We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfort in the Plaza” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe to your Saves list
Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   125 Washington Avenue, Santa Fe, NM 87501 (Formerly Hotel Plaza Real) (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Affiliate website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
'Tis the Season-Save 25%
Ranked #23 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Comfort in the Plaza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

We had a mix-up on the date of our last night in our Santa Fe Vacation Rental and needed a nice hotel room quickly. We booked at Hotel De Chimayo over Hotwire. When I read the very mixed reviews, I was apprehensive. But we were very pleased with this historic hotel near the Plaza. Here's the deal: if you want a hotel that feels sharp, new and modern--meaning large bathrooms, flat screen TV, new furniture and clean lines, sparkling and light airiness, etc. then this is not your hotel. This hotel, however, has more than adequate beds (clean, comfortable with good bedding), cozy decor, enough room (we had a small suite) and appealing color scheme. The location is fabulous, the staff very warm and helpful and to top it off there is access to a parking garage for 16$ a night. My family was very pleased and more than comfortable. If you want a bit of history, comfort, an incredible location and you don't mind that the decor isn't completely modern, this is a wonderful place and a very good deal.

Room Tip: I would get a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jesse W, Front Office Manager at Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Doran S,
I am so glad you enjoyed your recent stay with us! We appreciate your feedback, and are looking at ways to update our accommodations while staying in our northern New Mexico theme. We hope to see you again at Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe!

Thank you,
Jesse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

605 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    224
    68
    37
    23
See reviews for
103
275
40
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Falls Church, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

We loved this hotel. The rooms were beautifully decorated and the beds super comfortable. There was nothing we could have asked for more. We went for breakfast to Ecco Espresso which is one block away. For dinner we went to the Shed, also just one block away. This hotel is in the perfect location!

Room Tip: We stayed in a suite, King room below and two Queens above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jesse W, Front Office Manager at Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Dear soschia,
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at Hotel Chimayo. We are very glad you enjoyed your visit, and we hope to see you on your next visit to Santa Fe!

Sincerely,
Jesse W.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

I stayed in a large one bedroom suite on the third floor of the main building, with elevator access. As noted by other reviewers, the hotel's major selling point is its central location, half a block off the plaza. Apart from its location, and a pleasant staff, there is not much favorable to say about the place. It is badly in need of a major updating, cleaning and refurbishing. The fixtures, furnishing and equipment in the guest room were not quirky or quaint or intentionally styled in some ersatz "chimayo" manner as management responses to reviewer entries would have you believe. Everything was old, battered, soiled, stained and generally unclean. Leather chairs and sofas in the main living room were badly stained and soiled, so badly so that you're uncomfortable sitting on them without first covering them. Carpeting was dirty (several large dead wasps or other insects strewn about the floor and not vacuumed). Room had a constant musty odor. Neatly folded washcloth in bathtub area was soiled on arrival. Drapes were hard to open and close. TV in bedroom is a 20 year old cathode ray relic that is nearly unwatchable (living room has an updated flat screen TV). There is no safe in the room to protect valuables, no equipment in the kitchenette (just lots of empty cabinets everywhere), soap in the bathroom is 1.5 inch square and approximately 1/16 of an inch deep. Bed ruffle was dirty, all furniture was scuffed and battered (from overuse, not to achieve a design theme). There was inadequate and poorly located outlets to recharge phones, tablets, etc. Parking in the garage was often full- leave at your own peril if you want a spot when you return. Staff is pleasant and cheerful and location is very convenient for downtown access and walking. Apart from that, however, this is a two star motel in a five star location. There are better choices elsewhere in Santa Fe at the same, cheaper and/or more expensive price points.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jesse W, Front Office Manager at Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear ajmia111,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us in Santa Fe. I am glad to hear the costumer service and location was good, but I'm so sorry about all the inconveniences and issues you encountered during your stay. We are looking into all the items you mentioned and are working on fixing them. If you return to Santa Fe we hope you will consider giving Hotel Chimayo another chance to make it up to you.

Sincerely,
Jesse W.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Day 7 / 8 two day stop.
The hotel was very nice clean with very spacious room. We needed to go out for breakfast so went down the road a couple of yards and found the place that did a bacon and egg burrito which was great value for money and tasted great.
After our day of shooting and looking around the town we went of for a meal and then came back to the bar Low and Slow for a night cap.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan C, Interactive Marketing Coordinator at Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Hi Alan H,

Thanks for taking time to review your recent stay with us in Santa Fe. We like to make guests feel comfortable, and we're glad you enjoyed your visit! I hope you had a great trip along Route 66 and stay with us again on your next trip to Santa Fe!

