We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't beat the location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe to your Saves list
Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   125 Washington Avenue, Santa Fe, NM 87501 (Formerly Hotel Plaza Real) (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Affiliate website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
'Tis the Season-Save 25%
Ranked #23 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Can't beat the location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

A very nice smaller hotel right near the square. This is a short walk to Canyon Road and the great galleries. Also very convenient to the museums and top rated restaurants. The staff is extraordinarily nice and very accommodating. Some of the rooms have lovely fire places that they will make a nice fire for you. Would definitely stay there again!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Max H, General Manager at Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Dear M M,
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback on your most recent stay with us at the Hotel Chimayo. I am so happy to hear that the staff took good care of you and that you have found your hotel of choice when visiting Santa Fe. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the not so distant future.

Sincerely,
Max
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

605 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    224
    68
    37
    23
See reviews for
103
275
40
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

A very cute and not overpriced hotel just off the plaza in Santa Fe. Funkiest thing are all the crosses about the room: on the wall, framed photos... No coffee at the bar; otherwise, once little bar with a jazz duo, No restaurant at the hotel, but that isn't missed, as there are so many around the plaza and surrounding area. Great breakfast at Tia Sofia. Evangelino's bar nearby. The Shed for fish tacos.... A very enjoyable hotel. Free wi-fi

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Max H, General Manager at Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Dear creative_iatrogenist,
Thank you for staying with us. The Hotel Chimayo and the décor reflect the town of Chimayo.
A lot of the décor for the rooms and lobby have been all been made by hand at Chimayo. I am glad that you enjoyed Low and Slow. I am apologize that the restaurant was not open for your visit this time but hope to have it back open soon. I look forward to welcoming you back to the Heritage Hotels and the Hotel Chimayo on your next visit to Santa Fe.

Sincerely,
Max
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay last weekend at Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe! The hotel is conveniently located just off the Plaza on Washington Ave. There are loads of charming shops to visit, restaurants to grab a bite to eat and beautiful scenery - all within walking distance of this hotel. We stayed in Room 124 - Deluxe King Suite. This room had a separate living area with a fireplace and wetbar with small refrigerator. There is a couch and a chair with an end table and a coffee table. The bed was very comfy with LOTS of pillows - which we loved! The vanity area (hairdryer in the cabinet) is separate from the shower/toilet room -- which was nice. In our room, the door to the toilet room was hard to shut (maintenance may want to check this out) There is also a small closet off the vanity area. There is a nice armoire with a tv in both the bedroom and the living room. There was no dresser, but the armoire in the living room had two drawers (maybe the hotel should consider switching the armoires around in this particular room). There were only TWO drawbacks to Room 124...the bedroom windows face the employee smoking area for the hotel and also it backs up to a shopping area parking lot. The employees talking outside your window can freak you out a bit and the daily trash truck pickup of the dumpster in the shopping area parking lot at oh-my-God-thirty in the morning was not too pleasant. HOWEVER, with that said - I wouldn't hesitate to stay at this hotel again, even in Room 124. Also, if you want soda -- bring it with you! There's a snack machine, but no soda machine - which is kind of odd. The staff at the hotel was extremely friendly and very helpful. Want a fire in your fireplace -- call the front desk. Between 3pm & 10pm - a houseman will deliver wood into your room and light the fire for you! Parking on-site is super easy. I think it was $15.00/day. It's underneath the hotel, so your vehicle is protected from the elements. There is an elevator to take you and your luggage to the lobby. The Low Rider Bar off the lobby is a nice little place. Drink prices were reasonable & the bartenders were friendly. Nice crowd of folks and never got too loud. There is a nice porch on the front of the hotel. I'm sure it would be wonderful on a warm summer night, but it was just too cold to sit out there on our trip. We would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Max H, General Manager at Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe, responded to this review, April 12, 2014
Dear mrsbip,
Thank you for staying with Heritage Hotels and The Hotel Chimayo. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for bringing up the issue regarding the employees smoking outside of your window. I have addressed this with the General Manager of the hotel next door. I have been told that this issue has been address. I am glad that you also had a good time at our Low Rider Bar. I look forward to you next visit to Santa Fe and your future stay back with us.

