We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall, good.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Santa Fe Buffalo Thunder

Save Saved
You added Hilton Santa Fe Buffalo Thunder to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Santa Fe Buffalo Thunder
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   20 Buffalo Thunder Trail, Santa Fe, NM 87506   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$50 Resort Credit
Ranked #25 of 60 hotels in Santa Fe
A TripAdvisor Member
“Overall, good.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

The check in was easy and courteous. The requested handicapped room was at the far, far end of the hall. Why they do that to handicapped people, I don't know. But it's sooo wrong. We asked for and received a room closer to the elevator, but it had one of those short little toilets that are very hard on older handicapped people. But the trade off was livable. Nice balcony. Comfy bed. All in all a good place to visit. Noise in the hall at times.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hal L, General Manager at Hilton Santa Fe Buffalo Thunder, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent visit to Hilton Buffalo Thunder. I was very pleased to read that the registration process was "easy and courteous" and that your room had a nice balcony and comfy bed. I am so sorry that the accessible room originally assigned, was so far from the elevators.......no excuse for this poor design.
I'm glad that this didn't keep you from commenting that it was "all in all, a good place to visit".
Thank you again for choosing our beautiful resort for your stay in Santa Fe.
Sincerely,

Hal Leonard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

956 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    401
    303
    149
    62
    41
See reviews for
211
450
37
118
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Stayed two nights July 1-3 in a one bedroom Terrace Suite and loved it - clean spacious and huge terrace with view of golf course and mountains. We reserved a cabana at the pool for the day and relaxed with cocktails and snacks all afternoon. The fitness center was large and well equipped. The staff at this property are extremely polite and professional - we will be back. Special thanks to Glen - consierge who was helpful with our reservation!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hal L, General Manager at Hilton Santa Fe Buffalo Thunder, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Dear Scooterchuck,
Thank you so much for the glowing review of your recent stay at Hilton Buffalo Thunder. It was wonderful to read that you loved the Terrace Suite with the spectacular views of our golf course, and that you enjoyed the cabana experience at the pool. I greatly appreciate you recognizing Glen, our concierge, who was helpful to you during your stay.
I look forward to welcoming you back to our beautiful resort on your next visit to Santa Fe.
All the Best

Hal Leonard
General Manager
hal.leonard@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We arrived late in the evening on a flight from New York/London. Upon arrival, we were informed by the duty manager that the Hilton reservation system had oversold the hotel during this Memorial Day weekend. We were offered alternative accommodations in a Garden Inn. Our faces went from tired surprise to annoyance, as our confirmed reservations from Hilton and our "Gold HHonors" status were turning out to be useless and we were being offered a hotel downgrade. So, we told the manager to find us something more suitable. He came back 10mns later with a reservation at the Eldorado in downtown Santa Fe. We went there. The reception staff at the Eldorado were very welcoming and we enjoyed that hotel.

We were invited to return to the Hilton for our second night. Room was fine. Pool was welcoming, but crowded. Overall, big and efficient hotel.

We wanted to thank the duty manager for having satisfactorily resolved the problem, but we were told he had left for his holidays. Here's hoping the hotel room at his destination was not oversold !

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hal L, General Manager at Hilton Santa Fe Buffalo Thunder, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Dear IJK,
I totally agree that it would be hard to be positive after making such a long journey, only to find out that our hotel was completly sold out that evening. I was made aware of this occurance and that our Director of Front Office Services, Jason Schliening did his best to soften the disappointment, by arranging for complimentary accommodations that evening as well as provide to-go meals for you. I was also pleased that the front office staff was able to upgrade your accommodations to our Enchantment Suite upon your return the next day.
Thank you for mentioning Jason for his efforts that evening.
Sincerely,

Hal Leonard
General Manager
hal.leonard@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Nice touches with the Native American/Southwest Theme, but all in all an average conference hotel. About 26-30 minutes from the Santa Fe Plaza/Canyon Road. Had a junior suite that overlooked the parking lot: if you open your window, you just hear the highway. For $200/night, think you could much better in Santa Fe proper.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hal L, General Manager at Hilton Santa Fe Buffalo Thunder, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Dear Atl649,
Thank you for taking the time to share comments on your recent stay at Hilton Buffalo Thunder. I'm sorry to hear that you felt that we were an average conference hotel rather than the beautiful resort that many of our guests enjoy. I would like to hear from you on ways for us to improve, so please don't hesitate to contact me personally via telephone or email. I would greatly appreciate your feedback.
Sincerely,

