We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of my favorite hotels anywhere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe

Save Saved
You added Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   125 Washington Avenue, Santa Fe, NM 87501 (Formerly Hotel Plaza Real) (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Affiliate website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Exclusive offer-Save 15%
Ranked #24 of 60 hotels in Santa Fe
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“One of my favorite hotels anywhere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

This was one of my favorite hotel stays ever. The Hotel Chimayo is just around the corner from the main downtown plaza. It is easy walking distance to museums, galleries, restaurants, historic buildings. The hotel building is beautiful and all rooms open onto a cobblestoned courtyard decorated with hanging bunches of chilis. Our room was appointed beautifully complete with fireplace. The bed was very comfortable and the room was loaded with every amenity you might need like hair dryer and iron. The front desk personnel recommended The Blue Corn Cafe for dinner, which we really enjoyed for New Mexican cuisine. I will definitely recommend this hotel and return here on my next visit to Santa Fe.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Max H, General Manager at Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear OregonLilac,

Thank you for staying with us. I am so glad to hear that you have found your new hotel of choice. I am glad that the recommendation for dinner was what you expected and that you found everything to be in walking distance. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit with us.

Sincerely,
Max
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

575 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    234
    215
    66
    36
    24
See reviews for
99
262
38
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Oro Valley, Arizona
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

Great location by the Plaza, comfy bed and so cute with all the Rista's hanging off the hotel.
Only spent one night and could of easily stayed for more. The check in process was quick and they were very friendly. Parking is under the hotel and was $14 a night. Would recommend.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Max H, General Manager at Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear Polette G,

Thank you for staying with Heritage Hotels and the Hotel Chimayo. I am so glad that you enjoyed your visit. We look forward to welcoming you back in the not so distant future.
Sincerely,
Max
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

We came across the Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe when searching for an affordable, charming, hotel within walking distance to downtown. We found a hidden gem! The hotel made us feel like we were truly in Santa Fe and will definitely stay again.

Room Tip: The on-site restaurant was "on hiatus" during our March stay - but there are so many withi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrian V, General Manager at Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Dear NL2003Ariz,
Thank you for your kind words. I am happy to hear that you have found your hotel to stay at when visiting the city different. I look forward to your next visit with us.
Sincerely,
Max Hirano
Regional Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clovis, New Mexico
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

We've stayed here four times and always enjoy the Chimayo. The staff is friendly and helpful. Location is perfect for the tourist - near the square. The "bar scene" is good and still not too loud to keep you awake in your room. When rooms are discounted, it is a deal. Great decor and many have great space to relax. Parking is extra $$ but under the hotel and easy access.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrian V, General Manager at Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Dear Bruce B,
I want to thank you for your most recent review. I am so glad to hear that you are a many time repeat guest with us. Thank you for your kind comments regarding the staff. Low and Slow our bar is truly unique to the low rider culture. I look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit with us.
Sincerely,
Max Hirano
Regional Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

We travel with our dogs. We went to the hotel next door to Chimayo and they wanted $50 per dog! I ran next door to Chimayo and they only charge $10!! We decided to give it a try and we were so happy we did. The decor of the whole place is beautiful. The staff is friendly and knowledgeable about Santa Fe and things to see and do. You can walk to the plaza and shops and restaurants. Our room looked out over a courtyard. This hotel is wonderful and affordable and right in the heart of downtown Santa Fe. They have underground security parking too, which they do charge for and they didn't mention that when we checked in, but that is my only negative thing. Otherwise top notch!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrian V, General Manager at Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Dear Kathleen,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Or Décor for the hotel is based on the Village of Chimayo and most of all the items found in the lobby and in the rooms come from Chimayo. We pride ourselves on guest service and I am glad to hear that that the staff was friendly and knowledgeable about Santa Fe. I am sorry that you were not told about the $16.00 nightly parking fee. I have made sure to address this will the staff. We look forward to welcoming you back to Chimayo or one of our other Heritage Hotels in the not so distant future.
Sincerely,
Max Hirano
Regional Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014 via mobile

Attentive staff, clean,refurbished rooms, had a delightful 3 night stay for well under the budget of any other hotel we've stayed in SF...one block off Plaza! We'll definatly be back again..jes,Midland, tx

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan C, Interactive Marketing Coordinator at Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Hi joyce s,

Thank you so much for taking some time to let us know about your visit to Hotel Chimayo! Our staff prides themselves on making every guest comfortable. We look forward to your return visit!

Yours,
Susan C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

I loved everything about Hotel Chimayo! The location was accessible to many different things downtown- from the plaza to restaurants and shops! The hotel itself was really neat as well, very unique to Santa Fe in the layout and decor. It's almost set up as little villas which make it even more enjoyable as you really experience Santa Fe as opposed to a cookie-cutter hotel. The staff was so helpful as well, very friendly and very accommodating! I visited Santa Fe for the first time with my boyfriend and stayed at the hotel in the winter and we plan to return in the summer!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan C, Interactive Marketing Coordinator at Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Hi Noha E,

Thanks so much for letting us know about your stay with us! We also like how close we are to so many wonderful places in Santa Fe. And, we are grateful to the many local artists who have helped create our unique look. I'll pass along your praise to our staff, and we hope you are able to come back this summer and see us again.

Yours,
Susan C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe

Address: 125 Washington Avenue, Santa Fe, NM 87501 (Formerly Hotel Plaza Real)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#19 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe (previously the Hotel Plaza Real) has just been fully remodeled. This picturesque boutique hotel offers luxurious accommodations with original artwork which celebrates the unique heritage of Chimayo. The enchanting guest room suites feature bancos, fireplaces, private or communal balconies and separate living rooms centered on an open-air plaza patio. Just a short walk from the hotel are some of the most treasured Santa Fe attractions such as the State Capitol, the Palace of the Governors, the striking St. Francis Cathedral Basilica, and the Loretto Chapel, which houses the Miraculous Spiral Staircase. "Hotels supporting cultural causes." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotel.de, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Real Santa Fe
Plaza Real Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.