We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Resort and the Casino was not a problem for family getaway.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Santa Fe Buffalo Thunder

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Santa Fe Buffalo Thunder to your Saves list
Hilton Santa Fe Buffalo Thunder
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   20 Buffalo Thunder Trail, Santa Fe, NM 87506   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 4 + WiFi
Ranked #24 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Monument, Colorado
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Resort and the Casino was not a problem for family getaway.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

We booked here to spend a few days of the kids spring break around the Santa Fe area. The hotel is about a 10 minute drive from the historic Plaza district of Santa Fe. I was a little bit concerned with the hotel and casino aspect of the resort, but it was not an issues for our stay. The casino is in the basement level and the restaurants, shops and pools are all on the main level of the hotel. We stayed in a 2 QUEEN BEDS SUPERIOR STE W/FIREPLACE-BALCONY and it was more than enough room for our family of 4. Fireplaces were in both rooms and the suite was decorated in southwest décor. Both rooms had a balcony which looked over the parking lot and the golf course. I didn't expect the course to be open, so I didn't bring my clubs... it looked nice for late winter and the green fees were very reasonable. We had a great time and will likely stay here again on any return trips to Santa Fe.

Room Tip: Would recommend Superior suites of Jr. Suites. Ask for rooms that are not above AC units.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    557
    412
    198
    87
    46
See reviews for
286
604
52
174
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (342)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014 via mobile

We are staying here for a conference. On the outside, it is a very unique looking, adobe mansion style hotel. True essence of Santa Fe captured here! Inside, there is lots of beautiful Native art. Paintings, sculptures, pottery, etc. This place is huge! Like a city inside. We had to walk down the longest corridor of any hotel I've ever seen to get to the elevators. The room is huge! The bathroom too. There is a bathtub with a shower, and another walk-in shower. The furniture in the room is gorgeous, SW design. Very comfy bed and bedding (my big thing-always most concerned about that because my back will ache if the bed isn't good!) our view wasn't great, and our room didn't have a balcony. I hope to get one next time, facing the mountains. Our friend that is also staying here had a blast golfing here. One thing I didn't like too much, there are several restaurants here. We were told only one was serving lunch at about noon. We went there, and they were using an express menu, only 4 selections on it. Same as late night room service. That was pretty lame I thought. Otherwise, cool place!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaverton, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

We had a great time at this Hotel. The beds were very comfortable with quality pillows and bedding. Very clean and luscious decor. The lobby contained some beautiful art. A good variety of in-house restaurants, gift shops and a fun casino. Located perfectly in convenient proximity to various tourists sites.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

The showers in this facility are very high on the wall, have a very wide spray, and are not adjustable. If you are not at least 5'10" you would probably do better to take a bath! This is a very pretty facility, though, and the customer service and the food were both excellent. Access from Santa Fe is quick and convenient.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxnard, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

Hotel is 12 miles north of Santa Fe, very quiet and peaceful location. Hotel is very beautiful and nicely done rooms. Our second stay. Not golfers but they do have a golf course. Buffet breakfast was very go with excellent selections. Overall a very nice stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

Stayed at Buffalo thunder as a home base for skiing at Taos and Ski Santa Fe. All of us guys enjoyed the entire time at BT. The rooms are comfortable and we'll decorated. We ate at the buffet which was good but not great. Gabriel's up the road towards Santa Fe is an excellent stop for Mexican/New Mexican food. Overall we loved our stay at BT.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

We have stayed at Buffalo Thunder several times. THe first two times we had problems - paid full price and got a horrible room...view of the air conditioning systems I believe and it was far away from the casino. The front desk people were apparantly ready to go home and could care less about us.
BUT the past couple of times we had a really good time. Staff friendly and we were able to get the towers above the casino. Had dinner at the Turqouis trail...drinks and nachos great value for the money and all was really good. The rooms are really nice - we had a strange stain on the comforter...but didn't see it until we were checking out. Otherwise I would have requested it to be replaced...BUT I have no doubt that they would corrected this with no problem. THE ONLY thing I have a problem with....not too many choices for breakfast. Wish they had a coffee bar w/pastries like Sandia in Albuqurqe.

Room Tip: There are two towers one above the casino...just an elevator ride away...they other is way on the ot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hilton Santa Fe Buffalo Thunder? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Santa Fe Buffalo Thunder

Address: 20 Buffalo Thunder Trail, Santa Fe, NM 87506
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#12 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#19 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#20 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Santa Fe Buffalo Thunder 4*
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Hilton Santa Fe Buffalo Thunder reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Santa Fe Golf Resort & Spa At Buffalo Thunder Hotel Santa Fe
Hilton Santa Fe Golf Resort And Spa At Buffalo Thunder
Hilton Santa Fe Hotel
Santa Fe Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Santa Fe Buffalo Thunder, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.