We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dump” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Santa Fe Motel and Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Santa Fe Motel and Inn to your Saves list
Santa Fe Motel and Inn
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   510 Cerrillos Road, Santa Fe, NM 87501 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
1 review
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Dump”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011 via mobile

The 10 minute walk to the plaza is not in a good part of town. The only parking lot entrance to the casitas is from a dubious looking back alley. You have to drive down 3 busy one way roads when you leave to office just to reach the back side of the property where the casitas are.

Staff is inconsiderate. They throw your stuff on the floor and wad up your clothes if you lay them out on the bed.

We barricaded the door each night as we did not feel safe in this location.

The free breakfast: horrible. Some tasteless eggs and oatmeal with some fruit. The room sits 8 people at one table and there is hardly room to walk around it to get your breakfast. You have to sit outside for any room, but it was raining. Horrible conditions for paying adults to eat under.

I would never stay here again or suggest it to anyone. They had to have bribed that travel book to get into it. This is not a nice place. Rip off.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bdgsfm, Manager at Santa Fe Motel and Inn, responded to this review, August 16, 2011
Management is truly sorry that you had to travel all the way to Santa Fe from a small town in Arkansas to have an unhappy stay at our hotel. Management tries to bend over backwards to provide our guests a happy experience which is confirmed by our excellent reviews. Our hotel is bordered on two sides by Hotel Santa Fe, a 4 star luxury hotel. There are no alleys or one way streets leading to our hotel or its parking lots and we are in a fine part of town, saturated with upscale restaurants and retail shops. We are considered to be in one of Santa Fe's best locations. It is high season in Santa Fe and yes it is busy with traffic on the streets. We are sorry you felt insecure in your room but we have never had an incident. We also have a security company making rounds during the night and early morning.

We will re-examine our breakfast of eggs, sausage, organic oatmeal, fresh baked breads from Sage Bakehouse, cold cereal, fresh fruit, yogurt, green chile, pinto beans, cheese, flour tortillas, fresh ground coffee, teas, apple juice, orange juice, milk and soy milk, for ways to improve upon it. No, we did not bribe Frommer's. Their review was based upon their representative experience staying at our hotel along with unsolicited excellent reviews from past guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    282
    131
    20
    10
    7
See reviews for
94
222
25
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, MN
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011 via mobile

We stayed here on a family vacation (total of 3 rooms) for the first night of a week-long stay in Santa Fe. We should have stayed longer - much cheaper than our hotels in Santa Fe. The location, though not directly on the Plaza, was a 5-10 minute walk (my 5 and 7 year old girls walked a few times with no problem). The room was older but very clean, decorated in southwestern style, and had really comfortable beds and linens. The breakfast is free and really good. The only downside for our family was the lack of pool. Also, great service - friendly employees.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

My husband, daughter and I spent 3 relaxing days at the Inn. When we first arrived, I was happy to see that the room was warm and friendly, loved the fruit basket and note. Wonderful STAFF! Delicious "Made With Love" Breakfast each morning! Included a sampling of the local treats!

Thank you for keeping the cost of our stay reasonable, which included the above.

If you are looking for a cozy, within walking distance to the Plaza, non-pretentious place to stay you have found it! We would return again!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamloops, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

Very friendly, helpful staff. We had a 18 foot travel trailer with us and the young woman on the desk went out of her way to get vehicles moved so we could park the trailer. We have 2 Westie dogs that travel with us so needed a place that would take pets, the Santa Fe Motel & Inn put us in our own private casita. The casita itself was lovely with 2 queen beds, bathroom with sink outside the bathroom, closet space with small fridge and microwave. Flat screen T.V. The room itself was very nicely decorated with blue and white walls and wooden furniture, just what you would expect of a cool place to stay in Santa Fe. Oh yeah we had our own fenced in patio, the fence was made of jack pine and the back wall was adobe, wrought iron table and chairs it was great to sit outside and wonderful for the dogs. Very quiet, hard to believe you are only 10 minutes from the action.

Most importantly it is a short 10 minute walk to the Plaza of Old Town, lots to see and do there. The cost of the room included a wonderful breakfast for the 2 of us, eggs, fruit, sausage, fresh tortillas, yogurt and more. When we are back in Santa Fe we will certainly stay at this jewel again.

Room Tip: casitas are nice, we did not see the other rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
el paso texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2011

I have stayed at this funky 50's style motel often and have had a great experience each time. It is a totally unpretentious motel in a city where pretense rules. There is a very friendly and accommodating staff, wonderful full breakfast in a charming dining room or courtyard, free WIFI, and typical southwestern decor.
Don't look any further than the SF Motel and Inn when you are in Santa Fe.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
117 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
296 helpful votes 296 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2011

This motel has a board outside advertising its Tripadvisor rating - which is fully justified. The rooms are reasonably large and designed to be full of Southwestern character. There was a good complimentary continental breakfast - the Sheriff's Lady was pleased to note the availbility of proper plates! Moreover, the motel is only about ten minutes walk from the plaza on the edge of the downtown area - and also convenient for the Railyard developments. Parking is obviously difficult in such a historic town and we were really glad to be able leave the car behind for a couple of days and see the sights on foot.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2010

Our stay was a last minute drive to Santa Fe. Went to Santa Fe Motel and Inn to find the nicest guy (Brian) behind the desk, he gave us the best rate we could ask for and answered any questions we had with a smile. GREAT! The room was clean and spacious with large flat screen tv and lots of channels, the bath had lots of shampoo and soaps. Next morning we had the breakfast, which included a scrambled eggs, sausage, green chilies, gourmet breads, hot oatmeal with all sorts of toppings. Need I say more, the breakfast was wonderful with a friendly staff asking if we needed anything else, who could want more, they were great. The motel is located a short walk from the downtown area and also close to the rail area for shopping and restaurants. The sleep was wonderful in a nice king size bed, very quite. Hands down some of the best staff we have ever had the pleasure off dealing with. A great place to stay with nice breakfast and close to downtown. We will return.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Santa Fe Motel and Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Fe Motel and Inn

Address: 510 Cerrillos Road, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#8 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Santa Fe Motel and Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfect Location, Great Value. A charming Motel and Inn with traditional southwestern style. Just a short stroll to the historic Plaza, the exciting Railyard area as well as being convenient to many popular shops and top restaurants.. We also serve a highly regarded complimentary full hot breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Santa Fe Motel and Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Fe Hotel Santa Fe
Santa Fe Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Santa Fe Motel and Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.