with you personally and have left my direct phone number and email address below for your convenience.
Thank you again for taking the time to comment and I look forward to hearing from you soon.
Sincerely,

Hal Leonard
General Manager
(505) 819-2000
hal.leonard@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DENTON TX, United States
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

The amenities were great, the spa, pool and golf course were a great value for what you received. The spa had a dry sauna, steam room and hot tub with all the amenities (shower, locker room, etc.) A great place to relax and de-distress. I would come back for the spa alone. I used it twice a-day for my stay. The spa staff where friendly and helpful; outstanding service. The breakfast buffet was a good value. I would encourage you to enjoy some of the local restaurants and enjoy the New Mexico cuisine.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Santa Fe Buffalo Thunder? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Santa Fe Buffalo Thunder

Address: 20 Buffalo Thunder Trail, Santa Fe, NM 87506
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#8 Spa Hotel in Santa Fe
#18 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#21 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#25 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Santa Fe Buffalo Thunder 4*
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Santa Fe Buffalo Thunder reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Santa Fe Golf Resort & Spa At Buffalo Thunder Hotel Santa Fe
Hilton Santa Fe Golf Resort And Spa At Buffalo Thunder
Hilton Santa Fe Hotel
Santa Fe Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Santa Fe Buffalo Thunder, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.