We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming spot in charming city” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe to your Saves list
Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   125 Washington Avenue, Santa Fe, NM 87501 (Formerly Hotel Plaza Real) (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Affiliate website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
'Tis the Season-Save 25%
Ranked #22 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
NJ
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Charming spot in charming city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2010

On a recent trip to Santa Fe to attend the International Folk Art Festival, a friend and I booked a room at The Hotel Plaza Real on Expedia. We confirmed ahead of time with Expedia that the room would have 2 separate double beds. Upon arriving, there was no such room available. Rachel at the front desk totally understood how neither of we two 50 somethings wanted to sleep on a sofa-sleeper and made arrangements for us to have a wonderful suite, no extra cost. All through our four days at the hotel, the people were friendly, place was clean and very welcoming. It is so close to the plaza and directly across the street from the Palace of Governors. Quiet evenings, safe neighborhood, just a perfect location.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

604 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    252
    224
    68
    37
    23
See reviews for
103
275
40
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Tucson
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2010

Hotel Plaza Real is a great smaller property one-block off of the Historic Plaza in Santa Fe. Older, but clean, with a friendly center courtyard, you will not need to use your car to visit all the major attractions in Central Santa Fe. Understanding that personalized service can be a competitive differentiator, the hotel staff anticipated every need including offering to check airline information and to print e-tickets. The hotel does not have a business center (even on a leisure trip, internet access would be a nice offering), but the front desk will assist you should you need anything. Although no full-service restaurant on site, you are next door to the excellent Anasazi Restaurant and many other local options within a few steps. If you bring heavy luggage, you may want to opt for ground floor as most of the second and third story suites with awesome balconies require climbing narrow stairs. Front porch with a Happy Hour lounge makes a great people-watching spot in the City Different.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Viejo, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2010

We wanted a hotel in downtown Santa Fe and this hotel was a perfect fit for our needs. Great location right in the center of downtown and within walking distance to all area sites, restaurants and shopping. While the hotel itself is older, we found it to be clean, well maintained and quite charming. The staff was excellent, from the front desk at checkin to the other staff that always had a smile.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2010

We were delighted by the location and external appearance but it was downhill from the moment we walked inside.

The reception was unattended and we waited ages for attention - every time we went there.

There is no elevator to take luggage to the upstairs rooms.

The room we were initially given was pleasant enough but there was a low frequency noise, like a big truck parked underneath. It wasn't eased by turning off the (incredibly noisy) airconditioning in our room - which was itself so old and noisy we had to have it turned off whenever we were in the room.

We had to argue to be reallocated another room, which was better, but only just. We think that the problem is the ancient air conditioning system sitting under the upstairs rooms. Just awful - I was woken repeatedly through the night by the painting vibrating against the wall over the head of the bed I was sleeping in - all due to the source of this low frequency noise amazing!

To top all that off, when we went to check out we had to pay again - despite having evidence that the full amount had been prepaid - it seems that the hotel (yes, at least they owned up to this) failed to take the steps to complete the charging that our on-line reservation required to complete the pre-payment we had been told was done.

The hotel needs a very serious updating before I would even think about going back.

You can do better!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HPR_Rooms_Manager, Manager at Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe, responded to this review, July 2, 2010
While ours is a small property, often staff must go down stairs to laundry or maintaince to retrieve tools or supplies requested by guests, then deliver to any of our three stories of rooms. It can be frustrating to other guests with immediate needs, or those just arriving. Hotel Plaza Real is in the center of the "city different," and provides an elevator to three lodging floors, plus the parking garage. Due to preservation of land and older buildings, some rooms are located on a raised courtyard, thus not accessable by the elevator in the main building. We regret any inconvenience due to the 3rd. party reservation system. We endeavor always to be efficient in our response to paperwork and guests. In addition, we have addressed the air conditioning and loose artwork on the wall. Thank you for your time and comments allowing us to elevate our customer service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2010

I ended up at this hotel from hotwire so I had no expectations upon arrival. The room was nice and comfortable. The location is perfect. The hotel is right off the plaza so everything is walkable. The staff, particularly Caitlin in the bar, made the trip. It rained on Friday night so I ended up at the bar. I had such a good time talking with Caitlin and the others I made sure to stop in again on Saturday night. I only allowed for 2 days in Santa Fe which is not enough time to see/do everything. When I return, I will be staying here.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence, Kansas
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2010

This was a nice place. The room was cute, themed perfect for Santa Fe. It was only a short walk to the plaza and shops.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Lunas, New Mexico
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2010

Our stay was very pleasant and the hotel staff were all extremely friendly and helpful. Kevin Herbst made our stay memorable.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe

Address: 125 Washington Avenue, Santa Fe, NM 87501 (Formerly Hotel Plaza Real)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#16 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe 3.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe (previously the Hotel Plaza Real) has just been fully remodeled. This picturesque boutique hotel offers luxurious accommodations with original artwork which celebrates the unique heritage of Chimayo. The enchanting guest room suites feature bancos, fireplaces, private or communal balconies and separate living rooms centered on an open-air plaza patio. Just a short walk from the hotel are some of the most treasured Santa Fe attractions such as the State Capitol, the Palace of the Governors, the striking St. Francis Cathedral Basilica, and the Loretto Chapel, which houses the Miraculous Spiral Staircase. "Hotels supporting cultural causes." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Real Santa Fe
Plaza Real Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.