Yours,
Susan C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Adams
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

The hotel's web site offers, "Tia's Cocina New Mexican Restaurant," but that's a big NOPE. For breakfast we were directed to walk a block to the corner of the park in the square, cross the park, go down that street 5-6 blocks to a breakfast place. Not too convenient when you just want to tank up for the day. (On the other hand, breakfast at Tia Sophia's was more than ample and service was quick and friendly.)

We reserved an Oratorio King Suite ... okay, there was a king-size bed that fulfilled that description - wall to wall ... but otherwise the "suite" was small and felt like a makeover of an older hotel, which is probably the case. The bathroom was so small that toweling off in the bathroom after a shower was impossible for me (I'm 6'4": so no surprise there, really).

The staff was very, very friendly and solicitous (as was everyone else in Santa Fe) but with respect to their web site advertising a non-existent restaurant? "Well, we told them to change that." Hm.

We wouldn't stay here again.

Room Tip: Our room *was as far from the front desk and elevator as possible, so that was a plus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jesse W, Front Office Manager at Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear Albert14151,
Thank you so much for your feedback. I'm so sorry the website was misleading with the restaurant information. Since you stayed with us we have updated our website to reflect the closer of the restaurant. I'm glad you were able to find a good restaurant for breakfast, but as you mentioned there are closer locations we could recommend as well. If you do choose to give Hotel Chimayo another chance to make it up to you, please let me know and I will be happy to make sure you are in a room to better accommodate you.

Thank you,
Jesse W.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin Texas
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

We found the Hotel Chimayo at the last moment on Hotels tonight app and I got an awesome rate. It is located in the heart of the historic downtown. We were within walking distance of almost everything! the only surprise we had was we found out the we were on the second floor and I had to drag the suitcases up one flight of stairs. I would have given a 5 star rating but the suitcases were not easy to get to the room. The advantage of being on the second story is our room had a small patio that was perfect for viewing the night skies. Front desk was friendly and most helpful and there is a small bar just off the lobby. There is a parking garage so your vehicle will not be out on the street overnight.

Room Tip: 1st floor no stairs but you dont get a balcony, second floor has stairs but you DO get a balcony. Ch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jesse W, Front Office Manager at Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear lornem,
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay with us at Hotel Chimayo. I'm very glad it was easy to book and you enjoyed your accommodations. The way our property is designed we do have many rooms that require stairs. For your next visit with us, if you would like the balcony, let us know and we would be happy to assist you with your luggage to your room. We do have someone here 24 hours to help. We hope to see you again soon!

Thank you,
Jesse W.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

My wife and I have stayed at this hotel many, many times. It used to be called Plaza Real. We always enjoyed it because of excellent service and great location. This trip, however, was very disappointing.

Upon check-in we learned that the hotel's restaurant was closed and had been for sometime. Their website still shows they have a restaurant. Strike 1!

The hotel has its own parking garage, which is a real plus (even at $16 per night) because downtown Santa Fe parking is terrible. Upon returning to the hotel on the second night, we find the parking garage full! When we complained, we were told that they were sorry, but that the staff also used the garage and there are only 42 spaces available and we would have to find a place on the street. Strike 2!

The hotel bar had such a bad guitarist/singer that we had drinks next door rather than endure the sound. The guy had his guitar case on the floor like a street entertainer working for tips. I don't mind tipping good entertainment, but this was very unprofessional. Strike 3!

Oh, and the towels were very worn.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jesse W, Front Office Manager at Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear jogjr,
Thank you for your reviewing your stay with us. I apologize for the issues you encountered during your visit. We are looking to resolve these as soon as possible. We have updated the restaurant information on our website to reflect the closer. As far as the parking procedure, I'm so sorry you were not given an alternative when the lot was full. We do have a procedure that ensures the guests never have to deal with street, or any other parking while staying with us, and I will follow up why that was not offered to you. It is absolutely not OK for the employees to be taking up spaces in the garage and we are implementing new procedures on monitoring this. We do have a new bar manager that is making lots of positive changes in the Low 'n Slow Bar as far as entertainment. We appreciate your feedback and if you ever want to give Hotel Chimayo another chance, we would love the opportunity to make it up to you.

Thank you,
Jesse W.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe

Address: 125 Washington Avenue, Santa Fe, NM 87501 (Formerly Hotel Plaza Real)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#16 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe 3.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe (previously the Hotel Plaza Real) has just been fully remodeled. This picturesque boutique hotel offers luxurious accommodations with original artwork which celebrates the unique heritage of Chimayo. The enchanting guest room suites feature bancos, fireplaces, private or communal balconies and separate living rooms centered on an open-air plaza patio. Just a short walk from the hotel are some of the most treasured Santa Fe attractions such as the State Capitol, the Palace of the Governors, the striking St. Francis Cathedral Basilica, and the Loretto Chapel, which houses the Miraculous Spiral Staircase. "Hotels supporting cultural causes." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Real Santa Fe
Plaza Real Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.