We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't beat the location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe

Save Saved
You added Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotels.com Orbitz.com
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   125 Washington Avenue, Santa Fe, NM 87501 (Formerly Hotel Plaza Real) (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Affiliate website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Exclusive offer-Save 35%
Ranked #25 of 59 hotels in Santa Fe
Colleyville, Texas
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Can't beat the location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Stayed here for many years throughout the many name changes the hotel has had. Many updates have been made to the rooms and the lobby. The staff is already friendly and helpful. Can't beat the rates! However stayed in an older room this time that needed updating and hopefully done soon. Bathrooms are so small and decor lacking small touches. Despite the years of loyalty to this place- the wife has talked of staying elsewhere, which is a shame. Yhe location is great for the shops, restaurants, and the square.

Room Tip: 4 bedrooms upstairs on 3rd floor can be converted into one large suite with 4 bedrooms, several sitt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick S, Director of Operations at Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Thank you jaye116 for your 4-star review,

I am delighted you noticed our recent updates to the hotel. We have been working hard to make sure our rooms have all been updated and reflect the unique spirit and voice of the people of Chimayo. I appreciate your recommendations for the bathrooms. We want to make sure everything is as perfect as possible; your suggestions help us grow and provide better customer service. I do hope that you will return to stay with us. I value your loyalty to our property and would hate to see you go. Please give me a call directly next time you are planning a Santa Fe trip. I hope you have a wonderful holiday season.

Nick Stofocik, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

547 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    219
    207
    63
    34
    24
See reviews for
90
249
36
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Hotel chimayo is a small but stylish hotel within 1/2 block of Santa Fe's plaza. The rooms are well furnished and have been recently updated. Some have wood burning fireplaces and most have balconies. The staff are very friendly and of course you are within walking distance of some of Santa Fe's best restaurants. One addition in the new renovation is the addition of a small restaurant. We only had breakfast but the blue corn pancakes were very good. Hopefully we will get the chance to return and try an evening meal. Have stayed here quite a few times and never disappointed!!! Give it a try!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick S, Director of Operations at Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Thank you Halibut-1 for such a beautiful 5-star review,

I appreciate you taking the time to write such wonderful compliments for Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe. It sounds like you reserved one of our Mission King Junior Suites; many of those room types have their own balcony and much needed at this time of year--a wood-burning fireplace. I hope you visit us again when making your way to Northern New Mexico. We would love to see you again.

Nick Stofocik, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Park, Texas
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

I got a deal from SniqueAway deals since we were going to be in Santa Fe. What a beautiful King room we had with a fireplace. And what a great location! just a block from the Plaza with plenty of shopping and the indians selling their jewelry on the sidewalks. Another plus was FREE PARKING!!

Room Tip: Go for the King Suites!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick S, Director of Operations at Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Hello Robert D,

It sounds like the SniqueAway package was perfect for you! The free parking with that package is definitely a plus. I hope you return to Hotel Chimayo again. Maybe we you can come when the fireplace is not necessary and see the city in Springtime. There are a lot more shopping options, and they are steps away from our door.
Please call us directly the next time you visit Santa Fe. We love to welcome back repeat guests.

Nick Stofocik, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I have stayed here twice. The first time was great, hence the second visit. The rooms are very "Santa Fe". They allow dogs. They are friendly enough. The location couldn't be better.
I'm writing this review on the second night of our second stay. The problem: we are in room 101, right next to the restaurant and bar, under the kitchen. Last night there was banging and loud music until midnight and the banging started up again at 4am.
I recommend this hotel but DO NOT stay in rooms 101, 201 or 301.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick S, Director of Operations at Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you rwa612 for your comments,

I appreciate you taking the time to post your experience on TripAdvisor. I am happy to see you are a return guest. We love seeing our guests again and again because we want you to feel like family while in Santa Fe.
I completely apologize for the disturbance you encountered during your recent stay. I have looked into the situation, and I am working on ways to improve the quality of that room.
When you are looking to return to our area, I hope you will pick Hotel Chimayo again. You are part of our family as a return guest, and we love to welcome back our family.

Thank you again
Nick Stofocik, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

This little hotel is so lovely. The location is great, the staff friendly, the bedrooms clean and pretty. The price is very reasonable.
I have only one suggestion for the staff/hotel owner: Give better instructions, or make little maps that show guests where to park. Careless instructions almost turned a delightful 1.5 day weekend trip into a bad experience.

Here's what needs to be corrected:
We paid $14 to park in the hotel lot, and were told that the lot was "On Nusbaum, around the corner, behind the hotel", so around the corner we went, and parked in the lot there behind the hotel. The next day while out enjoying the town, we got a cell phone call telling us that we'd parked in the wrong place and were about to be towed. So we had to go back to the hotel to rescue the car. Fortunately, we weren't far away or having lunch, and the nice man who charges only $12/night for his lot (that we'd parked in) forgave us for parking there by mistake.
The simple instruction would have been: "Turn onto Nusbaum, and then turn into the parking garage, which is the first driveway." There were no signs indicating which was the correct lot for the Hotel Chimayo, and apparently this is a common problem, as admitted by the very nice young lady who made the effort to call us, and was having trouble locating the other guests who had parked in the wrong lot, about to be towed.
It was (1) very nice of them to take the time to call us to warn us, (2) not good to have carelessly set up guests to have their vehicles towed, (3) nice of them to refund the $14 parking fee, (4) not so great for them to charge us for the second night parking, when we just parked on the street, (5) nice of them to then cancel THAT fee since they also hadn't instructed us to give them back the little paper permit to prove we weren't using the lot the second night.
As I said, the staff were very friendly, and I'm sure the staff will now start to improve the instructions they give out.
Meanwhile, we'll be back to this lovely hotel, and now we know where to park.

