We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful scenery, art and rooms” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Santa Fe Buffalo Thunder

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Santa Fe Buffalo Thunder to your Saves list
Hilton Santa Fe Buffalo Thunder
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   20 Buffalo Thunder Trail, Santa Fe, NM 87506   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$50 Resort Credit
Ranked #26 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful scenery, art and rooms”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Quiet rooms with beautiful Southwest art throughout. Great fitness room with multiple treadmills, elliptical machines and circuit strength/weight training equipment. Easy to find right off the highway.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    508
    383
    189
    82
    44
See reviews for
265
556
49
162
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (312)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, United States
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Very nice property for the money. Nicely appointed rooms, clean and quiet. Great views as well. A great place to stay in Santa Fe and a great alternative to the pricey hotels on the plaza. Well worth the 12 mile drive and it is easy to get to and from the Plaza area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hal L, General Manager at Hilton Santa Fe Buffalo Thunder, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear David,
Your short and sweet review of Hilton Buffalo Thunder was very much appreciated. I was so pleased to read that you enjoyed our nicely appointed rooms, that were clean and quiet and that our resort is a great place to stay. Hearing that we are a great alternative to the pricey hotels on the plaza was enjoyable as well.
I look forward to welcoming you back to Hilton Buffalo Thunder on your next trip to Santa Fe.
All the Best

Hal Leonard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

My family was driving from AZ to CO for a wedding and decided to stay over in Santa Fe. We picked this hotel because it looked beautiful and the price was excellent! Upon entering, we noticed that there was a casino attached to the hotel. The hotel said it was smoke free, but when entering the lobby you are hit with such a strong smoke smell. My kids are sensitive to smoke and I can't stand it. Once we got through the lobby and to the elevator the smell was much better which was to my relief.

We were starving from out 8 hour drive and decided to explore the hotel for some place to eat. The only place open at 5:30pm was the buffet. To get to the restaurant you have to pass the escalator to the casino area where smoke just fills the air. We were floored by the $15/per person price for the buffet. We were starving and had went ahead and paid. My daughter is a vegetarian and had option of the salad bar and cheese pizza. The cheese pizza that was on the warmer had been sitting there for a long time. I told her we would just check back for a fresh one. I proceed to the Asian buffet, my husband to the meat carving and Mexican area. I took a bite of my chicken, it was barely warm. I took a bit of my pork, it was cold. My husband was cutting so much fat off his meat and the Mexican item he got he took a bit and put it to the side, it was horrible. We decided to check out other areas since there was a variety of food and all were a disappointment. The fresh cheese pizza never came. My son wanted dessert of course. He wanted a slice of cake. After our experience with the other items I thought I would try the cake first and I was so disappointed that the cake was hard! I don't know how old it was or if it had been sitting out for a long time, but we decided we had enough. We ended up going back to our room and grazing on the peanuts we brought from the drive.

The outdoor pool wasn't open since it was seasonal, but the indoor pool was open. The indoor pool was nice and offered a lot of amenities such as showers, lockers, etc. The kids had fun.

Heading back to the room, we got settled in. I had to make a trip out to the car for my son's pillow. It was a bit nerving as I was walking toward the elevator because there were several older gentleman in the hallway that smelled of booze and smoke that starred at me. I was very uncomfortable.

In the room, the beds were very comfortable, but we were awoken in the middle of the night with drunks roaming the hallways. Took a long time to get back to bed.

Upon leaving we asked to speak to a manger to discuss the buffet matter. He was super friendly and made things right by refunding our meal. The facility was nice, staff friendly but I really wish that I knew this was a part of a Casino. I would have never booked my family there. This hotel has a lot to offer if you are into the Casino scene, don't mind smoke and don't require much sleep.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hal L, General Manager at Hilton Santa Fe Buffalo Thunder, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear hOpe2b,
I truly appreciate you taking the time to review your recent stay at Hilton Buffalo Thunder. I'm pleased that you found our resort beautiful and our staff friendly, however disappointed that you experienced smoke smell from our casino located below the hotel. I also want to apologize for the quality of food in our buffet and was glad to hear that one of our managers was "super friendly and made things right".
I'm glad to hear that your kids had fun and wanted you to know that we now have both the indoor and outdoor pool open for the remainder of the season. I hope that you will have the opportunity of returning to our hotel on your next trip to or from Colorado and that you will allow me the opportunity of showing you how great our resort can be.
Sincerely,

