We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you're looking for an authentic centrally located Santa Fe experience, this is it.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe

Save Saved
You added Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   125 Washington Avenue, Santa Fe, NM 87501 (Formerly Hotel Plaza Real) (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Affiliate website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Exclusive offer-Save 15%
Ranked #26 of 60 hotels in Santa Fe
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“If you're looking for an authentic centrally located Santa Fe experience, this is it.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

The hotel had a pleasant atmosphere with a central courtyard. More fruit in the reception area would have made a difference. Having all the double beds on the second floor only available via staircase was a very peculiar, inconvenient feature. However, when the hotel was asked to give us a new room on the main floor, they were very attentive and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

566 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    227
    213
    66
    36
    24
See reviews for
95
259
37
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Safford, Arizona, United States
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

High point of the stay was the wonderful concierge, friendly and knowledgable. The room was weird, with doors on two different floors, but nice. The Low rider bar was not much, with marginal drinks, My wife had to ask the inattentive bartender for some vodka in her martini, which was mostly vermouth. The restaurant was a serious disappointment. The food was tasteless and very un-New Mexico. The menu names were Santa Fe, but it tasted like hospital food. I ordered tongue tacos, rice and beans preceded by posole. The posole was excellent. The tongue tacos were small bits of tongue with queso mixed in and no sauce whatsoever. The beans tasted like they came from a can and the spanish rice had to flavor. I asked for some salsa because it was so bland, and it was the first time I ever ate salsa that tasted like ketchup. They offered us a free meal for two, but after hearing the manager tell the cook next time they come in just load the food with spices, we decided to leave the free meal coupon sitting in the room when we left. There are better places to stay and eat within a block or two for the same prices and more flavor and service quality. They need to work on their recipes, which are dull and uninteresting.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick S, Director of Operations at Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thank you Robert V,

I appreciate your thoughts and comments. I am very pleased that our front desk staff members were able to assist you. We are proud that they know so much about 'The City Different' and its rich and diverse history. I apologize for your less than satisfactory service and experience at our restaurant and bar. We will be researching your situation and make sure that we do in all our power to insure this does not happen again. Thank you for bringing that to my attention.

I wish you well for the coming summer months and I hope that you come to see us again when visiting beautiful Northern New Mexico!

Nick Stofocik
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

The Hotel Chimayo is in a very good location just off of the square. If you are planning to walk a lot around Santa Fe, it is a good starting point. The hotel itself is just ok. We booked a junior suite, and found the room to look a little threadworn in general. Other reviewers were not kidding- the bathroom and vanity is VERY small. My wife and I are not big people, and there was no way we could use the vanity area together. You don't realize the inconvenience of this until you are both anxious to get out and about and every task requires taking turns. What a pain.
Overall, the HC was not bad, but we would stay elsewhere the next time we are in Santa Fe.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick S, Director of Operations at Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear aaron-j,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. It pleases me that our location was perfect for your recent visit. I am sorry our bathroom size was not adequate for you. Our sink area is petite in most of our rooms, but we are working on ways to improve that as we speak. Thank you for bringing this to our attention.
Let me know when you are returning to The City Different and we would be more than happy to welcome you back. I know that we can "wow" you still.

Nick Stofocik
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

This is a very cute hotel with a great location. The suites are roomy, very clean and have a working fireplace. The staff are friendly and helpful. The hotel is located just off the square and across the street form the history museum.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gunnison, co
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We enjoyed this hotel which is indeed, charming and very convenient, with pleasant and courteous help. However, beware of ordering cocktails at the Slow n' Low bar on the property. These tiny, 3 sip drinks, come in a small tumbler, full of ice, and are probably equal to less than half a drink anywhere else in town for the same (high) price. Go elsewhere for cocktails or stick to beer. I also didn't care for the loud rock music in the bar, which didn't seem to fit the atmosphere. Why can't places play soft, pleasant music, if any, instead of raucous noise? On the positive side, we had great Huevos Rancheros upstairs at the restaurant, but there are many, many better places in town for dinner. I know parking is a challenge in Santa Fe, but the $14 fee is a bit of a rip-off and I find it irritating to pay extra to park at a place you have already paid for. You can park overnight elsewhere, not too far away, for $10.

Room Tip: Some of the less expensive rooms have steep, narrow stairways to navigate and seem part of a condo s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HHandR, Front Office Manager at Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you rockdocGunnison_Co for taking the time write this very informative review,

I am pleased that our location and charming atmosphere was something you enjoyed during your stay here in Santa Fe. Our Low N' Slow bar is designed to represent the lowrider culture of the city and people of Chimayo and in turn, the rock music selection comes from that inspiration, however, I have passed along your comments and we do hope to welcome you back in the near future to Hotel Chimayo. Nick Stofocik Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amarillo, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

This was an adorable hotel that was within walking distance to everything! Jay at the front desk went above and beyond our expectations. My fiance told him that he was going to propose to me during this stay and Jay was nice enough to upgrade our room and gave us a bottle of wine! He was so pleasant and helpful with where to eat, what to see, and directions as well. Thank you so much...we will absolutely be back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick S, Director of Operations at Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear NurseNise,

It couldn't make us happier to hear such glowing praise for our staff members. We love to know when our employees make such a positive impression. It sounds like you took advantage of all that Santa Fe has to offer. Our location to the plaza and its stores, museums, and cultural highlights truly makes Hotel Chimayo stand apart from the crowd.
I hope you give us a call directly the next time you choose to visit Northern New Mexico. Our reservation staff will be ready to assist whenever that time comes; we enjoy welcoming back our previous guests. Thank you again.

Nick Stofocik
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We come to Santa Fe every year and stay at a sister property. This year we wanted to stay downtown. When we arrived we were warmly welcomed by the General Manager and were upgraded to a Junior Suite. We loved the old world charm of the courtyard and the rustic rooms. We also loved the fact that would come to the room and start up the fireplace for us to enjoy the rest of the evening to unwind after a day of shopping. We also enjoyed the staff of the Slow n' Low bar on the property. The staff was friendly and attentive. We will definitely be staying here on our return trips.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick S, Director of Operations at Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thank you Scott S for this 5-Star review!

I am pleased that our staff and room accommodations were more than satisfactory for you. Our employees try to go above and beyond for each one of our guests. It is nice to hear that our wood-burning fireplaces in the Mission Junior Suites helped you "unwind." That is exactly what is there for: that special added touch to set us apart.
We cannot wait to welcome you back to Santa Fe. Please let us know when you plan on returning and we have the fireplace ready for you.
Have a wonderful beginning of Spring!

Nick Stofocik
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe

Address: 125 Washington Avenue, Santa Fe, NM 87501 (Formerly Hotel Plaza Real)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#19 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe (previously the Hotel Plaza Real) has just been fully remodeled. This picturesque boutique hotel offers luxurious accommodations with original artwork which celebrates the unique heritage of Chimayo. The enchanting guest room suites feature bancos, fireplaces, private or communal balconies and separate living rooms centered on an open-air plaza patio. Just a short walk from the hotel are some of the most treasured Santa Fe attractions such as the State Capitol, the Palace of the Governors, the striking St. Francis Cathedral Basilica, and the Loretto Chapel, which houses the Miraculous Spiral Staircase. "Hotels supporting cultural causes." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Real Santa Fe
Plaza Real Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.