Hal Leonard
General Manager
hal.leonard@hilton.com
(505)819-2000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah, United States
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for a business conference. Food was good, space was clean and well-maintained. Internet connectivity had a little trouble, but overall worked well enough to get emails and conference materials during the sessions. Room was spacious, clean, and well-furnished. Service was excellent, providing clean towels everyday. Golf course has a unique beauty, as it is set in the surrounding desert. I didn't golf, but heard reports that it was a challenging course. Exercise room was medium sized and machines seemed well-maintained and operated without problem. Service staff was always friendly and helpful. The hotel is 20-30 minutes out of the city, but really not a bad drive into town. Overall, a very good experience!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hal L, General Manager at Hilton Santa Fe Buffalo Thunder, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Dear Erin,
Thanks for taking the time to share comments on your "Great Experience" at Hilton Buffalo Thunder. You had many great things to say including the excellent service, spacious and clean rooms, and especially.....that the staff was always friendly and helpful.
I hoping that you will visit our beautiful resort again, even if you don't have a conference to attend!
All the Best

Hal Leonard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holladay, Utah, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

This place would great, but for a few things.

1. Pretty expensive.
2. Almost no cell phone service unless you happen to be in a magic spot, and only if you're there at the right time. For someone that needed to do business, that didn't work well. This resort is a good 12 miles north of Santa Fe.
3. You need a car.
4. The conference rooms are a good 5 minute walk from the rooms. The resort is big, and built horizontal, not vertical.

Rooms were good, the staff was average, and everything else met our expectations.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hal L, General Manager at Hilton Santa Fe Buffalo Thunder, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Dear David,
I greatly appreciate you taking the time to review your recent stay at Hilton Buffalo Thunder. I was happy to read that you felt that the rooms were good and that we were able to meet your expectations. Your comments we absoultely correct regarding the 15 minute drive to Santa Fe, which many people prefer to staying right in the center of town. The conference rooms do take up to five minutes to walk from the rooms, which was designed in order to separate the conference facilities from the rest of our resort.
Thank you again for sharing your comments and I look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Santa Fe.
Sincerely,

Hal Leonard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington State
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Although this hotel has a casino, it is primarily a golf resort and conference center. The casino is on the bottom level, so the smoke and noise are contained. It is quiet, clean and beautiful. It has incredible tribal artwork throughout. The rooms look like the professional photos. The bed was very comfortable and all of the furniture was very nice. The room had a large bathroom and a large closet with a safe. The rooms have balconies with patio chairs. There is a free shuttle to take guests into Santa Fe throughout the day. Everyone in New Mexico was very friendly, including the hotel staff. The pool is big, with 4 pillars that are lit with fire at night. While the food in Santa Fe was very good, the food supplied by the hotel for the Conference was not very good. I did not try the buffet or the steakhouse, as I was involved with conference activities. Overall, I loved the stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hal L, General Manager at Hilton Santa Fe Buffalo Thunder, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Dear Aurorahm,
Thank you for sharing your wonderful review on your recent stay at Hilton Buffalo Thunder. I was pleased to read that you felt that our rooms look just like the photos on our web site and that our staff was very friendly. I realize that Washington State is a long way away, however hope that you will be staying with us again on your next visit to Santa Fe.
All the Best

Hal Leonard
General Manager
hal.leonard@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Santa Fe Buffalo Thunder? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Santa Fe Buffalo Thunder

Address: 20 Buffalo Thunder Trail, Santa Fe, NM 87506
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#8 Spa Hotel in Santa Fe
#18 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#21 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#22 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Santa Fe Buffalo Thunder 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hilton Santa Fe Buffalo Thunder reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Santa Fe Golf Resort & Spa At Buffalo Thunder Hotel Santa Fe
Hilton Santa Fe Golf Resort And Spa At Buffalo Thunder
Hilton Santa Fe Hotel
Santa Fe Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Santa Fe Buffalo Thunder, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.