We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay at an affordable price!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Santa Fe Buffalo Thunder

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hilton Santa Fe Buffalo Thunder to your Saves list
Hilton Santa Fe Buffalo Thunder
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   20 Buffalo Thunder Trail, Santa Fe, NM 87506   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$50 Resort Credit
Ranked #27 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Montclair, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Excellent stay at an affordable price!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

My boyfriend and I just got back from our trip to Santa Fe, NM. We stayed at the Hilton Buffalo Thunder for 8 nights. Our main reason for selecting this hotel was price - it was a third the cost of the smaller inns in town. I would recommend this resort to anyone who is looking to stay in the Santa Fe area.

Location - We rented a car - a must if you are staying at Buffalo Thunder. The drive from the resort to downtown Santa Fe (Plaza vicinity) is 15-20 minutes (there is never traffic on highway). the hotel amenities make this drive very worth your while.

Room/cleanliness - As someone who usually "schieves" hotels, I was pleasantly surprised at the cleanliness of Hilton Buffalo Thunder. The room was immaculate. Maid service every day completely redid our room so that it looked as it did on our arrival the first day. We had a double queen room with fireplace and balcony. Very worth the upgrade.

Pools - in the hotel complex are fabulous. There is a large outdoor pool with a hot tub and also an indoor pool with indoor hot tub. They were all very clean. The downside was that there were a lot of kids in the hot tub and pool, which made me not really want to go in. Also, I felt that some of the people using the pools were not staying at the hotel. THe pool area also has outside cabanas that you can use and I think you can reserve them if you are having a function. Towels and chairs are plentiful, and there is an outdoor bar and speakers playing music. The pools are also open much later than most hotels - the outdoor pool is open until 10, the indoor midnight.

Casino - was the norm for a hotel - smoky and filled with old people blowing their money on penny slots. Not much of a poker or other table games scene.

Restaurants and food - we only tried Red Sage steak house, and it was amazing both times we ate there. Although the menu is a bit pricey, the food is immaculate and it is a good option for a night you don't feel like driving to town. The "Starbucks" in the hotel is not like any Starbucks I have been to. The coffee and other drinks are sub-par and expensive. Plan for another coffee fix. Room service has an extensive menu, is moderately priced for room service, and comes within 30-40 minutes. We ate it twice, and were pleased both times.

Gift Shop - the gift shop is moderately priced and has a great selection of necessities and gifts. It also sells liquor and wine!

Bar - the lobby bar is expensive! Martinis were $15, canned beer (Bud Light) was $5. (Your better bet is to buy any alcohol at the gas station right around the corner and invest in a cheap cooler. We did, and it saved us a lot of money throughout the week!)

Parking - can sometimes get frustrating. There are plenty of spots by the casino, but spots near the lobby fill quickly, especially at night. Also, if you are not planning on using the valet and parking yourself, double-check your bill before leaving - the hotel charged us $8 for valet parking even though we never valeted our car.

Gym - was great. There are a log of machines, and all of them are new, clean, and in working condition (treadmills, stationary bikes, ellipticals, stair climbers, and lots of weight benches and loose weights). All of the machines have TVs that you can plug your headphones into. The gym is open 24 hours with keycard access and provides water, towels, and headphones.

Room Tip: Select a room on higher floor (4 or 5) for best views of sunrise and sunset. Ask for a room facin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evan F, Manager at Hilton Santa Fe Buffalo Thunder, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
I’m glad we had affordable rates for you and your boyfriend. Your time is very valuable and we appreciate you writing a review about your experience with us here at the Hilton Santa Fe Buffalo Thunder. Thank you for all of the kind gestures and we are very happy that you had a good time at our resort. One misconception of our resort is that we are far from Santa Fe, but as you mentioned we are only about 15 minutes from downtown and its all highway, so the drive is quite short and enjoyable. On behalf of the Hilton Santa Fe Buffalo Thunder I would like to thank you once again for taking the time to share your experience with others.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,052 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    440
    331
    173
    66
    42
See reviews for
232
489
43
134
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bloomfield, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

The only downside here is that it is on the outskirts of Santa Fe and NO FREE WIFI!!! Why????. The highway is like 70 mph so you can get in quickly to the city or Taos. Everything in the room/hotel/lobby/pool/gym was extremely clean. Even though they do allow pets here. The Flatscreen TV in the room was awesome with HBO and NFL network free. Beds were nice and they didn't care that we brought food and beer from outside the hotel. They bought up a bottle opener and wine for us and gave us a free cooler. Our balcony was cool except we were a little close to the airconditioning machines on the roof. But what can you do about that. I'm not a big gambler, but the casino had nice tables and a lot of games. The pools and hottubs were great. Except there were a lot of little kids probably peeing in the hottubs. But the water was very clean it was a little annoying to see people that lived in the area that were just gambling were in the pool swimming even though they didn't have a room. Everyone that worked there was very nice to us and the room service wasn't overpriced. The restuarant Red Sage had amazing steak and food but was expensive. Gift shop was nice but overpriced. But overall i would definately go back and would recommend this place to my friends.

