We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe

Save Saved
You added Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   125 Washington Avenue, Santa Fe, NM 87501 (Formerly Hotel Plaza Real) (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Affiliate website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Exclusive offer-Save 15%
Ranked #24 of 60 hotels in Santa Fe
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

My sister-in-law and I visit Santa Fe every year, and this hotel is the only place we will ever stay. The staff is very friendly, the rooms are luxurious but not overly expensive, and the location can't be beat. We absolutely love this hotel and can't recommend it highly enough!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jesse W, Front Office Manager at Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Angelasnapp,
Thank you so much for you wonderful comments! We are very pleased to have you as our loyal guests, and look forward to your next stay with us!

Sincerely,
Jesse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

575 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    234
    215
    66
    36
    24
See reviews for
99
262
38
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Tularosa, New Mexico
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

The location of Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe can't be beat! The staff are very friendly, the rooms clean and well appointed. The ambiance is very nice. The rooms open on to a nice courtyard and are very quiet. Definitely will stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jesse W, Front Office Manager at Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear percyqh55,
Thank you so much for taking the time you review your stay with us! I am very glad you enjoyed your accommodations. We are proud of the costumer service we provide, so I am happy to hear the staff reflected that in their service to you. We look forward to your next visit with us!

Sincerely,
Jesse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

There could not be a better location in Santa Fe. Located in the center of things, you never need use of a car. Actually the traffic congestion is a bit overwhelming, so stay on foot or bike. The staff could not be friendlier, including there affection toward my dog. yes, they allow dogs, with a fee, but nothing outrageous.

My room was on the street level, which I thought would be an issue, but it was not. The only thing was, I could not really open the curtains, as people were walking by. The decor was Santa Fe, as expected. There televisions, well let's just say they were not flat screens. My room entered through a beautiful courtyeard, had a small table and chair, and did have a small living room too. Yes dogs are allowed, however, there was some barking going on. My dog is pretty quiet, but when other dogs start, it was a bit of a drag. This was not an issue in the evening at all though. A few drawbacks: VERY small bathroom and no coffee in am. When I say small bathroom, I mean small for one person.

there is no restaurant, however, a great bar connected and they have a wonderful front porch where you can enjoy food and drink. Additionally, the dog was permitted in both these areas. A huge plus.

I would stay here again! I have stayed at the El Dorardo in the past, and liked this much more! The El Dorado was more of a conventiony type hotel. This was much more enjoyable. I should also mentioned, I used hotels tonight app. to obtain this room at an amazing rate. If your willing to wait until noon the day of stay, it is a great deal. I stayed an extra day, and they gave me the same rate without reserving it again on the site. Very nice.

Room Tip: You may want to stay on an upper floor to enjoy view??
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jesse W, Front Office Manager at Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear jbmissner,
I'm so glad you found the location of our hotel to be convenient for your travel needs. Costumer service is very important to us so we appreciate your feedback and I will address your suggestion immediately. We are currently working on most of the concerns you expressed so the next time you stay with us we hope it exceeds your expectations. We are proudly a dog friendly hotel and I am so glad you found the public areas a nice option to enjoy yourself with your dog! I'm glad you found a good rate and we look forward to your next visit with us!

Thank you,
Jesse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seguin, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed at Hotel Chimayo in June for a business trip, and this was my third time staying here. The rooms are not spectacular, but they are spacious and decorated in the spirit of the southwest. It is a great value, especially for State or Federal employees - be sure to ask about the government rate - they honor the US per diem scale, which is wonderful.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jesse W, Front Office Manager at Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Katie S.
Thank you so much for sharing your feedback on your stay with us. I am glad you were able to utilize our great government rate and that you enjoyed the accommodations. We hope to see you again soon!

