We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect in every way” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn at Vanessie

Save Saved
You added Inn at Vanessie to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Inn at Vanessie
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   427 West Water St., Santa Fe, NM 87501 (Formerly Water Street Inn)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 43 Santa Fe B&B and Inns
Oklahoma city, Ok
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“perfect in every way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2008

Having traveled to Santa Fe once a year for 30 odd years didn't think there were hidden secrets I hadn;t discovered but the Water Street Inn may be the best secret of all. This was perfect in every way from the room decor, size, and relaxed tranquility to the wonderful inviting staff to those homemade bedtime snacks. had been a bit intimidated by the idea of a B&B and was concerned about enough privacy, but this was a wonderful experience with the perfect mix of the laid back magic of Sata Fe and luxury. Room #2 was large, airy, and fully equipped with private bath and working fireplace. There was nothing missing or needed not available. Will return again and again.

  • Liked — Casual, elegance and location
  • Disliked — loved everything
  • Stayed October 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    158
    49
    14
    10
    0
See reviews for
21
131
11
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2008

This is our favorite place in Santa Fe. Great rooms, atmosphere, staff, location, etc. The staff makes you feel like family and everyone is truly delightful.

  • Stayed October 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2008

This was the kind of B&B you only find once in a great while. The managers and their assistants were friendly and helpful, suggesting good restaurants and interesting side-trips. The memorable "happy hour" had freshly-made drinks and fab cocktail snacks. The other guests were interesting to talk to.

The room was charming and beautifully furnished , and had a big four-poster bed with curtains. Our personal patio had a little fountain and flowering shrubs. There was a good choice of breakfast items, delivered on a tray to our room. It would have been a perfect honeymoon room.

We should add that we had one of the most expensive rooms (all that was left when we made our reservation), but we felt it was worth the price. If you go, make your reservation WELL in advance! Six months would not be too early.

  • Liked — The room
  • Disliked — room was a bit too full of furniture, fountain was slightly noisy at night.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
albuquerque
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2008

The Water Street Inn is a perfect location, close to the Plaza and great restaurants. Mindy and Tony Mills have managed the property for many years and certainly know how to pamper the guests. The employees are all incredibly hospitable and service minded. The breakfast in bed option tops off the perfect stay.

Water Street Inn is the best B&B in Santa Fe for the money, by far!!!

Bob Kellogg

  • Liked — Room 7 is the best room, but all rooms are extremely comfortable and clean.
  • Disliked — Parking slots are narrow for large cars or SUV's.
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Land, Texas
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2008

We spent six nights at the Water Street Inn, and were delighted with our accommodations, food, and location. Our room in the main building was comfortable, attractive, and clean. Breakfast was plentiful and delicious, and we enjoyed having it on the sunny deck. Yes, you fill out a card with your breakfast preferences, but you can change it any time you want to (which we did, several times). The best thing about staying here is happy hour up on the deck, with local wines (and mango margaritas one night!), fabulous hors d'oeuvres, and good company. The bedtime snacks were fine too! The Plaza is an easy ten-minute walk away, and several good restaurants are within two blocks. One staff member was rather unfriendly, but Mindy the innkeeper and the rest of her staff (especially Toni) were consistently cheerful and helpful.

The person who complained about the "bar next door" neglected to note that it is a very elegant and attractive piano bar and restaurant, not some dive. There's nothing wrong with this quiet and convenient location. We would certainly stay here again.

  • Liked — attractive and comfortable, good location, pleasant happy hour!
  • Disliked — sometimes-unfriendly attitude of one (and only one) staff member
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2008

We were coming to Santa Fe for a week with some friends and could not book the first night in the condo we had rented, so we tried to find an upscale "treat" of a place for our friends that first night. After checking some reviews this sounded like the place -- even had a hot tub. We gave our friends the room with the patio & joined them there for breakfast. Sounds nice? I think they were more uncomfortable than we were -- squeaking bed every time one of them turned over. Meanwhile, we were overwhelmed with pillows, shams & bolsters and a big duvet with no where to put it all except the 2 chairs which left no place to turn around. (Maybe in winter this would have been more appreciated.) Consequently we were very cramped -- in the Jemez Room. In general, some one needs to sweep the entire place and plant some plants in tired pots around. The cookies at bed time were nice (which I ate for breakfast because really, who wants cookies after enchiladas & marguaritas?); the breakfast and delivery to our friend's room was very nice. Their patio also needed sweeping as did the area around the hot tub. More empty planters accented by mildewy cover on hot tub. The rooms seemed relatively clean but the common areas were in dire need of attention. Our initial welcome was not too warm -- I asked a question which was answered in a sort of teenagery way -- I can't remember the details, but hit a memory nerve -- little attitude problem? So really, who wants to pay extra for all that love & luxury? Not me, not again.

  • Liked — Staff who served us breakfast
  • Disliked — General dust, dingy, lack of attention to common areas, mildew on hot tub cover
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2008

The Water Street is about location, location, location. You're only about 3 blocks from beginning to explore all of what downtown Santa Fe has to offer. There are also 3 restaurants and a bar within spitting distance.
We stayed in the Jemez room which is in the 'new building'. It was quiet, cozy, comfortable, and nicely furnished. No complaints there.
Service was excellent & parking was a breeze (though $5 day).

A couple little nit-picks though:
1) While pet-friendly there's not a blade of grass to be found for blocks. That's actually true of large parts of Santa Fe so I guess you can't blame the folks at Water St. They might consider taking up some asphalt and putting in a little grassy oasis. Regardless I was grateful to find a pet-friendly place with relatively short notice.
2) Breakfast is basically of the 'continental' fare (bagel, fresh fruit, yogurt, coffee, muffin, etc.). Seems like any place billing itself as a B&B (and charging $180+/night!) ought to serve something a bit more substantial. In all fairness, that did not come as a surprise AND they do offer to bring it to your room for no extra charge.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Breakfast was skimpy
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Inn at Vanessie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Vanessie

Address: 427 West Water St., Santa Fe, NM 87501 (Formerly Water Street Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Inn at Vanessie 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inn at Vanessie is an award winning, authentic adobe Inn located two blocks to the Plaza area. The 11 spacious rooms are exquisitely appointed with southwest art, artifacts and textures. Amenities include private baths, fireplaces, TV/VCR/DVD, CD players, wireless internet access, telephone with voice mail, hair dryers and robes. The stunning suites have private gardens with fountains and sun rooms. Fantastic jacuzzi, happy hour at our bar Vanessie -- an Inn with a fun atmosphere! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Inn at Vanessie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Vanessie Hotel Santa Fe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn at Vanessie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.