We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would definitely stay here again” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Santa Fe KOA Cabins and Campground

Santa Fe KOA Cabins and Campground
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Santa Fe
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Santa Fe KOA Cabins and Campground
Save Saved
You added Santa Fe KOA Cabins and Campground to your Saves list
934 Old Las Vegas Highway, Exit 290 or 294 off 1-25, Santa Fe, NM 87505   |  
Hotel amenities
Colorado Springs, Colorado
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Would definitely stay here again”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

This is in a beautiful setting. Stayed here at the end of March, so it was the "off" season. Not many campers at the time, but enough not to feel isolated. Owners very hospitable. Not too far from the freeway, but heard very little fwy noise. Right next to two lane road, but it has very little traffic. It is a little far out of town, so plan your trips accordingly. I enjoyed being away from the city, but close enough to get there fairly easily.

Bathrooms up to date and very clean! Had fine cell reception at my campsite (G-2). Roadways within the park and campsites are gravel, which didn't bother me. I like a more rustic feel. Some of the campsites were fairly close together; Could be close quarters during the high season. For the off season it was lovely, and I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    14
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
14
17
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Vidor, Texas
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

While a little out of the way, this KOA was laid out very nice and was very clean. You're about 10 minutes from Santa Fe sites, an 1:30 from Taos. They were working on the dog park so dogs had to go elsewhere. Nice overall. Ask for a place near the back where it's quiet.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

Out traveling in a van for 6 weeks. Mostly boondocking at free BLM sites and inexpensive state parks. Ended up her twice as our first visit was so nice. Friendly camp hosts, very clean and inviting showers, nice laundry facilities on site and free wi-fi at the camp store. Price was about twice what NM state parks are, but the it was still very nice for the price. Our only suggestion would be a stronger wi fi connection. It only worked by the store and even then a bit weak. With the hills there may be no solution for that. The friendliness of the hosts made up for that.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missoula, Montana
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

This KOA is located very near to Santa Fe, plus you can take the old highway (which runs right past the entrance) directly to Old Town without hoping on the interstate.

The campground was very clean, and quiet (just a little bit of traffic noise from the interstate), and located in the beautiful mountains. There were many juniper trees in between sites so it felt very private. All the common areas were clean and well maintained.

The hosts were very friendly and knowledgable about the area. I was camping out of the back of a Subaru which they had no problem with.

The only downside is that Verizon cell service is spotty in the area, but they do have a hot spot on the patio.

I would definitely stay here again on my next journey through the area!

Room Tip: Sites further from the highway were quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bismarck, North Dakota, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

I embarked on a 4400 mile trip and stayed at 9 KOA's and one Good Sam and the one difference was that Santa Fe's KOA was the most expensive-even more so that the KOA @ Williams, AZ. The cell phone service was very poor and h20 was cloudy but other than the above mentioned-nice area, quiet, clean restrooms and showers well stocked store and friendly staff!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larkspur, Colorado
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Recently stayed at this KOA in a 5th wheel in October 2013. Good service, very helpful when we had trouble with the cable TV. Once we checked in, they had them follow us our site, which is always helpful. Electric and water worked fine; bathrooms were clean. Gift shop was well-stocked, and it was very helpful that they were able to feel one of our propane tanks while e were there. There wi-fi was just OK, but that was probably because the park was completely full while we were there. I'm guessing there was just too much demand for the available service. Park was very clean, well maintained, it's a little far from town, but that also made it appealing. We'll consider it again for future trips to the area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

RV Park is close to Santa Fe but far enough away to separate you from the noise and confusion of the city. Quiet mountain location. Friendly and helpful staff. Pristine bathrooms and showers. Fun and well stocked gift shop. Grounds well maintained and has a beautiful patio area in front of the office. WiFi and cell phone service sporadic in your rig, but very excellent on the patio. We have stayed in several KOAs across the country and rate this as one of the best.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Santa Fe KOA Cabins and Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Fe KOA Cabins and Campground

Address: 934 Old Las Vegas Highway, Exit 290 or 294 off 1-25, Santa Fe, NM 87505
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Santa Fe
Also Known As:
Santa Fe Koa Cabins And Campground Hotel Santa Fe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Santa Fe KOA Cabins and Campground, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.