We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved Hotel Plaza Real” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe to your Saves list
Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   125 Washington Avenue, Santa Fe, NM 87501 (Formerly Hotel Plaza Real) (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Affiliate website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Limited Time - Save 20%
Ranked #22 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Richmond
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Loved Hotel Plaza Real”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2008

Great hotel & wonderful location. Walking distance to almost anything in Santa Fe.

  • Liked — Location with parking
  • Disliked — No elevator to our 3 rd. floor room
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

630 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    264
    234
    70
    39
    23
See reviews for
106
286
43
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2008

We stayed one recent Saturday night at this hotel. We arrived at about 9:00 p.m. and some man was yelling in the lounge area. The reception area is right next to this lounge. While we were checking in, the receptionist spoke in a very quiet voice and although my boyfriend told her he could barely hear her because of all the yelling, she made no attempt to speak any louder. She gave directions regarding where we should park as though she were some kind of robot. She did her job, but she did not make us feel welcome at all. The room was quiet and clean, but in looking around we noticed the upholstery on the chair was ripped and very worn looking. The bathroom was very clean, and our room was definitely far enough away so that we did not hear all of the loud voices in the lounge. The bed was very comfortable and we did get a good nights sleep. A previous poster recommended the Inn of the Anasazi next door and they are right. We went there the next day just to check it out and it is an amazing hotel. Beautiful furniture, lovely staff who welcomed us the moment we came in the door. We don't expect everything to be new and perfect when we stay at a hotel, but we do want to feel welcome. We did not feel that here.

  • Liked — It was quiet and clean. It was close to the plaza where I could do some early morning photography.
  • Disliked — Staff behind desk were not friendly.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2008

We have stayed at the Plaza Real every year for the past 5 years and have always been pleased. It is a great place for families and pets. We love the location - great to get back for pre-dinner drinks or nap time. The suites are great - it is wonderful to have a separate bedroom for the adults versus children. The staff have always been wonderful and the rates are VERY reasonable. As long as the rates stay affordable, we will continue to stay every year.

Stayed June 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, TX
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2008

We spent our honeymoon in Santa Fe at the Plaza Real. The staff was very helpful regarding tips on places to eat. The rooms are very comfortable although a little dated, but the hotel appears to be undergoing a bit of a renovation at the moment. Even though it is right off of the Plaza the noise was minimal to non-existent which was a plus. We cannot wait to go back!

  • Liked — Friendly staff and comfortable and quiet room in an ideal location.
  • Disliked — No room service.
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta, ga
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2008

The Hotel Plaza Real is located a half block from the plaza in Santa Fe and is within walking distance to hundreds of restaurants and shops. We were promised a suite with a balcony and when we checked in were given a small room with no balcony. We were told the room that we originally reserved was having new carpet installed. The room was small, dark with a small sofa and a tiny barthroom. You couldn't see the TV from the sofa so you had to watch TV in bed. We asked to be upgraded to a better room and were then given a suite with a separate living room, TV, fireplace and refrigerator. The front desk was happy to accommodate us The new room was 203 and was much nicer. It had french doors that opened to a shared balcony that overlooked the street. This hotel was under renovation and one night the hammering didn't stop until about 7:30. The hotel has potential with a nice front porch and a lounge. There is in-room coffee makers or you can go to the lobby for free coffee. The bathroom is very small. The carpet in the room needed to be replaced and is not clean. Other than that, the rest of the room seemed clean.

The best part of the hotel is the location. It was only a 1-minute walk to the plaza where all the action is. We walked around the corner to the Cantina at La Casa Sena where there is a great dinner show with the wait staff performing broadway tunes while serving your dinner. Food was pretty good, but the entertainment was excellent.

Santa Fe is a great place to visit, but I would probably stay at a different hotel next time.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Carpet was dirty, bathroom was small, no elevators
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2008

We stayed at the hotel plaza real for a week between Christmas and New Year's. We were very pleased with the room and the service we received. The location is great. We were able to walk everywhere we wanted to visit, except skiing of course. The front desk manager was really helpful. Although I did not like the cold temps. we had a great time and had some great food. There were a couple of annoyances but you'd get that anywhere. The first is that you have to pay for parking ($13 I think) and there are not enough spots in the garage so you may have to block someone in and then leave your keys at the front desk. The ceilings are pretty thin and we could hear our upstairs neighbors, they were quite rowdy. The housekeeper did not close the door hard enough after cleaning the room so our room was left unlocked all day.....twice. Other than those things it was great. They had Aveda hair products and lotion which was a nice surprise. It is also a very quaint homey place. We would definitely stay there again if we were in Santa Fe.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Parking
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2008

I booked this hotel several months in advance. After reading some of the reveiws, I called Donald, the Front Mgr with some concerns like the trash pickup at 4:00 a.m. and the wore out carpet & drape rooms, etc. and asked if he could please put us in a room where I would not hear the trash pickup, etc.. So when I checked in on May 21, 2008, I asked for Donald and he said he received my message and that everything I requested was taken care of. We had a great room, no trash pickup noise at all and the inside of the room was nice and clean. The staff was very friendly and informative especially regarding where to go and eat in Santa Fe. You must try the Burrito Co. restaurant next to the hotel for breakfast... good breakfast burritos.. :-)
Thanks again Donald for everything, we really enjoyed our stay at the Plaza Real...

TW, Austin, Texas

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe

Address: 125 Washington Avenue, Santa Fe, NM 87501 (Formerly Hotel Plaza Real)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#19 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#22 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe 3.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe (previously the Hotel Plaza Real) has just been fully remodeled. This picturesque boutique hotel offers luxurious accommodations with original artwork which celebrates the unique heritage of Chimayo. The enchanting guest room suites feature bancos, fireplaces, private or communal balconies and separate living rooms centered on an open-air plaza patio. Just a short walk from the hotel are some of the most treasured Santa Fe attractions such as the State Capitol, the Palace of the Governors, the striking St. Francis Cathedral Basilica, and the Loretto Chapel, which houses the Miraculous Spiral Staircase. "Hotels supporting cultural causes." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Real Santa Fe
Plaza Real Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.