Room Tip: Try and get a room on the 5th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

We both had five bars on our AT&T I phones and still could not access emails or send texts. We asked a low level hotel employee if others were having phone problems. The employee said that everyone had phone problems on the property, and that "they used to give us codes for our phones, but don't anymore."

This Hilton charges $9.95 per 24 hour period for internet access. We did not pay this fee, and were unable to access the internet from our phones or using our personal hotspot device while on this property. As soon as we drove off the property our phones worked normally.

AT&T tech support confirmed that our I-phones were working properly, and that we should have full access.

This property has so much going for it. Hilton Inc. knows better than to jam internet devices just to get an extra $10 a day.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chilepepa, Director of Sales at Hilton Santa Fe Buffalo Thunder, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
We appreciate your feedback regarding the ability to access wireless service at our hotel. We apologize for any inconvenience our system caused during your stay. While we do charge an additional fee for wireless internet, we strive to be competitive with other hotels and offer quality services and amenities in our guest rooms. We will use your comments as we reevaluate our guest’s needs moving forward and hope you will consider staying with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Charles, Missouri
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

We stopped at the Hilton after a long day of riding. With our room booked in advance we had a speedy check in and a reasonable price. The staff was helpful and very accommodating. They helped us up to our room with our bags, all the way from the far side of the parking lot. We didn't use many of the amenities while we were there since we arrived at 9 in the evening. The pool was very relaxing (although short on towels) and we enjoyed some time outdoors before it closed for the evening. We were disappointed that the restaurant and the bars closed so early, even for mid week as we were looking forward to a meal and a few cocktails after a long day. The beds were comfortable the shower was nice, and the room was pretty much what you'd expect for a Hilton. With being a casino as well, I had expected a bit more when it came to grabbing a bite to eat or a few drinks.

Room Tip: Get a discount by choosing a room online. At full price, it's just not worth it. Try to get a ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

This hotel is beautiful with lots of art work throughout. It is a casino but the casino is out of the way and so is the smoke! There were families all over as there is a lovely pool and kids were abundant. Rooms were large and comfortable and all have a lovely balcony. Convenient to Santa Fe, just about 10 minutes down the highway.

Room Tip: This hotel is spread out so if you don't like walking ask for a room near the elevator or you ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago, illinois
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

We spent two nights at Buffalo Thunder. Nice views of the surrounding mountains. Very nice pool area, easy access for those with difficulty with stairs. Casino was pretty much up to date. Mostly slots but some tables. Room was relatively large, balcony could use cleaning. The restaurants were not particularly good. Red Sage overpriced, Mica not good at all. Bars were nice. Good access to Santa Fe. Buffet pretty typical of a business hotel.
Staff was excellent. We had some issues with with we we getting with a room upgrade and got more than satisfactory resolution.

Room Tip: Very long halls. Ask for near elevator if you don't like a hike.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chilepepa, Director of Sales at Hilton Santa Fe Buffalo Thunder, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide insight on your recent experience with us in Santa Fe. I’m disappointed to hear that you did not fully enjoy your stay and that our dining options were not what you expected. I will pass your pricing concerns along and we will use your feedback to improve on our guest’s experience. Please know that we are currently working on improving our wireless internet accessibility and hope to have it available in each guest room in the coming months. We know how important internet is for today’s travelers and we strive to provide our guests with all the amenities they desire. We look for reviews to provide insight, so I certainly appreciate your feedback. The next time you are in the area we would love for you to stop back again. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012 via mobile

We, actually, extended our stay 2 additional nites. exceptional friendly & professional staff. Dog friendly is a plus. Rooms are spacious & clean. The pool is large with cabanas with pool service. Beautiful property. We would stay at this property again.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Santa Fe Buffalo Thunder? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Santa Fe Buffalo Thunder

Address: 20 Buffalo Thunder Trail, Santa Fe, NM 87506
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#8 Spa Hotel in Santa Fe
#19 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#23 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#23 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Santa Fe Buffalo Thunder 4*
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Venere, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hilton Hotels, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Santa Fe Buffalo Thunder reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Santa Fe Golf Resort And Spa At Buffalo Thunder
Hilton Santa Fe Golf Resort & Spa At Buffalo Thunder Hotel Santa Fe
Hilton Santa Fe Hotel
Santa Fe Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Santa Fe Buffalo Thunder, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.