We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad Choice” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Santa Fe Buffalo Thunder

Save Saved
You added Hilton Santa Fe Buffalo Thunder to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Santa Fe Buffalo Thunder
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   20 Buffalo Thunder Trail, Santa Fe, NM 87506   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$50 Resort Credit
Ranked #25 of 60 hotels in Santa Fe
Green Valley,AZ, United States
1 review
“Bad Choice”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

The discount rates were exorbinate. Double charged for dinner. The room smelled like sweaty underarms. The room had a refrigerator you couldn't use. Meal prices were very high particularly for a casino hotel and the food wasn't that good. Overall a bad value.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hal L, General Manager at Hilton Santa Fe Buffalo Thunder, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear John C,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Hilton Buffalo Thunder. I was disappointed to hear that you felt our resort was a bad choice and would enjoy speaking with you personally about your impressions of this visit. I did check on the double billing that you mentioned and did see that our front desk agent did remove the dinner charge of $64 from your bill, which I trust was satisfactory. The refrigerator in your room is actually a cooler for mini-bar items which are fully stocked, thus provide no room for personal items. We do however have refrigerators available for these items, which can be requested through our Houskeeping Department.
I'm truly sorry that you felt the room rate of $116/nt for the four days of your visit was exorbitant and can assure you that our rates are comparable or less than the majority of hotels in Santa Fe. I hope that you will accept my invitation to contact me personally to discuss your disappointment with our resort and thank you again for your review.
Sincerely

Hal Leonard
General Manager
hal.leonard@hilton.com
(505) 819-2000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

970 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    407
    308
    152
    62
    41
See reviews for
217
455
37
120
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

What a place to spend a week! Check-in was a little slow due to inattentive desk personnel, but once we got by this 5 min delay, most all was great. The room was available exactly at the 4 PM check-in time and it was as advertised. Well appointed, large, comfortable with nice furnishings and a large balcony with a view. Could have used a small 'fridge and skipped the overpriced "honor bar."The furniture on the balcony was not typical -- very comfortable. Bathroom was large with a huge shower and premium toiletries. If more towels, etc. were needed they were just a call away. The restaurants were many and varied with price ranges from low to high. The casino had a nice smoke-free annex just off the hotel lobby and was enjoyable as was the regular casino on the lower level. The pool area was enjoyable with an outdoor & indoor facilities -- 2 hot tubs as well. Unfortunately, the pool heater was broken during most of our stay and the water was far to cold to swim in. The 27 holes of golf in the hotels backyard are challenging, but if you hit it straight, it is very fair. Putting is another story though most of the greens were perfect. If a guest laundry is needed, you have to go up the street to another Hilton hotel to do your wash -- not expected in a resort of this caliber. All in all you can't go wrong staying at Buffalo Thunder.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a better view than others -- ask at the desk as you are checking in for a better vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, United States
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

I really enjoyed my stay at the Hilton Santa Fe Buffalo Thunder. I didn't get to experience the Casino this trip but the room is a real gem. I had great views, it was quiet and my room service was delicious. I have no complaints.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amarillo, United States
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

was really pleased with the hotel. very clean and nice and very peaceful. loved this place. you cant here no noise from the casino. bed are really comfortable, and the rooms are super nice. when we are in area we will be staying there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alamosa, Colorado
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

A friend and I stayed the night of the 16th of August. We had a beautiful room with a balcony and seperate living area. It was spotless. The gentleman at the front desk was a bit abrupt, but competent. On advice from a friend we tried the buffet. It was pricey, but had a huge selection and I really enjoyed all of the seafood options. The service at the buffet was fantastic as well.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Illinois
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

What a beautiful hotel!! I was upgraded to a junior suite; the rooms was very spacious and beautifully decorated. It had a large balcony with chairs to enjoy the New Mexico weather. The pool area was also nice, with plenty of lounge chairs and umbrellas if you want to get out of the sun. We took the complimentary shuttle into Santa Fe; it was right on time and a very nice service. I recommend this hotel; it has everything - several restaurants and bars, nice pool, and a casino.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Clean, efficient and courteous staff with over the top service, amenities and ambiance. Overall property is beautiful in a great location with some of the most amazing art work to be found in New Mexico. I would highly recommend this property for a group event, family vacation or just a quick get away.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Santa Fe Buffalo Thunder? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Santa Fe Buffalo Thunder

Address: 20 Buffalo Thunder Trail, Santa Fe, NM 87506
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Santa Fe
#8 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#18 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#21 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#24 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Santa Fe Buffalo Thunder 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Hilton Hotels, Agoda, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Hilton Santa Fe Buffalo Thunder reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Santa Fe Golf Resort And Spa At Buffalo Thunder
Hilton Santa Fe Golf Resort & Spa At Buffalo Thunder Hotel Santa Fe
Hilton Santa Fe Hotel
Santa Fe Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Santa Fe Buffalo Thunder, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.