We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value in the heart of a beautiful city” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe to your Saves list
Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   125 Washington Avenue, Santa Fe, NM 87501 (Formerly Hotel Plaza Real) (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Affiliate website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
'Tis the Season-Save 25%
Ranked #23 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Commack, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent value in the heart of a beautiful city”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2010

Conveniently located in the heart of Sante Fe and about 1/2 mile from Canyon Road, the Plaza Real stands out immediately upon entering the lobby. If you are looking for the slick, trendy elegance of the W, this hotel is probably not for you. However, if stepping back in time through architecture that blends perfectly with the surroundings, offers a cozy warm ambiance and is managed by a staff that comes across as family is your aim; then the Plaza Real is an excellent choice.

The rooms, which line a beautiful court yard and are accessible by walkup above the first floor, are comfortable and offer a separate sitting area as well as a wet bar with refrigerator. There is a fire place in the sitting area along with a comfortable sofa and writing desk. The sleeping area which is offset from the sitting room is very comfortable and contains a large exceptionally comfortable bed. The bathroom as well as the remainder of the room was clean and well maintained. Free WiFi is available in the room as well as in the lobby and the lounge.

The staff truly stands out as exceptional. Most respectable hotels can claim competent and well trained, polite staff, but the team at the Plaza Real had that certain something that is hard to put into words. Although I had just met them upon registration I felt like I knew these folks for a long time. They were not only extremely knowledgeable, but genuine and always there to help or offer a suggestion when an inquiry required such. A staff member will come to your room and start a live fire in the fire place within a short period after you make a request with the front desk. I just can't say enough good things about this team.

I live in a heavily populated island off the Northeast Coast of the USA and am used to applying a somewhat calloused and critical criteria to hotel evaluation. In my opinion many hotels are grossly overpriced, and leave a lot left to be desired for your travel dollar. In contrast I'm extremely pleased to serve up such a positive review for the Plaza Real, not only because it is well deserved but because my spouse and I spent Christmas here and it has turned out to be an absolutely wonderful memory.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

604 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    252
    224
    68
    37
    23
See reviews for
103
275
40
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Panhandle TX
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2010

I chose the Hotel Plaza Real for my Christmas get-away. I made the right choice. The Staff, [especially Rachel and Michael] was extremely cordial and made every attempt to accommodate my requests. The location was perfect for my needs. My room was very spacious and quiet and the fireplace in my living room was a real treat. I will surely book this hotel again.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2010

GREAT PLACE TO STAY!!!
The hotel staff was the friendliest, most genuine group of folks you could hope for.
Located 5 mins from town center, quiet and convenient location, and free shuttle.
We stayed in a suite with a fireplace and a king size sleep number bed and slept great.
Big Smiles. We'll be back!
-Joe & Connie in NC

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, CA
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2010

We've stayed here many, many times because of the great location within walking distance of almost everything downtown and the ample free parking. Rooms are nice sized and clean, and the staff are very helpful. I wish they would remodel the rooms to update them and make them less dark. I wouldn't hesitate to continue to stay there, but the rooms could use a facelift.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HPR_Rooms_Manager, Front Office Manager at Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe, responded to this review, December 10, 2010
Thanks for your feedback as it is the only way we can improve. While we have a strong reputation for outstanding service and location, we will utilize your comments as we prepare to update our guest rooms in 2011.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2010

I traveled to Santa Fe for the first (but not last) time for Thanksgiving to meet up with my parents from Houston and my sister, brother in law and nephew from Denver. The accomodations are not luxurious but are quiet adequate and all the staff are very friendly and helpful.

This review is not about the hotel. It's all about Jessie's, the bar/lounge where they have a wood fired brick oven for cooking pizzas along with other tasty items.

The real star of the show is Alex V, my new best friend in Santa Fe. He has been a mixologist for a long time (Google him if you want). He makes his own special bitters/concotions/potions that he blends with other spirits/liquors/wine. Most of the drinks he prepared for me were custom made on the spot and they were all suprising, complex, and very tasty. I could go on and on, but I will just leave it up to you to go and discover it yourself.

There is no formal restaurant yet, but I hear they are planning on adding one above the bar area next year. For now the pizza oven will keep your belly happy.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence, Kansas
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2010

Two hotels are closer to the Plaza, but they are much more expensive. The Plaza Real has no restaurant (coffee in the room and the lobby), so it was wonderful to be able to stroll a short distance to many restaurants, as well as to the museums and shops of central Santa Fe. They do serve food in the bar at night. Our junior suite was on the first floor, by the street, but completely quiet. We liked the fireplace and enjoyed a fire several times. There could be better lighting, but otherwise the rooms are clean, attractively decorated in Santa Fe furniture and art, and comfortable. We had a very functional thermostat and cozy covers. The desk staff were ALL very helpful and congenial, as was Alex, the creative bartender. We used the free wifi a lot. I really liked the indoor/outdoor layout of the place, and the underground parking. I also liked that they accept dogs, not because we had any, but they were nice to see in the lobby. The hotel contributed to our very relaxing five days in Santa Fe.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clovis, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2010

From the friendly staff, the beautiful grounds, the proximity to the Plaza and walking distance to the best restaurants in town, everything about the Plaza Hotel Real exceeded my expectations!
My job requires me to travel a lot. I have stayed in many motels and hotels across the country and I would have to rate the Hotel Plaza Real as one of the best places I have stayed to date. Everyone that works here really goes out of their way to make sure you are comfortable and having a great time. The front desk will make dining reservations for you. Truly high class upscale service, made me feel like a foreign diplomat!!!

From the friendly staff, the beautiful grounds, the proximity to the Plaza and walking distance to the best restaurants in town, everything about the Plaza Hotel Real exceeded my expectations!

Free Starbucks coffee made fresh every morning.
Free firewood for the fireplace in your room (not all rooms have fireplaces.)
The bar in the lobby has fabulous New Mexico style brick oven pizzas that were absolutely delicious.

The only reason I gave the rooms a 3 out of 5 is because they are a little dated but I was informed by the General Manager that they will be remodeling them soon.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe

Address: 125 Washington Avenue, Santa Fe, NM 87501 (Formerly Hotel Plaza Real)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#16 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe 3.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe (previously the Hotel Plaza Real) has just been fully remodeled. This picturesque boutique hotel offers luxurious accommodations with original artwork which celebrates the unique heritage of Chimayo. The enchanting guest room suites feature bancos, fireplaces, private or communal balconies and separate living rooms centered on an open-air plaza patio. Just a short walk from the hotel are some of the most treasured Santa Fe attractions such as the State Capitol, the Palace of the Governors, the striking St. Francis Cathedral Basilica, and the Loretto Chapel, which houses the Miraculous Spiral Staircase. "Hotels supporting cultural causes." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Real Santa Fe
Plaza Real Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.