We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great character.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Santa Fe Motel and Inn

Save Saved
You added Santa Fe Motel and Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Santa Fe Motel and Inn
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   510 Cerrillos Road, Santa Fe, NM 87501 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 60 hotels in Santa Fe
Hilliard, Ohio
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Great character.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Great location, within an easy walk of the center of town. Great character, friendly staff. It’s an older hotel, so the bathroom does not have the modern features you would find at newer places (higher placement of the shower head, generous counter space). And because of the hot weather, the air conditioner could not adequately cool the entire space (bedroom, kitchen area and bathroom). Overall, a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    254
    121
    18
    10
    7
See reviews for
88
201
21
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

I just came back from a delightful trip to Santa Fe. The Santa Fe Motel and Inn was very pleasant. They provided an excellent full breakfast and wonderful service. Our charming. reasonably priced room came with a kitchenette which turned out to be great after a full day in and around town, we were happy to have the food we brought in and enjoyed eating in their courtyard. We could keep a few things in the refrigerator too. We got lots of help with directions and planning our day. The place is a short walk to the town square so parking wasn't an issue either.
L Rettich

Room Tip: I would recommend an upstairs room though as it is a bit quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

I really liked The Santa Fe Motel and Inn a lot. Very clean hotel with beautiful views or Santa Fe, a ceiling fan and a real laid back environment. The location is prefect as well, walking distance from pretty much anything you want in Santa Fe, including the downtown Plaza area. Also the breakfast in the morning is excellent, probably one of the best hotel breakfast's I have ever had.

My one critique is not about the hotel at all but I do feel the price is a bit steep. Tax included this came out to $140 a night. Believe it or not though this is cheaper than a lot of the other hotels in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

I cancelled the reservation due to poor reservation service: they made mistakes when they input my reservation information into their systems such as name, reservation date, e-mail address which I provided through the online: what they said was for all online reservation, they printed out the information from the system and input manually for actual reservation. The error was made during the transition of such info to actual reservation confirmation- as a result, my reservation confirmation (wrong reservation date was input) was not delivered to me (wrong e-mail address was input). At the end, they said sorry and sent confirmation e-mail again, but with wrong price charge(eventually sent 2nd one for correction.) - it took all my Sunday consumed with no productivity - waiting, repetition of same story to different staffs, etc.

Eventually, they said, "if you want to cancel, we'd like to do with no cancellation fee." I think this is not the best way to resolve the issue. How come they suggest cancellation first to customers even if customers didn't ask first?

From Colorado. Fist time trip to NM & First time to have trouble on hotel reservations.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don B, Owner at Santa Fe Motel and Inn, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Sorry that a glitch in our reservation system kept you from staying with us. I am certain you would have enjoyed the experience just as other guests who stay with us do. It saddens me that you based your negative review of us not on a stay at the Santa Fe Motel & Inn but solely upon your trying reservation clerk experience. Consider overcoming this reservation experience and stay with us in the future. We would look forward to that.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We were very fortunate to luck into the Motel Santa Fe. It is a lovely place and most reasonable. Our room was charming with a fireplace and small patio. Even though the room was older, it was very well appointed with a nice bedspread and decor. Everything was very clean in our room and around the motel. The breakfast was really a full breakfast with accommodations for every diet. Our stay was during Indian Market and there was wine and cheese in the afternoon.
We only met a young woman who checked us in but she couldn't have been more pleasant.
We would definitely stay at the Motel Santa Fe again. It was a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Santa Fe Motel & Inn is a perfect combination of features: 1) Location: only 12-15 min walk to Plaza and within blocks to several great restaurants; 2) Charm: while its bones are those of a motel, it certainly doesn't feel like one! Adobe, tons of Mexican tile, kiva fireplaces in some rooms, lovely landscaping, ristras, chili peppers decorating the towels, etc.; 3) Price: very moderate given location and especially considering the really nice breakfast (eggs, beans, chili sauces, sausages, oatmeal, cereals, bakery breads, fruits, juices, good coffee). I've been to Santa Fe about 15 times and I've stayed in many places. You can pay much, much more for luxury, or your own private casita. And you can pay less, if you want the more typical motel further down Cerrillos Rd with little charm, cheerios and bad coffee. This place is the perfect blend of all features. And the people that run the place are really nice, kind, and accommodating. At Indian Market they served wine and cheese on Friday and Saturday evenings (free). And the people who stay there (maybe this is just a thing with Santa Fe) ...you want them to be your friends immediately...and I say that as a snarky introvert! I always meet interesting people who are really into Indian arts, or hiking, or the museums...intelligent and kind people, whether from Oklahoma or Switzerland. I've never had a bad room there and I've stayed in their regular rooms, the kitchenettes and the casitas. If I had one suggestion it would be that they need to make their website such that you can clearly tell which casita is which (decor, etc., and what you're getting). Anyway, I strongly recommend this place...and am almost reluctant to say this because, selfishly, I don't want the whole world to know!

Room Tip: Given the website doesn't quite distinguish the rooms, or at least it doesn't with the casit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don B, Owner at Santa Fe Motel and Inn, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you for your very flattering review of your recent stay at Santa Fe Motel & Inn. It makes everyone's hard work worthwhile when a guest such as yourself recognizes and appreciates all that we do to make a guest's stay more enjoyable.. It was truly inspirational for the employee team to read your review and it acted as a confirmation that they are doing it right. As you noticed we are fortunate to attract an interesting mix of guests from not only across the country but also across the world. As you discovered this diversity makes for interesting conversations with fellow guests during breakfast or other times. We look forward to serving you in the future at the high level with which you have become accustomed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

A wonderful place to stay, like a guest home, we felt welcome. We slept comfortably. My four year old daughter was excited because there was a rubber duck in the bathroom. We had a great breakfast. It is a further walk and not as easy with a stroller to the plaza. We enjoyed the vibe of the Santa Fe Motel.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Santa Fe Motel and Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Fe Motel and Inn

Address: 510 Cerrillos Road, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#7 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Santa Fe Motel and Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfect Location, Great Value. A charming Motel and Inn with traditional southwestern style. Just a short stroll to the historic Plaza, the exciting Railyard area as well as being convenient to many popular shops and top restaurants.. We also serve a highly regarded complimentary full hot breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Santa Fe Motel and Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Fe Hotel Santa Fe
Santa Fe Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Santa Fe Motel and Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.