We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Santa Fe on the Square” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe

Save Saved
You added Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   125 Washington Avenue, Santa Fe, NM 87501 (Formerly Hotel Plaza Real) (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Affiliate website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Exclusive offer-Save 15%
Ranked #24 of 60 hotels in Santa Fe
Kogarah, Australia
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Santa Fe on the Square”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Chimayo de Santa Fe on the Square is a perfect hotel stay. The location of the hotel give access to the Square and all the shops. The hotel has a excellent restaurant upstairs (Tia's Concina) that serves some of the best authentic food in the area. The bar down stairs is a bonus to the stay. Front desk is very responsive and courteous upon check-in and during the entire stay.

Room Tip: Sometimes the hotel website doesn't show all the rooms available. Call reservations for "l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick S, Director of Operations at Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Dear Amanda H,

Thank you for this review. We are so pleased that you found our authentic and amazing restaurant, Tia's Cocina pleasant. It is truly mouth-watering and we hope all of New Mexico knows about it. It sounds as if our staff made your stay that much more memorable. They try to go above and beyond for each of our guests.
We hope to see you on your next adventure to Santa Fe. Please call our reservations line and they will assist you in creating the perfect stay.

Nick Stofocik
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

575 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    234
    215
    66
    36
    24
See reviews for
99
262
38
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Amarillo, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We visited this hotel during the Thanksgiving holiday 2012. We found it to be very charming and comfortable. The room prices were very reasonable considering it was just one block off the square. Very convenient. The rooms are well appointed and clean. There is a lot of "stair climbing" unless your room was close to the one elevator. (ours was) I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick S, Director of Operations at Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Hello SailRaiser,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am happy you were able to enjoy the thanksgiving holiday with us. Being in Santa Fe during that time of year is really a one-of-a-kind experience. Our spacious rooms and convenient location seemed to make your stay extra special. As our building is historic, some of the rooms do require stairs, but please know we can help with luggage throughout your stay. But I am happy that you were able to get a nice room off the elevator.

Have a wonderful new year and we look forward to seeing you for future stays.

Nick Stofocik
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vail, Colorado
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

A nice renovation of an older hotel, centrally located to all sights in lovely Santa Fe. Very friendly front desk, one of the agents offered to carry our bags, even as he was leaving his shift. Convenient underground parking garage, $14 a day. Room was large and quiet, very nice, comfortable bed and linens. Bath was small, but renovated and more than adequate, Subdued, tasteful Southwest decor, no kokopellis here. Hotel has an interesting layout, some of the rooms are located off an outside balcony, which does not face onto a street. Lots of Santa Fe atmosphere.

There is a very pleasant looking bar, located just off the lobby.

Room Tip: We had a room off the outdoor balcony, on the 3rd floor, accessible by elevator, which was very quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick S, Director of Operations at Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such kind words foodiefromCO,

I am pleased that our staff went above and beyond during your stay. It sounds like our spacious design and location made your rest that much more enjoyable. You noticed our unique decor which is inspired by the city and people of Chimayo. It is our mission to represent that town and its local flavor.
We hope to see you again in the future. Our proximity to shopping and galleries is that much more wonderful in the warmer months--maybe we will see you then.

Nick Stofocik
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Jay from the Hotel and John and Haley from Lown N' Slow Bar were so attentive and nice.
Drinks were perfect and the frito pies are the best in Santa Fe.
Jay hooked us up with a nice room with a wood burning kiva fireplace and a bottle of wine which was so perfect on a cold winter night. We will definitely go back for another good time. Keep up the gr8 service!

Room Tip: Recommend a room with a Kiva fireplace, so cozy and romantic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick S, Director of Operations at Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Thank you Stevoroni for your 5-Star review,

Your trip sounded enjoyable, and I am very pleased our staff members were able to make it a memorable one. Having a wood burning fireplace in select rooms does add that special something on these brisk Northern New Mexico nights.
We hope to see you again in the warmer months so that you can enjoy your wine in our interior courtyard. That experience is just as wonderful and we love to see our previous guests return. Have a wonderful February!

Nick Stofocik
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, NM
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

I am a local and enjoy staying downtown every now and then. Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe is my favorite place. From Jay at the front desk who is always smiling and anxious to accommodate every need to Haley and John in the lounge that always make me feel at home and safe when mixing up the fun flavorful cocktails! Thank you all for always making it such a GREAT experience.

Room Tip: Junior Suite, fireplace softest beds in the world!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick S, Director of Operations at Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Thank you Freddie Sue G for this outstanding review!

I sounds like Jay, Haley and John were able to make your stay an enjoyable one. Low N' Slow is truly an amazing bar and one of the hidden gems here in Santa Fe. We hope that we will see you in future and please give us a call directly the next time you choose to stay downtown. We love to welcome back repeat guests!

Nick Stofocik
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
burque
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Great place. Staff was as nice as they were professional. Rooms were amazing. Mixed drinks at the bar were fantastic. Even though we live in New Mexico already, the atmosphere made it feel like a faraway get away because the hotel was the perfect wedding of resort and native culture. I hope to stay again soon.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick S, Director of Operations at Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you for posting this very generous 5-Star review Drew A,

I'm glad you enjoyed the mixed cocktails at Low N' Slow. Since you live in New Mexico, maybe you can stop by again for another drink if you are passing through. And on the next visit, please sample our fabulous menu at Tia's Cocina. I promise we won't disappoint when it comes to the Chimayo-inspired flavors. They go perfectly with the drinks!
Give us a call the next time you are traveling to Santa Fe, and we will assist you in making the trip unforgettable again.

Nick Stofocik
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Beautiful accommodations just steps from the plaza, fine dining and shopping. Loved the decor from local artists; so many thoughtful touches went into this boutique hotel. It felt like the "true" Santa Fe experience. I can't wait to stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick S, Director of Operations at Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
I appreciate you taking the time you write this generous 5-star review,

I am so pleased you enjoyed our proximity to the plaza. And you noticed how our hotel reflects the spirit and culture of the people of Chimayo. Our hotel is a representation of the small village 30 minutes north of us. The decor in our rooms and lobby has been inspired by their unique flavor here in the northern New Mexico. We are flattered that you have termed us "true." That couldn't be better compliment.

Please let us know when you plan on returning and we will be more than happy to welcome you back. We hope you have an amazing 2013.

Nick Stofocik
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe

Address: 125 Washington Avenue, Santa Fe, NM 87501 (Formerly Hotel Plaza Real)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#19 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#24 Top resorts Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe (previously the Hotel Plaza Real) has just been fully remodeled. This picturesque boutique hotel offers luxurious accommodations with original artwork which celebrates the unique heritage of Chimayo. The enchanting guest room suites feature bancos, fireplaces, private or communal balconies and separate living rooms centered on an open-air plaza patio. Just a short walk from the hotel are some of the most treasured Santa Fe attractions such as the State Capitol, the Palace of the Governors, the striking St. Francis Cathedral Basilica, and the Loretto Chapel, which houses the Miraculous Spiral Staircase. "Hotels supporting cultural causes." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotel.de, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Real Santa Fe
Plaza Real Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.