Hal Leonard
General Manager
hal.leonard@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

I stayed here for the a work-related conference - wait, make that supposed to be staying here - because I arrived at 12:30p and now it's almost 4p and my room still isn't ready. So I grabbed a $20 salad from one of the restaurants that would leave a rabbit or squirrel longing for more. It was the smallest "entree" salad I've ever had.

I had legitimate need for a room as quick as it could be supplied as I still had a couple of hours of work to do for a demo we were running for the conference exhibit hall. My co-worker got a room sooner than me and offered to exchange mine with his - no go according to the front desk since our rates were different. Didn't matter to us since the company was paying for both of us, but it seemed to be beyond the capabilities of the front desk staff to execute a simple trade. And my room was at the regular much higher rate since they claimed to have run out of conference rates when I registered - you'd think they'd want to make me a happy camper!

The front desk staff referred me to the "very expansive" business center to get my work done. I tried to explain that I had quite a bit of equipment to set up - they assured me the business center would suit my needs. So I went there and found 2 sets of four desks cobbled together to make a "big table". Needless to say, it didn't work out.

So, here I sit, in the lobby, wasting valuable time with the conference opening in less than one hour. I want to speak to the manager next, but this Hilton property is so badly managed, it can only be Paris Hilton who's in charge, and I don't really want to have that mind-numbing experience. I can't wait for the next three days...

I'd give it a '0', but the picturesque scenery bumps it up a notch to a '1'.

Room Tip: Somewhere 20 miles in any direction from the center of this property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hal L, General Manager at Hilton Santa Fe Buffalo Thunder, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Sceptical Traveler,
I appreciate you taking the time to share your arrival experience during your recent visit to Hilton Buffalo Thunder. I hope that you will accept my sincere apologies for not having your room available prior to our 4pm check-in time and that the business center was not large enough to meet your needs for pre-conference preparation.
I also wanted to check on the remainder of your three-day stay, as you didn't mention your guestroom, service levels or conference experience. I would appreciate your feed back on these areas as well as the opportunity to compensate you for the problem that you experienced during your arrival, so please feel free to contact me personally. You mentioned that you want to speak to a manager, so I'll be available for a call or an email.
Sincerely

Hal Leonard
General Manager
hal.leonard@hilton.com
(505)819-2000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

After a conference in Albuquerque, I decided to stay the weekend and have a "me-day" at the Buffalo Thunder Hilton. Leaving Albuquerque Saturday morning, I headed to Santa Fe and walked around the plaza. What a wonderful place! I then drove to the outskirts of town where I found the Hilton. It made a beautiful first impression. I was able to check in immediately even though it was a bit before check in time. The front desk staff person was excellent.

After settling into my junior suite, I thought I would take a nap. As soon as my head hit the pillow, the kids from the next room were not using their "indoor" voices, with seemingly no direction from the parents to do so. I tried in vain to rest and giving up, decided to check out the pool area. When I entered, it was wall-to-wall kids, even the hot tub had kids swimming in it as if it were a kiddie pool. I sat for awhile hoping it would clear out; alas no, it just got more noisy and uncomfortable. So much for an adult resort -- was hoping since it is a casino resort. I wandered to the spa and the woman there took pity on me and let me use the hot tub there. NO one was around and it was heaven. I decided to reward this excellent behavior by scheduling a spa treatment (massage) right then and there -- and they had the last time of the day open. I hung out and waited until my massage, which was wonderful!

