We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, right off the Plaza.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe

Save Saved
You added Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   125 Washington Avenue, Santa Fe, NM 87501 (Formerly Hotel Plaza Real) (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Affiliate website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Exclusive offer-Save 15%
Ranked #26 of 60 hotels in Santa Fe
Seattle
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Good hotel, right off the Plaza.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We stayed here a week. The staff was very accommodating, moved us from a ground floor room up to the second floor without a quibble. Rates are reasonable for Santa Fe. Clean, good showers, fireplace in the room, quiet yet close in. There was festival in the plaza for one whole weekend and we didn't hear a thing in our room. Food at the hotel restaurant was also good. While we did have a "balcony overlooking" the courtyard, it was mostly nice for opening the doors for fresh air. The walls are solid so if you are sitting down you can't see over them. But that's not why I rent a hotel room. Ask about the government employee discount if you work for any government (any state or Federal) it cut our rates considerably.

Also parking is not included with the room, but if you drive, highly recommended as the parking in Santa Fe is very limited.

One other thing, is that there is a rail line from the airport to Santa Fe. If you plan on only seeing stuff in town, it might be worth considering to take the "rail-runner" to Santa Fe, and a cab to the hotel, vs renting a car and then paying to park it but not drive anywhere.

Room Tip: If you are on the second floor, you may have to climb some stairs. If you have trouble with stairs b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

566 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    227
    213
    66
    36
    24
See reviews for
95
259
37
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
albuquerque
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Stayed at Hotel Chimayo for a weekend getaway. The location was GREAT! Close to the Plaza, museums, and restaurants. Beautiful hotel with a very homey, New Mexican feel - rustic and clean. Ideal for tourist wanting to get a true "New Mexican" experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Recently stayed at the Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe for the Santa Fe Fiesta. It is a wonderful boutique type hotel located just a half block off the Plaza. We enjoyed a balcony suite with two separate balconies, one overlooking the street and the second overlooking a central courtyard. The Fiesta is a three day event and quite noisy with crowds, music and several parades and even though we were less than a block away we were never bothered by noise at night. The room was spacious and well appointed. The staff was friendly and extremely helpful. The restaurant in the hotel has exceptional food and the best red chili we had ever enjoyed. Our only negative was making the reservation thru their central Heritage Hotel number was difficult. They didn't know when the fiesta was and were not clear on availability of multi-day discounts. We got different input both times we called. I'll book directly with hotel next time.

Room Tip: Balcony suites have both interior and exterior balconies and one or the other will be in the shade a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverton, Wyoming
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Recently stayed here for three nights. Have stayed here in the past when it was a difference name. Clean, great front desk, very helpful. Nice setting for rooms in central open walkway. Quite, highly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
castle pines, colorado
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

This is a beautiful historic hotel just steps away from the Plaza in Santa Fe, the location is wonderful, walking distance to art galleries, shopping and restaurants

The rooms are quite large with a living room area and a wonderful comfy bed, the 2 areas that could use some updating are the bathrooms which are tiny and the 2 televisions which should be updated with flat screens.

This is the 2'nd yr we have stayed at this hotel and will probably stay there again next year

Room Tip: rooms are on 2 levels, if you do not want to climb stairs stay on 1'st level, not top level p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrian V, Front Office Manager at Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear Rita W.

We are glad that you enjoyed our beautiful property. Our hotel has of thee most authentic and traditional settings in Santa Fe. We are also glad to hear that enjoyed the convenience of our location. When your doing shopping and going out to eat no location is better than ours. In regards to your advice about our televisions, you will be happy to know that we are in the beginning stages of replacing them with larger flat screen TV's. We hope that you will come to visit us so you can see them.

Again, I just want to thank you for making us your Santa Fe destination and we hope to see you in the future.

Warmest regards,

Adrian J. Velarde
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

The staff was wonderful. The hotel was cool in layout. The food at the restaurant was beyond good. They let our dog eat at the restaurant too. Just a very comfortable place. Even tho the couch in the living room was made from cement with cushions it was very comfortable. Who'd a thought that?

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrian V, Front Office Manager at Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
marjanmacphee,

Thank you for taking the time to mention the layout of our property and the food at our restaurant. We are glad that you and your pet enjoyed yourselves. We love being a pet friendly property. it gives us the chance to see many pets and their friendly personalities. In regards to the cement seating in our guest rooms, we get lots of compliments about their style and comfort. If you are ever in the Santa Fe area please stop by and visit.

Again, thank you for sharing you experience with us.

Thankfully yours,

Adrian J. Velarde
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

While moving from Manitoba to Nevada, we decided to make a vacation of it. One of our stops was a place I always wanted to see...Santa Fe, NM. The night before we were due to arrive, I searched for hotels. Being this was a bucket list spot, we splurge on the hotel. I was able to get a cheaper last minute rate via the hotel's website then any other hotel service site. We booked into an Oratorio King Suite. From the reservation confirmation, "Enchanting Southwestern styled guestroom with original weavings and hand-made crosses from Chimayo artists. The Oratorio Deluxe King Suite features a sitting area with a wood-burning fireplace, wet bar, refrigerator, and a king size bed with luxurious Frette linen and a separate living room with a door. Enjoy a separate bath and vanity area, full length mirrors and a large closet space. Each Deluxe suite is enticingly unique; seating areas include Banco or a sofa seating." Since we had our 7 year old with us, we asked for a roll away bed. Upon check-in, the front desk agent, Estephanie, was very kind and courteous. We arrived before the 4pm check in. Our room was just ready and we were able to check in 2 hours earlier. They also upgraded us to what she called a Deluxe Suite. (I don't see that term on their site.) The difference was that it had a day bed as a sofa, hence the roll away was not needed. I caught the maid as she was cleaning another room to ask for bedding for the daybed as none was left. Between my very little Spanish and gesturing she figured out what was needed. The room was lovely. The bar refrigerator didn't work, but as we were their for only a night, we declined having them switch it out. The property is small...only 56 rooms stretched out on a cozy 2 (maybe 3) floors. It is picturesque, in the heart of downtown Santa Fe and just as I pictured Santa Fe to be.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrian V, Front Office Manager at Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
A great review for a "picture perfect stay!"

Mr. Joby N, we are thrilled that you enjoyed our southwest decor and satisfied with our guest service. Our staff was happy to see the pictures that you posted of you and your son. We thrive on being able to provide our guests with the best service and the most authentic experience in the Santa Fe area. In regards to the broken refrigerator, we have removed it and replaced with one that works. Again thank you so much for staying with us.

If your ever in the area or thinking of getting away please consider coming to stay with us again.

Sincerely,

Adrian J. Velarde
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe

Address: 125 Washington Avenue, Santa Fe, NM 87501 (Formerly Hotel Plaza Real)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#19 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe (previously the Hotel Plaza Real) has just been fully remodeled. This picturesque boutique hotel offers luxurious accommodations with original artwork which celebrates the unique heritage of Chimayo. The enchanting guest room suites feature bancos, fireplaces, private or communal balconies and separate living rooms centered on an open-air plaza patio. Just a short walk from the hotel are some of the most treasured Santa Fe attractions such as the State Capitol, the Palace of the Governors, the striking St. Francis Cathedral Basilica, and the Loretto Chapel, which houses the Miraculous Spiral Staircase. "Hotels supporting cultural causes." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Real Santa Fe
Plaza Real Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.