We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel! Very spacious” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Santa Fe Buffalo Thunder

Save Saved
You added Hilton Santa Fe Buffalo Thunder to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Santa Fe Buffalo Thunder
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   20 Buffalo Thunder Trail, Santa Fe, NM 87506   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$50 Resort Credit
Ranked #27 of 60 hotels in Santa Fe
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel! Very spacious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

We are staying here for a conference. On the outside, it is a very unique looking, adobe mansion style hotel. True essence of Santa Fe captured here! Inside, there is lots of beautiful Native art. Paintings, sculptures, pottery, etc. This place is huge! Like a city inside. We had to walk down the longest corridor of any hotel I've ever seen to get to the elevators. The room is huge! The bathroom too. There is a bathtub with a shower, and another walk-in shower. The furniture in the room is gorgeous, SW design. Very comfy bed and bedding (my big thing-always most concerned about that because my back will ache if the bed isn't good!) our view wasn't great, and our room didn't have a balcony. I hope to get one next time, facing the mountains. Our friend that is also staying here had a blast golfing here. One thing I didn't like too much, there are several restaurants here. We were told only one was serving lunch at about noon. We went there, and they were using an express menu, only 4 selections on it. Same as late night room service. That was pretty lame I thought. Otherwise, cool place!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

995 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    412
    320
    158
    64
    41
See reviews for
221
464
39
125
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beaverton, United States
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

We had a great time at this Hotel. The beds were very comfortable with quality pillows and bedding. Very clean and luscious decor. The lobby contained some beautiful art. A good variety of in-house restaurants, gift shops and a fun casino. Located perfectly in convenient proximity to various tourists sites.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, United States
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

The showers in this facility are very high on the wall, have a very wide spray, and are not adjustable. If you are not at least 5'10" you would probably do better to take a bath! This is a very pretty facility, though, and the customer service and the food were both excellent. Access from Santa Fe is quick and convenient.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxnard, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

Hotel is 12 miles north of Santa Fe, very quiet and peaceful location. Hotel is very beautiful and nicely done rooms. Our second stay. Not golfers but they do have a golf course. Buffet breakfast was very go with excellent selections. Overall a very nice stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

Stayed at Buffalo thunder as a home base for skiing at Taos and Ski Santa Fe. All of us guys enjoyed the entire time at BT. The rooms are comfortable and we'll decorated. We ate at the buffet which was good but not great. Gabriel's up the road towards Santa Fe is an excellent stop for Mexican/New Mexican food. Overall we loved our stay at BT.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

We have stayed at Buffalo Thunder several times. THe first two times we had problems - paid full price and got a horrible room...view of the air conditioning systems I believe and it was far away from the casino. The front desk people were apparantly ready to go home and could care less about us.
BUT the past couple of times we had a really good time. Staff friendly and we were able to get the towers above the casino. Had dinner at the Turqouis trail...drinks and nachos great value for the money and all was really good. The rooms are really nice - we had a strange stain on the comforter...but didn't see it until we were checking out. Otherwise I would have requested it to be replaced...BUT I have no doubt that they would corrected this with no problem. THE ONLY thing I have a problem with....not too many choices for breakfast. Wish they had a coffee bar w/pastries like Sandia in Albuqurqe.

Room Tip: There are two towers one above the casino...just an elevator ride away...they other is way on the ot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

We recently stayed for a last minute honeymoon getaway, never again will we return. They put us in a cheaper room then what we paid for. Staff was rude and would not even offer to fix it. Room service was a way over priced joke. $20 for a 10 inch pizza that came in a 16 inch box that they will not even put cheese on. But that is ok because if you are really hungry you can go to one of their many places to eat, no one will wait on you and you will have to wait till you are done eating to even get your drink. I recommend driving up the road to Santa Fe to eat because the 4 places we ate at Buffalo Thunder were horrible. There was trash in the room still from the people who had the room before us. When I was walking from the resort to the casino, I had a staff member who was walking and texting run into me and then she got rude with me. We were told that there was free wifi, but they forgot to mention that it is only free in the lobby and if you want it near your room then you have to pay $10 for only 24 hours of internet...not wifi. Any time we tried to talk to staff about our concerns, all we got was attitude. You get better customer service at a Motel 6.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hal L, General Manager at Hilton Santa Fe Buffalo Thunder, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear Jimmy,
Thank you for taking the time to share comments regarding your recent stay at Hilton Santa Fe Buffalo Thunder. Celebrating a last-minute Honeymoon should have been a memorable experience and it appears based on your review, we failed to meet your expectations in several areas. I'm especially concerned that you dined in four out of our six restaurants and not one of them impressed you.
I would enjoy speaking with you personally about your visit and have listed below, my direct number to my office as well as my email address. I'm confident that should you give us another opportunity to serve you, we will not only meet, but hopefully exceed your expectations.
Sincerely,

Hal Leonard
General Manager
(505) 819-2000
hal.leonard@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Santa Fe Buffalo Thunder? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Santa Fe Buffalo Thunder

Address: 20 Buffalo Thunder Trail, Santa Fe, NM 87506
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#8 Spa Hotel in Santa Fe
#19 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#22 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#23 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Santa Fe Buffalo Thunder 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hilton Hotels, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hilton Santa Fe Buffalo Thunder reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Santa Fe Golf Resort And Spa At Buffalo Thunder
Hilton Santa Fe Golf Resort & Spa At Buffalo Thunder Hotel Santa Fe
Hilton Santa Fe Hotel
Santa Fe Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Santa Fe Buffalo Thunder, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.