Had a great time in the casino and had dinner the buffet, which was about average for a casino buffet. Then back out to play the machines until it was time for bed. The bed and room were comfy and nice. But alas, around 2 in the morning, the "drunks" started surfacing, walking down the hall not using their indoor voices. Not sure if was the same couple going back and forth or a few folks, either way, don't know why drunk young women think it's cool to shout and scream in a hotel corridor at 2 a.m. I could not get back to sleep and ended up going back down to the casino. If I'm going to be up, might as well have some fun. Finally about 3:30, things seemed to be quieting down so I went back up to the room and yes, got some sleep. You know what's coming -- kids next door woke up bright and early...

There are times I wish these hotels would figure out how to put people into rooms that make some sort of sense. You know, family wing, young drunk partying wing, the folks there for a nice, relaxing, pampered weekend wing. I know there is no way to do this...but wouldn't it be nice?! I wanted to like this place, but in the end, I was just tired by the time I left, and the beautiful first impression had darkened somewhat.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hal L, General Manager at Hilton Santa Fe Buffalo Thunder, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear Frances,
Thank you for sharing the candid comments regarding your recent stay at Hilton Buffalo Thunder. I was so happy to hear that the bed and room was cozy, the Front Desk receptionist was excellent and that you enjoyed our wonderful Spa......all of the makings for a great visit.
Obviously, all of this was overshadowed by the noise factor that you experienced, which I want to sincerely apologize for. I can assure you that this is not typical of what the majority of our guests encounter, however I cannot deny that this does happen on occasion.
I would like to have the opportunity of turning this around for you. There are rooms available at the end of our hallways that don't experience a great deal of foot traffic and I believe that they would offer a much better option. I have left my email address with my name below, should you want to contact me personally.
Thank you again for taking the time to review our "beautiful" resort.
Sincerely

Hal Leonard
General Manager
hal.leonard@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

8 golfers from Albuquerque came to play and stay the night to celebrate a "certain" birthday.Bernadette unloaded all our clubs & luggage with a smile .
Gary at the front desk set the tone by getting us in our rooms immediately. T-times and golf check in with Laurie & Steve went without a hitch and we were given a sleeve of ball which we all left on the challenging course. Sun, sky and mountains with good friends ...... Priceless. Peg cronim

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hal L, General Manager at Hilton Santa Fe Buffalo Thunder, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear Fanore,
I love reading reviews regarding 8 golfers that had such a wonderful time at Hilton Buffalo Thunder and our magnificent Towa Golf Club. It sounds like Bernadette and Gary (two of our hospitality superstars) did a great job setting the stage for an outstanding stay, followed up by Laurie and Steve at the golf course.....sorry about that sleeve of golf balls.
Thanks again for sharing your "Priceless" experience with TripAdvisor and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next Santa Fe golf adventure.
All the Best

Hal Leonard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

If you appreciate Native American artwork, beautiful rooms, and sunshine - this place is the right fit. Just south of the resort is the Santa Fe square with artwork & shops as well as Canyon Road - then north is Taos - great location!

Room Tip: Rooms facing East get morning sun, a nice way to wake up on your balcony with a cup of coffee!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hal L, General Manager at Hilton Santa Fe Buffalo Thunder, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear Elizabeth,
Thanks for taking the time to review your recent visit to Hilton Buffalo Thunder, which you refer to as a "Beautiful Oasis". I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed our location, artwork, and sunshine (we won't take any credit for that).
Please let me know when you plan on returning as I would like to do my best to ensure that you receive an east-facing room for your morning coffee......
All the Best

Hal Leonard
General Manager
hal.leonard@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Santa Fe Buffalo Thunder? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Santa Fe Buffalo Thunder

Address: 20 Buffalo Thunder Trail, Santa Fe, NM 87506
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Santa Fe
#8 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#15 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#20 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#23 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Santa Fe Buffalo Thunder 4*
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, getaroom.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Santa Fe Buffalo Thunder reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Santa Fe Golf Resort & Spa At Buffalo Thunder Hotel Santa Fe
Hilton Santa Fe Golf Resort And Spa At Buffalo Thunder
Hilton Santa Fe Hotel
Santa Fe Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Santa Fe Buffalo Thunder, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.