We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Resort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Santa Fe Buffalo Thunder

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Santa Fe Buffalo Thunder to your Saves list
Hilton Santa Fe Buffalo Thunder
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   20 Buffalo Thunder Trail, Santa Fe, NM 87506   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful Resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Everything about this resort is inviting! The art and furnishings throughout are beautiful. We enjoyed the view from our room and had a great time in the casino.

Some previous reviews mentioned the layout of the hotel. Be ready to do a lot of walking! The room we stayed at was at the other end of the resort from everything else. And the hallways are not air conditioned. However, we were fine with this. The only problem we experienced was the sound of the people above us. You could hear every step they were taking and at times it sounded as if they were running and stomping. Other than that - awesome place!

Room Tip: If you don't like ceiling noise then request a room on the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirsten B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,536 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Texas
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 260 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

We got a good discount on our room here through the casino player's club. The hotel is one of the most beautiful examples of Pueblo architecture in the Santa Fe area. And the pool is fantastic with the islands in it.
It was cool to just go down to the casino at the hotel, and stay there until the wee hours and then go right on up to our room to crash.
One word of caution is that some of the internet hotel booking places where you don't know what hotel you're getting until after you pay show this hotel as being at the Santa Fe plaza area. But a hint is when the hotel description shows a pair of dice that stands for casino, it might be at Buffalo Thunder.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Tex s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roswell, New Mexico, United States
Level Contributor
92 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

My wife and I stayed here for a couple nights during a conference. They upgraded us to a very nice room for free and it was very comfortable. The hotel is very clean and the pool area is beautiful. If there is one complaint, it is that the hotel is not very easy to navigate, it is very big and you can get lost a little. We only went to the pool once, it was very crowded and it could have been nicer with less people, but it is a large resort, so it does make sense that it would be crowded. Overall, a very good hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zionsville, IN
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Our family of 5 just returned from 5 day stay at Buffalo Thunder. We loved it. The hotel is very new and clean. We booked a one bedroom suite which was perfect for our family of 5. One full bath with 2 showers and a half bath. Beautiful balconies with views of the mountain. My husband loved the golf course. He played two times. I tried the spa and had a great massage. Pool is super kid friendly-just wish the outdoor pool water was warmer. Kids preferred the indoor pool because it was warmer. Pool bar staff is great. Guy the bartender is great and took super good care of us. Pool bar food was good-pizzas are large and fairly priced. Mica has a great breakfast. We were thrilled with our decision to stay outside of Santa Fe rather than in town. This resort appealed to the whole family.

Room Tip: One bedroom suite is great for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Keller46077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Our family of five spent a weekend here and loved the room, the tennis courts, and the pools. The décor is also lovely; lots of cool artwork and sculpture. Food was on the expensive side, but I expect that at a resort, and the breakfast buffet at Mica was very good. We did not go to the casino.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mg10116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornton, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

We stayed 2 nights at the Buffalo Thunder as was not impressed. Waited 20 minutes one morning for the pool to open once they got around to un-locking the gate we found that the pool area was an absolute mess. Trash and food was left from the day/night before, no towels and the restrooms were gross, no toilet paper and trash all over the floor. The casino is small and disgusting. You can smoke but not drink???????? Really since when is breathing second hand smoke healthy. You cannot eat breakfast in the café if you do not have some type of rewards card(seriously)!! The mini frig in our room did not work, no snacks on the tray and you have to pay for wifi........I would never stay here again!!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michelle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hal L, General Manager at Hilton Santa Fe Buffalo Thunder, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Dear Michelle,
Thank you for taking the time to share comments on your recent stay at Hilton Santa Fe Buffalo Thunder. I was disappointed to read that we provided such poor service at our outdoor pool and there is no excuse for the condition you found the pool in that morning. We have pool attendants with the responsibility of cleaning and organizing this area every morning prior to our 8am opening. I have shared your experience with our Executive Housekeeper for follow-up. Regarding the casino, state law does not allow the consumption of alcoholic beverages on the casino floor. The three restaurants that we have open for breakfast on the property do not require any type of Rewards Card, so I am confused on your comment regarding this restriction.
I am truly sorry that we provided such poor service to you during this visit, which I can assure you, is not the case in most instances. I would enjoy speaking with you regarding your stay and have added my office phone number and email address for your convenience.
Thank you again for taking the time to write.
All the Best

Hal Leonard
General Manager
(505) 819-2000
hal.leonard@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Level Contributor
166 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

The hotel is a good average hilton with spacious rooms and cleanliness. The TV is disappointing with limited channels (some with no signal) and specifically designed to sell pay per view when you turn it on. Don't think the balconies are private if you get one. Wifi is expensive if you don't qualify for free service. The place seems to be children oriented - they are everywhere. Pool is OK if you like kids - more chance of peace in the indoor pool. Best part of the hotel is the Red Sage restaurant. The food, service and wine were outstanding and I don't say that lightly.
Now for the bad stuff. The casino is ruled by a big brother who bans alcoholic beverages and encourages smoking (there is a small non smoking room without table games.) I am personally offended that someone should think I'm incapable of deciding when and where to drink a beer. I am also personally offended ( although still alive) by second hand smoke. The alleged "comps" are difficult to understand, poorly advertised and not suited to tourists. For these reasons, I would not go again. I would try the Red Sage if I'm nearby.

Room Tip: Choose a room in the tower near the front desk - otherwise it is a long walk to the elevators for th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clogtowner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hal L, General Manager at Hilton Santa Fe Buffalo Thunder, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Dear Clogtowner,
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your June stay at Hilton Santa Fe Buffalo Thunder. I was pleased to read that you found our rooms spacious and clean and that our Red Sage Restaurant was "outstanding" in terms of food, service and wine. I was however disappointed to hear that our TV selections were less than desirable. We currently offer 49 channels with 17 of them HD, so if there are other channels that you would like to see, please let me know. Regarding your comment on the casino not allowing alcoholic beverage consumption, unfortunately this is a state law and not dictated by the casino operation. I have passed along all of your comments regarding the casino (which is not managed by Hilton), to the casino management team for their follow-up.
Thank you again for your comments and if I may be of further assistance to you, please feel free to contact me via email or telephone which I have listed below.
Sincerely,

Hal Leonard
General Manager
(505) 819-2000
hal.leonard@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
La Fonda on the Plaza
#4 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,615 reviews
Inn of the Five Graces
#1 of 60 in Santa Fe
5.0 of 5 stars 474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza
Homewood Suites Santa Fe
#7 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 660 reviews
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#2 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Santa Fe Buffalo Thunder? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Santa Fe Buffalo Thunder

Address: 20 Buffalo Thunder Trail, Santa Fe, NM 87506
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#11 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#20 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#24 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Santa Fe Buffalo Thunder 4*
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Reservation Counter, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hilton Santa Fe Buffalo Thunder reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Santa Fe Golf Resort & Spa At Buffalo Thunder Hotel Santa Fe
Hilton Santa Fe Golf Resort And Spa At Buffalo Thunder
Hilton Santa Fe Hotel
Santa Fe Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing