We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy, authentic, New Mexico flavor and charm!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe to your Saves list
Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   125 Washington Avenue, Santa Fe, NM 87501 (Formerly Hotel Plaza Real) (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Affiliate website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
'Tis the Season-Save 25%
Ranked #22 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Lakewood, Colorado
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Cozy, authentic, New Mexico flavor and charm!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We visit Santa Fe every other year and this was our first stay at the Hotel Chimayo (formerly the Hotel Real) because now they take pets! This hotel's location is perfect for getting around Santa Fe; and there is grass nearby (the Plaza and Courthouse just across the street) for our dogs. The hotel is decorated and themed so the guests experience the town of "Chimayo" with lots of crosses and religious statutes. Special lighting is set over the fireplace to enhance the wooden crosses, which we enjoyed (we are retired Catholics). Having a real fireplace in each room was very romantic and cozy. Anthony sets the best fires and gives plenty of wood. The beds spectacular and the linens excellent, and plenty. We had a great experience with all the staff, just sweet, attentive, and genuine people waiting to help us in every way. Our stay could not have been any better. We will definitely be back in the future. Thanks to Nick, Manuel, Daniel, Raquel, Anthony, Bryan and all others who made our vacation a memorable one.

Room Tip: Website needs revamping to show the actual room you want (Oratorio or Santos, etc.). It was confusin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick S, Director of Operations at Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you NMLovers,

It's so nice that you love New Mexico! Spread the work up there in Colorado! And we couldn't be happier that you have taken the time to write such a detailed and heartfelt 5-Star review. It seems as though you were able to take advantage of some of unique amenities. I hope your dogs were able to curl up next to you by the fire. Make sure you let us know that you would like a fireplace when returning; not all of our rooms have their own wood-burning fireplace and we want to ensure you get one. Your kind remarks about the individual staff members is truly appreciated. Our staff strives makes sure every guest feel right at home.
We would love to see you return for the warmer months, and I hope you have a great beginning to 2013.

Nick Stofocik
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

605 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    224
    68
    37
    23
See reviews for
103
275
40
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California, United States
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We stayed here for a combination birthday/Christmas vacation. This is a charming hotel and the location was fabulous! The only reason it's not receiving 4-5 stars is because of guest services, which were spotty at best.

We had room 203, which is the only suite with double beds. We requested this particular suite when we made reservations months ahead. On a plus note, we made reservations by phone and the rep was super helpful.

Guest services weren't horrible, everyone was pleasant but seemed inexperienced or improperly trained. When we checked in I asked about help getting our bags upstairs (there is no elevator) and was told there was none available. We (2 women aged 60+) had to drag our heavy bags upstairs by ourselves. The next morning I was at the front desk and the clerk was asking the guest ahead of me if she wanted help with her bags(???!!!!). When I inquired why we were not provided that service, I was told I must not have asked (huh?).

Also, we asked 2 nights for fires to be prepared in the fireplace. The first night a very nice gentleman showed up and started our fire about 2 hours after we requested it (we were told he was running late because he was helping people with their bags!!!). The 2nd time we asked for the fire to be started, we made the request to the front desk 3 times (1 time by phone, 2x in person) and each time was told he would be coming soon. He never showed up. We also requested tea bags at the same time and those never showed up.

At least we got help with our bags going down the stairs on check out. We also asked for extra towels and glasses and did get those from housekeeping. The hotel was fine as long as we didn't need anything from the staff.

Also, the fire alarm went off 2 mornings in a row around 5:30 am. When we called the desk, we were told a guest tried to start their fire themselves and forgot to open the flu. Maybe they should have printed instructions somewhere on HOW to start a fire. Although firewood was provided, no kindling or matches were and no instructions.

Also, the TV is ancient and there are no cable or in-room movie options. It was pretty old and barebones. And the sofa in the living room was rock hard.

On the plus side, parking was convenient (but $14/day is too high for no security), the beds were heavenly, the decor charming, the room super clean, and the location perfect.

BTW, we also stayed at another Heritage Hotel in Albuquerque and the service there was just as bad. It must be a company-wide problem.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick S, Director of Operations at Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you Sue J for taking the time write your review on TripAdvisor,

I appreciate that you chose Hotel Chimayo to celebrate your birthday/holiday vacation. I am disappointed that our staff and service did not meet your expectations. Here at Hotel Chimayo, we take pride in our guests and want ensure each every person leaves with the desire to return. I apologize you had to carry your bags in and out of your room; this is something that we should have done for you. The fire service we provide does get busy at times, but your wait time was completely out of the ordinary and I will be looking into this situation personally. I will use these notes you have made as a training tool for my staff to ensure nothing like this will ever happen again.
I hope that you will still consider us when travelling back to Santa Fe. I know we can make your stay unforgettable and memorable and you will leave satisfied. Please give me a call directly on your next trip. Enjoy the new year and send some of that California sun our way!

Nick Stofocik
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

With the snow outside on Christmas Eve night, our hotel room was a pleasant retreat from the cold. The fireplace was an unexpected treat. Our room had every amenity that we needed and wanted. Perfect location! Helpful staff! Loved the hotel's rustic, native American charm. We recommend this hotel to everyone who wants to be close to the Plaza but not subjected to its traffic noise. We had a wonderful time in Santa Fe, in large part to this beautiful hotel and its welcoming staff!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick S, Director of Operations at Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Thank you Blake G!

This is an amazing 5-Star review, and I am happy we were able to share the holiday with you.
It seems like you appreciated our unique design and decor. Our cultural cause here at Hotel Chimayo is giving back a portion of our earnings to the city of Chimayo which is 30 minutes north of Santa Fe. The charm our hotel evokes is merely an echo of the city's vibrant history and traditions. In the future, when you are visiting northern New Mexico, I not only hope you will stay with us but are able to visit Chimayo and see the rich heritage we represent. Have a wonderful start to the new year and see you again!

Nick Stofocik
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

I am writing this as a warning to other travelers. We arrived Christmas Eve in the afternoon and did not immediately bring all of our presents upstairs into the room as we had steep stairs to climb into the "loft-type" room we had. Later, we found that someone had stolen all the Christmas presents from the car in the hotel underground garage ($14 charge per night!! and no security or gate). The management was nice and offered free breakfast coupons and a bottle of wine. We then went to eat breakfast there for the next two mornings and received horrible service both times with different waitresses. No water was brought despite frequent requests, no menus were given (we finally grabbed them ourselves) the coffee finally came when the food came out and was never refilled, and she came back numerous times trying to piece back together our order (we were the only table there so it was not too busy). This happened two days in a row and the second day we overheard the waitress bickering with a guest over the 20% discount card they presented. We also had two fire alarms at 5:30AM in the morning (apparently guests tried to start the fire places on their own) and found ourselves both Christmas Eve and Christmas Day in P.J's in the snow outside!!
Overall, I must say the hotel was clean and the beds very comfy, but the rooms were also very drafty.
The hotel reception staff was awesome and super nice, but the horrible breakfast experience would make us probably not want to come back!!
P.S.: I would have like to have included one of many nice pictures I took at this hotel but unfortunately, my camera got stolen at the restaurant next door (The Burrito Company)!!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick S, Regional Director-Food & Beverage at Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thank you for taking time and writing this review.
I truly apologize for the inconvenience you encountered while dining at our restaurant. Here at Hotel Chimayo, we take pride in our guests and want to ensure that every guest has a great dining experience. Obviously , we by far failed to provide a great dining experience to you.
Your comments are very concerning and have been addressed with the team.
I hope that you will still consider us when travelling back to Santa Fe. I know we can make your stay unforgettable and memorable.
I thank you for taking time out of your busy schedule, its only through valued guests like you who take time to provide us with feedback that we will be able to improvise.

Regards/ Tauseen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA/Sweden
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

We were just planning to spend one night in Santa Fe, but after our great experience the first night at Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe -- with a fireplace even -- we ended up staying a second night. Also, critical to what felt like a magical experience was Jay at the front desk. He was phenomenally considerate about our every need. You'd be lucky to be able to interact with him while you're there.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick S, Director of Operations at Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Dear TripGuy025,

Thank you so much for your kind words and this remarkable 5-Star review. It sounds like Jay truly went above and beyond to make your stay unforgettable. He is unbelievably considerate and is one of our many stars here at Hotel Chimayo. I am pleased you were able to facilitate our in-room fireplace. Since not all of rooms come with this very special addition, please make sure you request one the next time you make reservations as those rooms tend to fill up pretty fast.
While visiting Santa Fe in the future, please give our reservations line a call and let them know you are a returning guest. Our amazing staff will take good care of you-including Jay!

Nick Stofocik
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, MD
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

My mom and I stayed at Hotel Chimayo and it was exactly what we had been wanting. It is right by the old town and everything we wanted to see was within walking distance. The beds are comfortable, the lobby and the rooms are beautiful, and the management was very friendly and helpful and went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable. We didn't have any trouble with parking either. Our room was accessible only through a courtyard, and in December it was very cold to have to walk through every time we went anywhere, but the ambiance of the courtyard made up for it. It was a little more expensive that we had wished for, but it was definitely worth the splurge!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick S, Director of Operations at Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Thank you for the 5-Star review DesertWanderer29!

It sounds like our staff and hotel met your expectations and we couldn't be more pleased. Our parking garage being onsite and underground does help during these winter months when snow doesn't have to be removed from your car. Our courtyard does seem magical during this time of year, and I hope you were able to get some pictures. Please let me know when you would like to experience the mystique of Santa Fe again. You can see how the city looks completely different in the spring and summer. Thank you again

Nick Stofocik
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

The Hotel Chimayo Front Desk and Housekeeping service was fantastic and very professional! The staff is very cordial and outgoing, and the location is unbeatable! The room was cozy, quiet and offered a comfortable bed which enhanced a great nights sleep! Lots of bang for the buck!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick S, Director of Operations at Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Thank Andrew G for this generous review!

I am pleased our staff from the front desk to housekeeping was able to "wow" you. Our location is truly unbeatable and I hope you were able to take advantage of the numerous shops and sights within walking distance. We look forward to welcoming you back anytime you are visiting the Santa Fe area. Give us a call directly - our reservations department loves to help our returning friends

Nick Stofocik
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe

Address: 125 Washington Avenue, Santa Fe, NM 87501 (Formerly Hotel Plaza Real)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#16 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe 3.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe (previously the Hotel Plaza Real) has just been fully remodeled. This picturesque boutique hotel offers luxurious accommodations with original artwork which celebrates the unique heritage of Chimayo. The enchanting guest room suites feature bancos, fireplaces, private or communal balconies and separate living rooms centered on an open-air plaza patio. Just a short walk from the hotel are some of the most treasured Santa Fe attractions such as the State Capitol, the Palace of the Governors, the striking St. Francis Cathedral Basilica, and the Loretto Chapel, which houses the Miraculous Spiral Staircase. "Hotels supporting cultural causes." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Real Santa Fe
Plaza Real Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.