Sincerely,
Max
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

We had a great weekend at the Chimayo! Staff is excellent, especially Jordan at the Front Desk, so friendly and gave great recommendations for all things Santa Fe. The hotel is beautiful, very clean and you cannot beat the location. I loved being able to park the car and leave it until it was time to check-out! I was a bit worried about the noise being close to the plaza and with a bar in the hotel but we slept great!! All the pillows on the beds are a nice touch, the beds were so very comfortable and wonderfully clean. There are tons of great restaurants and things to do within a 5 minute walk. I have stayed at many hotels, including recently at the Sheraton in another NM city and the service here is far better! We are already planning our next trip to Santa Fe and will be staying here again and again. Thank You Chimayo Staff

Room Tip: Double room have stairs but that was not a problem for us. Just good to know if you have any issues...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Max H, General Manager at Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Dear KarlaSmartTraveler,

Thank your staying with us and choosing Heritage Hotels and The Hotel Chimayo for your last visit to Santa Fe. I am glad that you found your current and future hotel of choice when visiting Santa Fe. I have shared your kind words with Jordan at the front desk. We do focus on trying to deliver the best service that we can, and I am glad that met yours expectations.
We look forward to welcoming back to The Hotel Chimayo for your next visit to Santa Fe.

Sincerely,
Max
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paso Robles Wine Region, California
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

Great location around the corner from the plaza. Pleasantly surprised and will return again. We were given two rooms; one on the first floor and one on the second floor, connected by an interior staircase.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Max H, General Manager at Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear Hastingsranch,

I am glad that you enjoyed your visit with us. I am happy that we were able to get you’re your two rooms close together and that you plan on visiting us again for you next visit to Santa Fe. We look forward to having you have at the Hotel Chimayo and Heritage hotels.

Sincerely,
Max
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

This was one of my favorite hotel stays ever. The Hotel Chimayo is just around the corner from the main downtown plaza. It is easy walking distance to museums, galleries, restaurants, historic buildings. The hotel building is beautiful and all rooms open onto a cobblestoned courtyard decorated with hanging bunches of chilis. Our room was appointed beautifully complete with fireplace. The bed was very comfortable and the room was loaded with every amenity you might need like hair dryer and iron. The front desk personnel recommended The Blue Corn Cafe for dinner, which we really enjoyed for New Mexican cuisine. I will definitely recommend this hotel and return here on my next visit to Santa Fe.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Max H, General Manager at Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear OregonLilac,

Thank you for staying with us. I am so glad to hear that you have found your new hotel of choice. I am glad that the recommendation for dinner was what you expected and that you found everything to be in walking distance. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit with us.

Sincerely,
Max
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oro Valley, Arizona
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

Great location by the Plaza, comfy bed and so cute with all the Rista's hanging off the hotel.
Only spent one night and could of easily stayed for more. The check in process was quick and they were very friendly. Parking is under the hotel and was $14 a night. Would recommend.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Max H, General Manager at Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear Polette G,

Thank you for staying with Heritage Hotels and the Hotel Chimayo. I am so glad that you enjoyed your visit. We look forward to welcoming you back in the not so distant future.
Sincerely,
Max
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe

Address: 125 Washington Avenue, Santa Fe, NM 87501 (Formerly Hotel Plaza Real)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#16 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe 3.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe (previously the Hotel Plaza Real) has just been fully remodeled. This picturesque boutique hotel offers luxurious accommodations with original artwork which celebrates the unique heritage of Chimayo. The enchanting guest room suites feature bancos, fireplaces, private or communal balconies and separate living rooms centered on an open-air plaza patio. Just a short walk from the hotel are some of the most treasured Santa Fe attractions such as the State Capitol, the Palace of the Governors, the striking St. Francis Cathedral Basilica, and the Loretto Chapel, which houses the Miraculous Spiral Staircase. "Hotels supporting cultural causes." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Real Santa Fe
Plaza Real Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.