We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience in Santa Fe.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe

Save Saved
You added Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   125 Washington Avenue, Santa Fe, NM 87501 (Formerly Hotel Plaza Real) (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Affiliate website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Exclusive offer-Save 15%
Ranked #27 of 60 hotels in Santa Fe
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience in Santa Fe.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

We have vacationed in Santa Fe at least two times a year since 1991. It was our first stay at this hotel. I have an elderly dog and was looking for something close to the plaza and easy for my dog to get around but required a nice experience for my husband and I. We booked hotel chimayo based on the location and the website information. I called the hotel and spoke to Alex. She was extremely helpful and gave me a detailed description of the property and how it would accommodate us and my dog. She helped us figure out which room would be the best for us. Upon arrival, we were so pleased with the lobby and especially the courtyard. We had a small table and chairs outside our door for morning coffee. The room was a mission suite and was great. The bed was comfortable, the living room had a dining table, coffee table and banco seating plus a fireplace. You call the front desk and they send someone to start the fire for you. Oscar started our fires and was so friendly and added to the quaintness of the whole experience. We were so happy there. We wish the bathroom was a little larger but it is an historic building so we don't complain. We could not have been happier with our stay. The staff and the property are wonderful plus you are less than a block from the plaza.
I've read some of the complaints on this site and most are because it is a historic building and not as modern as new buildings. But if you want modern buildings then stay at holiday inn and leave the cultural and historic experiences for those of us who appreciate it. This is a wonderful facility and a beautiful experience of the New Mexican heritage.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrian V, Front Office Manager at Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Kim H,

Our staff here at the Hotel Chimayo would like to thank you for your lovely feedback. We are all glad that you and your family enjoyed your time here in Santa Fe. We are also glad that your dog was satisfied with the room. I would also like to add how much I enjoyed your review. You are right, our hotel is not as modern as the "Holiday Inn" or any other chain hotel but we do offer a unique and culturally inspired experience without sacrificing any of the comforts that you might come to expect from a high end hotel. Alex, Oscar and our entire staff are looking forward to welcoming you back to Santa Fe during your next visit. Again, thank you for sharing your experience.

Warm Regards,

Adrian J. Velarde
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

566 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    227
    213
    66
    36
    24
See reviews for
95
259
37
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Great location and clean but definitely not worth the price. Our room was near the back up on the second floor and so it was nice and quiet but very small. I selected this hotel because of it's location and because I had read that is was charmingly quaint. What I wasn't expecting were old dingy towels/ linens (they were clean) and no toiletries in the room. Would have loved to used the fireplace but there were no kindling or matches available plus as small as the room was we would probably had to sleep with the doors open as the window wouldn't open. The front desk staff was very nice but management really needs to seriously think about upgrading their rooms if they are going to charge almost $200 for them. Planned on staying 2 nights but left after a very disappointing first night.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrian V, Front Office Manager at Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear Mahmaven,

Thank very much for taking the time to share your feedback. We are glad to here that you enjoyed that your room was nice and quiet. About our fireplaces, we do have staff dedicated to starting fires and refilling wood, all guests need to do is call the front desk to request a fire. I do apologize if our staff did not communicate that with you. We will work diligently to ensure that we communicate this to our guests in the future.

If you decide to visit Santa Fe again please let us welcome you back and make things right.

Sincerely,

Adrian J. Velarde
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grapevine, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

My husband and I just returned from Sante Fe. We stayed 3 nights at the Chimayo. The location was fine, as we were just about 1/2 block from the square. The hotel was clean and so was our room. Our complaint was the size of the room. Don't be fooled by the photos. We stayed in a Mission suite. The bedroom part was large, but the bathroom was extremely small. The living area was also small. We wanted to use the fireplace one evening, but the room was so small, that it would have been way too hot. The furniture in the living area is really just a stucco bench with a cushion. (Extremely uncomfortable!! ) We were on the first floor on the side street. It was very noisy with the trash trucks early in the morning. The noise from upstairs woke us very early one morning. You can hear every step from overhead. The room served it's purpose, just don't expect too much.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrian V, Front Office Manager at Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
sandyma2013,

I would like to start off by thanking you for choosing our hotel for your vacation. I would also like to personally apologize for any inconveniences you may have encountered during your stay. Our goal is to ensure that all our guests are pleased and satisfied with our service, property and guest rooms.

