We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed and misled” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe

Save Saved
You added Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   125 Washington Avenue, Santa Fe, NM 87501 (Formerly Hotel Plaza Real) (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Affiliate website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Exclusive offer-Save 15%
Ranked #26 of 60 hotels in Santa Fe
Houston, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Disappointed and misled”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed for 5 nights recently, and we were very disappointed. These people should be ashamed to offer a hotel in this condition at these prices ($200/night).The hotel's online photos are very misleading, and make the lobby and rooms seem bright and new. But the pictures are obviously very old. The room was dark, the furniture was worn, and the carpet was dirty. The front door to the room was filthy, as was the door mat. The room'sTV's were circa 1995 (tube-type), which should give you some idea how long it has been since the rooms were updated. Even the hotel lobby was dark and dirty. The lobby door mats are old, dirty and worn. Lobby paint is old, chipped and worn. The elevator from the garage to the lobby is dirty and the walls are desperately in need of renovating. The hotel ice machine has apparently been broken for a long time. Garage parking (underneath the hotel) is good, but, again, the garage is filthy.On the other hand, the hotel employees were cheerful, helpful and courteous; and the hotel is well located just a half block off the square.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HHandR, Director of Operations at Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Hello MikeB607,

I appreciate you sharing your notes during stay with us. As you know, all feedback is very informative and necessary in order for us to grow and improve. I apologize that the hotel appeared dark and old. As the property is a historic building in downtown Santa Fe, we aim preserve that old-style while constantly updating and improving. I am also very dissapointed that our ice machine was under repair during your stay. We have since improved the machine, and I wish it could have been done while you were with us.
While it is disheartening that you did not enjoy our facility, I am pleased that our staff was courteous and helpful. Our employees go above and beyond when it comes to customer service.
I hope that you will be able to visit Santa Fe again, and if and when you do, you will think about giving our hotel another try. I know that as we make improvements, the hotel will get better and better.

Nick Stofocik
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

566 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    227
    213
    66
    36
    24
See reviews for
95
259
37
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, AZ
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

This hotel is only steps from the Plaza in Santa Fe and is the best value you are likely to find in such a good location. Spacious rooms are decorated in browns and neutrals and feature some crafts from Chimayo, New Mexico. A porch and courtyard add to the charm. There are both a bar and a restaurant on the premises. Other members of my party enjoyed both and found the bartenders very helpful with local information. You will pay for parking, but at least it is underground and on site. WiFi is free.
One warning: some rooms are not on a floor served by the elevator. If that is a problem for you, be sure to ask for one that is served. There are a lot of steps if you don't, and we ended up with one of these rooms.
All-in-all, this is a great find and a good value, especially for couples, families, or groups of friends.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a room on a floor served by the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HHandR, Director of Operations at Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Hello tipsfromtucson!

This is a wonderful 4-star review and we are pleased that you chose to stay with us.
I am glad you noticed our representation of the Chimayo community. Seventy artisans contributed to our hotel's rich design and authentic Northern New Mexico experience. Our bar, the Low N'Slow, is even inspired by the Chimayo connection to their lowriders. I am pleased the bartenders made your friends feel welcome and informed. As a historic property, most of rooms do require going up stairs, but we always have members of staff who are ready and willing to help with luggage--no matter how stuffed it might be.
We hope that you and your friends will visit Hotel Chimayo for another stay. Have a wonderful beginning to the fall season!

Nick Stofocik
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

My experience with this hotel was very good. The location is central, The staffs are helpful and courteous. Check-in/out fast and smooth. The courtyard setup is very cool. The room is large and fairly clean, and the price is very reasonable, especially for suites.

On the other hand, there is no luxury. The building is old. The bathroom tiny. There is no elevator to most rooms.Their renovation is nothing more than new rug and new paint. There is very little amenities for business travelers but if you are on vacation, this offers a lot of value, considering the property next door charges twice as much.

I found the onsite restaurant overpriced. The food is decent but with so many good places why come here. Indeed there were only 3 people in the room and the service was very slow.

Room Tip: Room away from the main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HHandR, Director of Operations at Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. I am very pleased that our staff was attentive and made your check in and out easy and worry-free. We strive to ensure all of our guests enter and exit the hotel with smile from the Hotel Chimayo agents. I apologize that our historic property was not what you had envisioned. Our Heritage Hotel group tries protect our New Mexico legacy and preserve the experience but with an updated feel.
We hope that you will visit us again when you make your way to Santa Fe. Please call our reservation department directly and let us know you are returning guest.
Thank you again!

Nick Stofocik
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman, Oklahoma
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed 2 nights at Hotel Chimayo. After reading some of the reviews I was maybe a bit on guard. It was however, amazing!! Check in was smooth and very friendly! Our rooms were ready and just as reserved. Love the location of this hotel! It is just steps from the Plaza with shopping and food!! The hotel has been remodeled. The rooms were styled very southwest but typical for Santa Fe. The beds were great and the rooms are suites. Love the front porch to sit in the mornings or at night! Beautiful flowers and tables outside the rooms to sit and enjoy! Quiet boutique hotel. The front desk was very helpful with directions and recommendations. There is a charge for parking but there is valet or you can park yourself and easy in and out. Very glad we stayed here and would stay again.

