We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Campground at a good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rancheros de Santa Fe Campground

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Santa Fe
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rancheros de Santa Fe Campground
736 Old Las Vegas Highway, Exit 290 off 1-25, Santa Fe, NM 87505   |  
Hotel amenities
Montgomery, Alabama
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Excellent Campground at a good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights. Very convenient, several miles outside of Santa Fe. The good thing is that you can drive your RV into Santa Fe and park at a lot in the middle of the city which has RV parking. The workers were incredibly nice and helpful. They have a mini movie theater with movie seating. The pool was a little small but okay by RV campground standings. They also have a 1/2 mile nature trail which goes up above the campground and has good views. Showers were clean and hot water was good, though pressure was a tad low.

Overall an excellent place to stay for adventuring into Santa Fe

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    21
    18
    8
    5
    5
See reviews for
23
16
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Peachtree City, Georgia, United States
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

I went to Santa Fe for two months to look for buried treasure (really). I arrived as soon as the park was open for the season. I was nestled between two work campers. I was a few feet from the bathhouse and office. Wi-Fi was AWESOME. Everyone was super helpful. During my travels I had a chance to go visit many campgrounds between Santa Fe and Colorado. With the exception of one near Lake Heron, none compared to Rancheros (Lake Heron had no Wi-Fi and No Cell Phone Coverage). Rancheros is 8 miles south of Santa Fe and that was no trouble whatsoever. Rancheros is the only place to stay in Santa Fe. Period.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

WOW. We are so happy we found this place. The staff is friendly and helpful. The bathrooms and showers are spotless. They even have a clean dish washing sink with hot and cold water. The wifi throughout the campground is nice.
We were tent camping and we're quite happy with our site, #51, although I wish they would use pea gravel instead of straw for the tent pad bedding. It'll take us awhile to pick all the straw out of our gear. And the picnic table was quite weathered and in need of upgrading. And the tent pads could be a bit more level.
Al in all ... We liked it so much, we extended our stay

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salida, Colorado
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014 via mobile

A good place to stay providing a wide array of amenities and campsites from full hookups to tent only sites. There are even small cabins one can rent. The owners and staff were friendly and helpful. The shower and bath facilities are reasonably clean and everything worked, but are showing signs of aging. During our visit the camground was not crowded-we stayed during the week. The weekends I'm told can be busy. They offer a pool, but was not operational during our stay. The location is relatively close to the main part of town. South from the campground on 285 is trail system were you can hike or mtn. bike-highly recommended. This our second time here and will return.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corrales, New Mexico
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

Very easy on and off I 25 just east of Santa Fe. Really appreciated the 11 am check in with the 22 acres covered in classic pinon, juniper and cacti; great little hiking trail across the top of the property. Typical for a RV campground with clean showers/ restrooms; hook-ups and various options for camping. Again, easy to head into Santa Fe by one of the best roads in, the Old Santa Fe trail that will take you right to the Roundhouse [our capitol] and Paseo de Peralta, that circles downtown. Continuing straight in will bring you right to the Plaza.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

We arrived here about 2 minutes before the office closed. We had booked a tent site but the night was forecasted to be cold and we were tired from a longer than expected drive and later than expected arrival. I asked a couple of questions about the cabins (thinking it might be worth it to upgrade), and despite the fact that they were on the verge of closing the office, they offered to show us a cabin so we could decide if it would suit us. Suit us it did and we changed our reservation on the spot to a cabin. The cabin was lovely with a little table, nice mattresses (bring your own blankets) and some storage to boot. The heater wasn't a match for the low temperatures but it still beat sleeping in a tent, and with our tent heater to help it out we stayed nice and toasty. The bathrooms were clean and the staff was so helpful about everything. Our boys loved running around the place and it really is a beautiful setting. If we ever return to Santa Fe we will stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

This was our first big trip in our 'still being restored' vintage trailer, Naples Florida to Santa Fe NM. I was worried about maneuvering extra long rig but attendant was able to get me through the winding roads to the site with no problem. After 6 days of driving and never really setting up camp it was a joy to finally get the trailer "set up" in such a lovely location. Wife & I are both former Santa Fe'ans and were so happy to find a place with the Santa Fe 'feel'. Clean, pleasant, nice little hiking trail perfect for getting a little blood flow going in the morning while not too strenuous for the non hiker. Only bad thing... The tropical system that had threatened us in Florida actually caught up with us in NM and stayed for the week, lots of rain! Good news, it broke a long standing drought.

Room Tip: I think the sites that are a little tricky to get to are well worth the effort... but they all look...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rancheros de Santa Fe Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rancheros de Santa Fe Campground

Address: 736 Old Las Vegas Highway, Exit 290 off 1-25, Santa Fe, NM 87505
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 21 Specialty lodging in Santa Fe
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Santa Fe, New Mexico's most scenic RV resort and campground. Country camping with full amenities, only minutes from Old Town Santa Fe. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rancheros De Santa Fe Campground Hotel Santa Fe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rancheros de Santa Fe Campground, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Rancheros de Santa Fe Campground to your Saves list