Room Tip: If you pay the $14 to park in the hotel lot, make sure you park in the right lot. Ask for very caref...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick S, Director of Operations at Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you MyNameHere11,

I am pleased you chose to stay with us at Hotel Chimayo. It seems our rooms and location were ideal for your trip, and it is wonderful you discovered our gem in Santa Fe. I apologize for the confusion regarding the directions to the parking garage. I have used this review as training tool for our front desk and am assuring that it will not resurface. I know our staff was particularly concerned about the situation and I am relieved it was taken care of swiftly and with little incident.
We would love to see you again and please contact us directly when you are looking to return to our area. Thank you again for bringing this to my attention.

Nick Stofocik, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We had never been to Santa Fe and wanted to make sure our first experience was all we hoped it would be. We wanted a great location and we wanted a hotel with charm which would reflect the local experience. We also wanted the best value (not cheapest) for our dollar. We chose the Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe after much research and feel we hit a home run. Charming, comfortable and close to everything we wanted to do. They provided free underground parking and a delicious variety of breakfasts as part of the deal. When we checked in late our first night, the desk help was confused about our reservation which was a poor start. The next morning, the operations Manager, Nick, followed up with us and we were very impressed by his responsiveness to make sure we were satisfied. His obvious concern and effort to make sure we had a great experience was exceptional. The hotel is right across from the Santa Fe Plaza and close to main arteries for some driving we did. We will stay there again and will recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a great experience in Santa Fe.

Room Tip: We booked a suite with a fireplace, but the didn't have one ready for us when we arrived. We co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick S, Director of Operations at Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Hello again adventureguy_58,

I am so happy that you enjoyed your time with us in Santa Fe. It was wonderful to meet you and I hope you will be able to return in the future. I am also pleased our Bed and Breakfast package worked for you. On your next trip, please give us a call and I we will make sure everything is perfect.

Nick Stofocik, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico, USA
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Just had a wonderful stay in a Retablos double loft room at the Hotel Chimayo in Santa Fe, wonderfully located just steps from the Plaza - near all manner of shopping, museums, galleries and dining. The former Plaza Real Hotel has been remodeled on a Northern New Mexico theme, featuring wooden furniture, tiles, and Chimayo weavings. Rooms are located around a charming bricked central courtyard that is a wonderful oasis of quiet in the heart of the City Different. There is an on-site restaurant featuring Northern New Mexico dishes (one of the only places still serving chicos, a stew featuring beef, chile and rehydrated sweet corn kernels that have been smoked and dried) as well as a pleasant bar showcasing the Norteño lowrider culture.

The quiet and secure double loft room requires a climb up a private interior staircase from the courtyard to a large second-story living area - the room is spacious and the balcony quite large. The bathroom is small. Linens are by Frette, toiletries by Gilchrist & Soames, in-room coffee by Starbucks. There is a small refrigerator in the room for your convenience, as well as an iron. Our room _could not_ have been cleaner - we were impressed. The beds were comfortable and the room was plenty warm against the chill of the high desert autumn. Old-fashioned windows required wooden props to remain open, and gave a great fresh crossflow of air.

On-site parking is easy and $14/day in the hotel's underground garage. Free wifi with a good signal is available to guests throughout the property. Nick, the hotel's Director of Operations, was friendly and helpful, as was everyone we spoke with at this great little property. We felt the double loft room was a real value and we'll definitely be back.

Room Tip: Loft rooms are spacious and have a large balcony, but require stair-climbing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick S, Director of Operations at Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Thank you Erich505 for your outstanding review!

I appreciate the pictures you accompanied. They are spectacular and I know that they will be helpful for future guests. Please come back again soon! It was wonderful to meet you and I look forward to your next trip to The City Different.
Nick Stofocik, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe

Also Known As:
Plaza Real Santa Fe
Plaza Real Hotel
Hotel Plaza Real
Address: 125 Washington Avenue, Santa Fe, NM 87501 (Formerly Hotel Plaza Real)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#20 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe (previously the Hotel Plaza Real) has just been fully remodeled. This picturesque boutique hotel offers luxurious accommodations with original artwork which celebrates the unique heritage of Chimayo. The enchanting guest room suites feature bancos, fireplaces, private or communal balconies and separate living rooms centered on an open-air plaza patio. Just a short walk from the hotel are some of the most treasured Santa Fe attractions such as the State Capitol, the Palace of the Governors, the striking St. Francis Cathedral Basilica, and the Loretto Chapel, which houses the Miraculous Spiral Staircase. "Hotels supporting cultural causes." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.