Room Tip: It is a few dollars extra for the suite but the living area is much larger. If stairs are a problem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick S, Director of Operations at Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
What a wonderful 5-Star review Lesa L!

It pleases me that we were able to meet your expectations and in some cases exceed them. Our team members do try and go above and beyond for our guests and I am happy they succeeded in assisting you. It sounds like our public spaces were just what you needed after a nice day of touring and shopping nearby. Our location in downtown Santa Fe can't be beat.
We hope to see you at Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe for your future stay. Have a wonderful summer!

Nick Stofocik
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wimbledon
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights on our trip along Route 66 - our most luxurious hotel by far. The courtyard setting and the dried chilli wreaths were very atmospheric although the lack of a lift to our 2nd floor room was noted! The room was spacious with a separate lounge area and lovely little balcony. The bar staff were very friendly. Unfortunately our stay ended on a less positive note as it became apparent that there had been an attempt to steal the panniers from one of our group's motorbike when it was parked overnight in the underground car park.

Room Tip: No lift so ask for a ground floor room if this is an issue
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick S, Director of Operations at Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thank you Alison18,

I appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel and enumerate your thoughts regarding the stay. I am pleased the hanging chile ristras caught your eye. I will look into adding more when it comes time to order more--I agree that all of our guests should have them close their rooms. I apologize for the circumstance in the garage, and we will be adding more security in order to quell any instances from reoccurring.
I hope that you will be able to visit us in the future and we will gladly welcome you back!

Nick Stofocik
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas Hill Country
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

My husband and I stayed 3 nights at Hotel Chimayo. Great location--on a quiet street close to the square. By the first night we felt like it was home. Clean and quiet with appealing New Mexico decor. Very comfortable king-sized bed. Loved the separate living area with couch, fireplace, small dining table and mini-kitchen composed of sink, coffeemaker, microwave and refrigerator. The weather was a bit chilly for sitting outside but in warmer weather it would be nice coffee at the table and chairs in the courtyard outside the door.

We had a full sightseeing schedule and the staff went out of their way to help us find our destinations, even printing out Google maps for us. Being able to park our car in the garage underneath the hotel was a major plus as Santa Fe has a dearth of street parking.

Tia's Cocina upstairs is an undiscovered gem, serving New Mexican cuisine with true Chimayo-chili flavor.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick S, Director of Operations at Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Thank you verokat for this positive evaluation of our hotel!

It sounds like the room and public spaces not only met your needs but offered a refuge after your long days touring the sights and sounds. I am pleased the staff went that extra step to help you get around; this is something all our agents strive to deliver to guests. Having an in-room fireplace is a luxury for many travelers and is usually something our guests use in the winter months. I hope it wasn't that cold, but then again, you never know in Santa Fe.
Please call us directly the next trip you make to our fair city. I would love to welcome you back.

Nick Stofocik
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
missoula, montana
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Chimayo for four nights. It was fabulous. We were there during a hot spell and the air conditioning was perfect. The suite/ room was lovely and had a refrigerator and microwave. The hotel was built in 1870 and has been very well brought up to date. The style is Spanish/Mexican and is very comfortable. We had a lovely courtyard and it was a very quiet spot. We were a very short distance from the plaza (less than a half a block).
The best part for us was the new restaurant Tia Maria's we ate there three times because they had the best food we found. We think both the hotel and the restaurant are unfound gems.
We will be back!!

Room Tip: Ask for an internal courtyard room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick S, Director of Operations at Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear josephone,

From the opening to your inspiring review, I guess that our location was perfect. It sounds as if the rest of our hotel's look and design made you feel right at home. Many of our rooms offer refrigerators, but I believe you had a Deluxe room that also comes with a microwave. Those rooms are truly unique and relaxing.
I am also happy that Tia's Cocina is considered your unfound gem. The new owners take the time to make every guest feel welcome and taken care of.
Please come back to see us anytime and we will make sure your stay is just as amazing!

Nick Stofocik
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe

Address: 125 Washington Avenue, Santa Fe, NM 87501 (Formerly Hotel Plaza Real)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#19 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe (previously the Hotel Plaza Real) has just been fully remodeled. This picturesque boutique hotel offers luxurious accommodations with original artwork which celebrates the unique heritage of Chimayo. The enchanting guest room suites feature bancos, fireplaces, private or communal balconies and separate living rooms centered on an open-air plaza patio. Just a short walk from the hotel are some of the most treasured Santa Fe attractions such as the State Capitol, the Palace of the Governors, the striking St. Francis Cathedral Basilica, and the Loretto Chapel, which houses the Miraculous Spiral Staircase. "Hotels supporting cultural causes." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Real Santa Fe
Plaza Real Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.