Thank you,
Jesse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The hotel was friendly and so were the staff. Nathan, front desk, gave us a complimentary upgraded room and it was amazingly spacious. The beds were very comfortable. Andrew, porter, brought our luggage to our room and was kind and very social. Whenever we asked for assistance the response was quick and helpful. The only items we suggest giving attention are the bathroom faucets and windows.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jesse W, Front Office Manager at Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Carriepitkin,
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay with us. We appreciate your feedback and are currently in the process of replacing the windows and faucets. I am so glad the staff treated you well and that enjoyed the accommodations. We hope to see you again soon!

Thank you,
Jesse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
259 reviews 259 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
246 helpful votes 246 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

When we go to Santa Fe, we stay in town about a week prior to staying at a spa outside the town, to be able to walk to most of the attractions and dine at the downtown restaurants.

This was our first visit to the Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe and we were so pleased we will return next year.

We have stayed in many Santa Fe hotels, from the most costly to a few moderately priced ones. Although most have good service, there are things that set this hotel apart.

First, it is the location. You cannot get a better location in Santa Fe. The downtown square steps away.

Second, there is convenient underground parking (complimentary). Santa Fe downtown is one of the most difficult towns to find a place to park, so this is a real amenity.

Third, there is a spacious veranda at the front of the hotel with many comfortable chairs and tables where you can relax and read or enjoy a beverage from the bar. Weather in Santa Fe is unpredictable and, as an example, this year in late July there was a thunderstorm complete with lightening and a downpour of rain: pea sized hail covered the ground. Sitting on the veranda was the perfect place to stay dry and watch the storm pass.

Fourth, there are shuttles that take guests to other areas of town and shuttles to and from the opera. Not all hotels offer this service. ***By the way, do not miss the Santa Fe Opera***

We always stay in DOG FRIENDLY hotels, whether or not we travel with our dogs. This is a DOG FRIENDLY HOTEL. Many in Santa Fe are not.

The staff is friendly and eager to help, from suggestions on places to go, restaurants, etc.

The bar is lively at night, but the music does not reach the rooms. They offer a wide selection of locally brewed beers.

Soon there should be a new restaurant upstairs from the bar, with a patio and a view of downtown.

Rooms are spacious and the decor is the Santa Fe adobe. The beds, linens and pillows are top notch. Note: the tv's do not have a dvd player.

We thoroughly enjoyed our 7 night stay and plan to return next year.

Room Tip: Elevator access is limited in several areas due to the historic structure. There are a few rooms whe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin,tx
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

The hotel is immediately off of the square in SF. If you can walk another 100 feet you will save some money. The rooms are nice New Mexico style. Some criticism is that TV's are old. That did not bother me because I did not come to SF to sit in my room and watch TV. I did enjoy the decor, the friendliness of the staff and the convenient location. Parking at $18 /day is a little rough on the budget, but that is what hotels charge. The bathroom in our suite was on the small side. The bedroom was very plush, the bed very comfortable and the decorticating left no doubt you were in New Mexico. If you want super luxury, go next door - just don't forget to bring your wallet. Otherwise, this hotel represents a good value in a destination city.

Room Tip: The air conditioning is a central system. If you are hot, turn the thermostat way down. It does n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jesse W, Front Office Manager at Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Austin720,
Thank you so much for your recent stay with us at Hotel Chimayo, and the feedback on your experience. We are glad you enjoyed the decor of our New Mexico themed rooms, and the great location near the Plaza. We hope to see you the next time you visit Santa Fe!

Thank you,
Jesse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe

Address: 125 Washington Avenue, Santa Fe, NM 87501 (Formerly Hotel Plaza Real)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#19 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe (previously the Hotel Plaza Real) has just been fully remodeled. This picturesque boutique hotel offers luxurious accommodations with original artwork which celebrates the unique heritage of Chimayo. The enchanting guest room suites feature bancos, fireplaces, private or communal balconies and separate living rooms centered on an open-air plaza patio. Just a short walk from the hotel are some of the most treasured Santa Fe attractions such as the State Capitol, the Palace of the Governors, the striking St. Francis Cathedral Basilica, and the Loretto Chapel, which houses the Miraculous Spiral Staircase. "Hotels supporting cultural causes." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotel.de, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Real Santa Fe
Plaza Real Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.