We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Santa Fe Buffalo Thunder

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Santa Fe Buffalo Thunder to your Saves list
Hilton Santa Fe Buffalo Thunder
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   20 Buffalo Thunder Trail, Santa Fe, NM 87506   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 4 + WiFi
Ranked #24 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
minnesota, usa
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Stayed two nights in a junior suite and it was lovely. Long walk from the elevator but very quiet room. Huge bathroom with walk in shower and tub. Great outdoor pool area.(went in October so not many guests) This is a pretty new facility and casino is downstairs. Didn't even know it was there. About a 6-7 minute drive from northern edge of Santa Fe where there are lots of great restaurants.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,332 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    572
    422
    201
    90
    47
See reviews for
299
619
52
174
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (346)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
southern california
Level Contributor
223 reviews
158 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Stayed here while on business travel. Prices were very reasonable booked a suite for $143/night with AAA. Lovely room with kiva fireplace and large balcony overlooking the swimming pool. Full fitness center very well maintained even had precor ATM machines. Dinner at the red sage dining room was elegant, good service, and food was nice. Full Hilton Breakfast did not disappoint and it runs until 11am - nice on a saturday morning. Valet parking was $8/day and prompt. Everything about this property was done well. Wifi in room worked well. Room was very clean. Staff seemed well-trained and on top of things. I will come back.

Room Tip: Check out the rates for suites there can be some good prices at this hotel. The spa side is nice an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, TN
Level Contributor
96 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

All things considered, this is a top botch Hilton. It is a bit off the path, but a resort like feel about 10-12 minutes outside of Santa Fe. Also a great choice for those staying/visiting Los Alamos.

The attached Red Sage restaurant was truly top notch dining. The buffet was a typical buffet.

The rooms were great! I was upgraded to a king jr suite at no added charge. Beds were very comfy with down pillows and a large tv. Bathroom included a separate shower and tub. Many rooms had patios, although mine did not.

Two recommendations: first, the rooms on the backside may face the convention center and physical plant, although there is a small chance of facing the pool. Also, there are two towers for the hotel. One of the towers is a 5 minute walk from the restaurants, casino, and convention area, but closer to the fitness center. If gambling or attendening the convention, request the closer tower.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
355 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We stayed here two nights on a package deal. This is an Indian casino about 20 minutes from Las Vegas. The hotel property is a Hilton. The casino is downstairs. The hotel areas were smoke free which was nice. There were ver long walks to to the rooms and there was only one bellman the morning we left. He also had to valet the cars. The rooms were spacious and done in an Indian theme. Everything is clean but worn. Bathrooms were big and nice. Towels I were rough and worn. Restaurants were limited. No coffee shop at night. The buffet was so so although the cooks were helpful. We would probably go again. But the again we might not! The Internet none tigon was terrible - at $18.99 a day they should be ashamed.

Room Tip: Get a balcony and a pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Our whole family stayed at this hotel for three nights in September 2012 at a bargain rate! With the exception of some problems at the check-in, we were blown away at how nice this hotel was. Beautiful, spacious rooms with balconies overlooking the beautifully maintained grounds.

Will certainly recommend!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bosque Farms, New Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We loved the room and the hotel. There were some things that went wrong though, we tried to eat at the buffet and it seemed like everything we got was either cold or under cooked. I think it may have been because it was during the week and not a weekend (no excuse right?) Then we thought we'd head to the pool but it was closed for maintenance (once again I think it was because it was during the week). Overall we enjoyed the room and the view out our window.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Buffalo Thunder Resort is about 15 minutes north of Santa Fe in a beautiful setting. My wife and I like to go here for a quick getaway and coming here is like traveling to much further destinations without the long trip.
The setting is beautiful with some rooms overlooking the pool area and some rooms looking out toward the mountains of Santa Fe or Los Alamos. The hotel, run by Hilton, is everything that you would expect it to be; clean, well run, and nicely decorated.
The buffet is very good and was well patronized on the Sunday night we were there. The casino is nice, even though it is on the small size. We won enough money to pay for dinner!
In the past we have visited in the winter and the indoor pool is amazing. Highly recommended.
My only complaint would be the charge for internet. This is obscene and a practice that needs to stop. The only way I can visit nice places like this is having the ability to work and take care of business when I need to. Being penalized to access the internet is no longer acceptable. Would you charge me to use the TV? What about the toilet?
The other issue is calling the hotel, which I did to see if I could check in early. After going through the various options to reach reservations or the front desk, I gave up when being put on hold for several minutes. I called back and just hit "0" and was connected to the front desk right away. Keep this in mind and bypass the phone options.
I definitely recommend this hotel if you are in the area. I've not patronized the spa or golf course, but they look great also.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Homewood Suites Santa Fe
#9 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Eldorado Hotel & Spa
Eldorado Hotel & Spa
#23 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 stars 869 reviews
Downtown
Inn and Spa at Loretto
Inn and Spa at Loretto
#21 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 stars 1,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Santa Fe Buffalo Thunder? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Santa Fe Buffalo Thunder

Address: 20 Buffalo Thunder Trail, Santa Fe, NM 87506
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#12 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#19 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#20 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Santa Fe Buffalo Thunder 4*
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Hilton Santa Fe Buffalo Thunder reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Santa Fe Golf Resort And Spa At Buffalo Thunder
Hilton Santa Fe Golf Resort & Spa At Buffalo Thunder Hotel Santa Fe
Hilton Santa Fe Hotel
Santa Fe Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Santa Fe Buffalo Thunder, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.