We do offer thee largest rooms in the downtown area and I am sure that next time we would be more than happy to accommodate you with our Junior or Presidential Suite. If you are ever in the area we would love it if you stopped by so that we can give you a property tour to find the guest room that suits your needs.

Sincerely,

Adrian J. Velarde
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Santa Fe is the highest capital city in America. It is a lovely, small, very quaint city. The interesting specialty shops, cafés, restaurants etc are laid out around the main square. The streets are narrow with little space for cars to park. The lamp posts have flower baskets, everything is tastefully done. I haven't seen anything this nice since Carmel in California. Hotel Chimayo, is in the heart of all this. Its décor and architecture are native American. The rooms are refreshingly old-fashioned but very comfortable with all facilities. The dining is good. Basement parking is ample and reasonable.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrian V, Front Office Manager at Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Jules B,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your your experience on Tripadvisor. I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time here with us and I hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future. Again, thank you for sharing your feedback.

Warmest Regards,

Adrian J. Velarde
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punta Cana
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

This hotel is moderately priced, has nice rooms with fire places; and is superbly located in the heart of Santa Fe, N.M. There are several fine restaurants within walking distance; and Santa Fe's main square is only several hundred feet away. Close enough for an easy walk; but far enough to not be disturbed by lights, noise, etc .Also several museums one of which is just across the street are located within walking distance.

Room Tip: If you don't like to be at street level, ask for a room on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrian V, Front Office Manager at Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Melsplace312,

Thank you for wonderful feedback on your recent stay at the Hotel Chimayo. We are happy our staff and property provided you a great experience, and we look forward to seeing you on your next stay.

-Adrian V.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

The Hotel Chimayo is located very close to the central Plaza of Sanat Fe, so makes a great base for sightseeing. It is built around a central courtyard and decorated in New Mexico Hispanic style. The restaurant specialises in New Mexico cuisine (with an emphasis on chilis), and has regional dishes even at breakfast. The bar, however, is a homage to the lowrider automobile, and has live entertainment some evenings. If you, like us, are not fans of the chili, there are other good restaurants close by, and the hotel was helpful in recommending and booking them.

Our room, at second floor level, was comfortable, though the bathroom was small - built for Gwyneth Paltrow rather than Danny De Vito. The WiFi system was also a little on the rustic side. However, we are very happy to live with these things for a place with great location and a real, focused, character.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrian V, Front Office Manager at Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Peter C,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience during your recent visit at the Hotel Chimayo. I can't thank you enough for providing feedback about your stay with us. Here at the Hotel Chimayo we are known for providing guests with thee most authentic and comfortable experience possible. I will be more than happy to share your feedback with our staff as there is no greater motivator than a job well done. Again, thank you for sharing your experience and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to Santa Fe in the future.

Sincerely,

Adrian J. Velarde
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We definitely would recommend this hotel , the staff is excellent. Our room was clean and quiet and it is less than one block from the main square of the city. We are planning on returning to Santa Fe next year and will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrian V, Front Office Manager at Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you HSBT2 for giving us feedback on our guest service!

We are glad that you enjoyed your time with us at the Hotel Chimayo, we loved having you as a guest. As a Heritage property we understand that guest service is one of thee most important aspect of any guests stay, that's why we take the time to hire and train the right people for the job.

As soon as you figure out your plans for next year please contact us so that we can assist you with making your hotel accommodations. Again, thank you for sharing your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe

Address: 125 Washington Avenue, Santa Fe, NM 87501 (Formerly Hotel Plaza Real)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#19 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe (previously the Hotel Plaza Real) has just been fully remodeled. This picturesque boutique hotel offers luxurious accommodations with original artwork which celebrates the unique heritage of Chimayo. The enchanting guest room suites feature bancos, fireplaces, private or communal balconies and separate living rooms centered on an open-air plaza patio. Just a short walk from the hotel are some of the most treasured Santa Fe attractions such as the State Capitol, the Palace of the Governors, the striking St. Francis Cathedral Basilica, and the Loretto Chapel, which houses the Miraculous Spiral Staircase. "Hotels supporting cultural causes." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Real Santa Fe
Plaza Real Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.