We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and close to everything” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe to your Saves list
Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   125 Washington Avenue, Santa Fe, NM 87501 (Formerly Hotel Plaza Real) (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Affiliate website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Limited Time - Save 20%
Ranked #25 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Lawrence, Kansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Comfortable and close to everything”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2010

This was a nice place. The room was cute, themed perfect for Santa Fe. It was only a short walk to the plaza and shops.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

657 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    271
    245
    74
    44
    23
See reviews for
109
301
45
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Los Lunas, New Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2010

Our stay was very pleasant and the hotel staff were all extremely friendly and helpful. Kevin Herbst made our stay memorable.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brenham,tx
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2010

We generally stay in chain hotels near the freeway but the plaza in Sante Fe is the main attraction for tourists so we were exicited to find such a nice hotel a few steps from the plaza with a room available. Directly across the street from the Governor's Palace and next door to the famous Inn of the Anazazi, this artistically appointed hotel had a quiet courtyard, cozy and clean rooms, gracious and helpful staff, and inviting lobby. I would especially like to return in the winter. The bar area was inviting, and most appreciated was the fact that your car can be safely parked in the hotel garage. The parking is fee parking but to see all the shopping areas you never have to take the car. A few steps away was the wonderful Burrito Company which had an extensive lunch menu with great prices. I loved the hotel, even the sheets made me feel like I was being pampered. The atmosphere and design reminded me of some of the French Quarter Hotels I have enjoyed. The overall ambience was most delightful. Paula B. Brenham,TX

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
114 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 338 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2010

We had a very pleasant 2 night stay at the boutique hotel while traveling through New Mexico. We found good rates over the internet, the staff was very helpful, both in making our travel plans, as well as during our stay. The rooms are comfortable and clean, and the location is just 2 short blocks to the Plaza. The suite was very spacious. Many restaurants and shops are within a short walking distance and the lounge was a pleasant place to unwind at night.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
62 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2010

I stayed two nights at the Plaza Real, in room 207. The room is a great two-area "suite" without any partition between the sitting area and the sleeping area. It has a little deck that faces a street/parking lot. It has two (old/non-flatscreen) TVs and a nice big, comfy bed. The hotel provides Aveda bath products, which are nice. Room 207's bathroom is rather small, but works fine and has a sink outside the bathroom.

The hotel's best feature is its location, which is right off the central plaza in old Santa Fe. It's perfect for walking to and from shops, restaurants, museums, etc...

The hotel didn't provide much in the way of amenities. Coffee in the lobby in the morning, but breakfast has to be purchased. I didn't eat at the hotel restaurant, but recommend highly Cafe Pasqual's which is a short walk away and FANTASTIC. Parking in the hotel lot cost $14/night. They said there was free high speed internet, but my computer was never able to connect.

The staff was polite and nice. They moved me from a ground level room to an upstairs one, because I did not want my window right on the sidewalk. Room 207 is reached by several sets of stairs, so you should only request it if you can get up and down stairs easily.

I would definitely return to the Hotel Plaza Real!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2010

I have stayed at this hotel at least three times in the past three years. This last visit in early June was the best ever. Carlos checked me in and was most accomodating of my needs. The place is beautiful and clean...so very convenient to the Plaza. I will go back and I will tell friends.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2010

Another hotel was listed as the "recommended" hotel in Santa Fe, however, it was already full. Hotel Plaza Real was the "back-up" accommodation. So glad the other was full. It would have been fine, but this place was much quieter with equally good location. In this case, delaying making the reservations paid off.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
La Fonda on the Plaza
#5 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,413 reviews
Old Santa Fe Inn
#4 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#2 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,229 reviews
Downtown
Drury Plaza Hotel in Santa Fe
Downtown
Inn of the Governors
Inn of the Governors
#12 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe

Address: 125 Washington Avenue, Santa Fe, NM 87501 (Formerly Hotel Plaza Real)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#24 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe 3.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Picturesque Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe, a boutique hotel, offers luxurious accommodations with original artwork which celebrates the unique heritage of Chimayo. The enchanting guest room suites feature bancos, fireplaces, private or communal balconies and separate living rooms centered on an open-air plaza patio. Just a short walk from the hotel are some of the most treasured Santa Fe attractions such as the State Capitol, the Palace of the Governors, the striking St. Francis Cathedral Basilica, and the Loretto Chapel, which houses the Miraculous Spiral Staircase. "Hotels supporting cultural causes." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Real Santa Fe
Plaza Real Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.