We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, lovely hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe

Save Saved
You added Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   125 Washington Avenue, Santa Fe, NM 87501 (Formerly Hotel Plaza Real) (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Affiliate website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Exclusive offer-Save 15%
Ranked #24 of 60 hotels in Santa Fe
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lovely, lovely hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

This little hotel is so lovely. The location is great, the staff friendly, the bedrooms clean and pretty. The price is very reasonable.
I have only one suggestion for the staff/hotel owner: Give better instructions, or make little maps that show guests where to park. Careless instructions almost turned a delightful 1.5 day weekend trip into a bad experience.

Here's what needs to be corrected:
We paid $14 to park in the hotel lot, and were told that the lot was "On Nusbaum, around the corner, behind the hotel", so around the corner we went, and parked in the lot there behind the hotel. The next day while out enjoying the town, we got a cell phone call telling us that we'd parked in the wrong place and were about to be towed. So we had to go back to the hotel to rescue the car. Fortunately, we weren't far away or having lunch, and the nice man who charges only $12/night for his lot (that we'd parked in) forgave us for parking there by mistake.
The simple instruction would have been: "Turn onto Nusbaum, and then turn into the parking garage, which is the first driveway." There were no signs indicating which was the correct lot for the Hotel Chimayo, and apparently this is a common problem, as admitted by the very nice young lady who made the effort to call us, and was having trouble locating the other guests who had parked in the wrong lot, about to be towed.
It was (1) very nice of them to take the time to call us to warn us, (2) not good to have carelessly set up guests to have their vehicles towed, (3) nice of them to refund the $14 parking fee, (4) not so great for them to charge us for the second night parking, when we just parked on the street, (5) nice of them to then cancel THAT fee since they also hadn't instructed us to give them back the little paper permit to prove we weren't using the lot the second night.
As I said, the staff were very friendly, and I'm sure the staff will now start to improve the instructions they give out.
Meanwhile, we'll be back to this lovely hotel, and now we know where to park.

Room Tip: If you pay the $14 to park in the hotel lot, make sure you park in the right lot. Ask for very caref...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick S, Director of Operations at Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you MyNameHere11,

I am pleased you chose to stay with us at Hotel Chimayo. It seems our rooms and location were ideal for your trip, and it is wonderful you discovered our gem in Santa Fe. I apologize for the confusion regarding the directions to the parking garage. I have used this review as training tool for our front desk and am assuring that it will not resurface. I know our staff was particularly concerned about the situation and I am relieved it was taken care of swiftly and with little incident.
We would love to see you again and please contact us directly when you are looking to return to our area. Thank you again for bringing this to my attention.

Nick Stofocik, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

569 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    230
    213
    66
    36
    24
See reviews for
98
260
37
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We had never been to Santa Fe and wanted to make sure our first experience was all we hoped it would be. We wanted a great location and we wanted a hotel with charm which would reflect the local experience. We also wanted the best value (not cheapest) for our dollar. We chose the Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe after much research and feel we hit a home run. Charming, comfortable and close to everything we wanted to do. They provided free underground parking and a delicious variety of breakfasts as part of the deal. When we checked in late our first night, the desk help was confused about our reservation which was a poor start. The next morning, the operations Manager, Nick, followed up with us and we were very impressed by his responsiveness to make sure we were satisfied. His obvious concern and effort to make sure we had a great experience was exceptional. The hotel is right across from the Santa Fe Plaza and close to main arteries for some driving we did. We will stay there again and will recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a great experience in Santa Fe.

Room Tip: We booked a suite with a fireplace, but the didn't have one ready for us when we arrived. We co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick S, Director of Operations at Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Hello again adventureguy_58,

I am so happy that you enjoyed your time with us in Santa Fe. It was wonderful to meet you and I hope you will be able to return in the future. I am also pleased our Bed and Breakfast package worked for you. On your next trip, please give us a call and I we will make sure everything is perfect.

Nick Stofocik, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico, USA
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Just had a wonderful stay in a Retablos double loft room at the Hotel Chimayo in Santa Fe, wonderfully located just steps from the Plaza - near all manner of shopping, museums, galleries and dining. The former Plaza Real Hotel has been remodeled on a Northern New Mexico theme, featuring wooden furniture, tiles, and Chimayo weavings. Rooms are located around a charming bricked central courtyard that is a wonderful oasis of quiet in the heart of the City Different. There is an on-site restaurant featuring Northern New Mexico dishes (one of the only places still serving chicos, a stew featuring beef, chile and rehydrated sweet corn kernels that have been smoked and dried) as well as a pleasant bar showcasing the Norteño lowrider culture.

The quiet and secure double loft room requires a climb up a private interior staircase from the courtyard to a large second-story living area - the room is spacious and the balcony quite large. The bathroom is small. Linens are by Frette, toiletries by Gilchrist & Soames, in-room coffee by Starbucks. There is a small refrigerator in the room for your convenience, as well as an iron. Our room _could not_ have been cleaner - we were impressed. The beds were comfortable and the room was plenty warm against the chill of the high desert autumn. Old-fashioned windows required wooden props to remain open, and gave a great fresh crossflow of air.

On-site parking is easy and $14/day in the hotel's underground garage. Free wifi with a good signal is available to guests throughout the property. Nick, the hotel's Director of Operations, was friendly and helpful, as was everyone we spoke with at this great little property. We felt the double loft room was a real value and we'll definitely be back.

Room Tip: Loft rooms are spacious and have a large balcony, but require stair-climbing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick S, Director of Operations at Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Thank you Erich505 for your outstanding review!

I appreciate the pictures you accompanied. They are spectacular and I know that they will be helpful for future guests. Please come back again soon! It was wonderful to meet you and I look forward to your next trip to The City Different.
Nick Stofocik, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I picked Hotel Chimayo based on other Trip Advisor reviews. The location is indeed it's biggest selling point. The other positives are that the room was a nice size. We had a deluxe King suite w/fireplace on the 2nd floor (no elevator). The bed was comfortable, front desk helpful, nice big front porch with seating. The downside was no a/c (I don't recall seeing that on their website) but they do have windows that open - which also means you will hear early morning noise from nearby properties. We requested a fan which they supplied. The bathroom was small and not enough counter space for toiletries. Next door bar had Karaoke mid week which was fun. Overall a nice stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick S, Director of Operations at Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear hardydesk,

Thank you for your 4-Star review! It is great to hear our rooms were nicely appointed and that our staff was pleasant able to assist. I apologize for the noise you experienced due to the window being open. Our downtown location is optimal for seeing everything Santa Fe has to offer, but can sometimes mean extra street activity. The next time you visit our city, please contact us directly, and we will try to assign you a room on our southern side away from the street. When you return, I hope the karaoke machine will be calling your name. Thank you again
Nick Stofocik, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Veta, Colorado
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Can't say enough good about our room experience here, we stayed in a mission junior king suite. the most comfortable bed I think we have ever had, sheets were crispy clean and smelled fresh,
very large 2 rooms with comfortable chairs in the sitting area, 2 tv's, wet bar, perfect bathroom with nice southwestern tile, OH YES and water so hot you might want to be careful ! There was also a wood burning fireplace, Don't know if you can use it, didn't need it so didn't pay much attention..Also there were french style doors on one side of the suite and a large window on the other, made for nice fresh air, room was A-1. Now on to the dinning and the bar. Ate at the restaurant up-stairs we were a little out of season and so it seemed dead, I had pork chops, thin and dry, my wife had a mexican combo plate, was good but couldn't eat the tamale for the heat. I was glad we had a dinner voucher, otherwise not worth it to me. The bar area is nice but drinks are expensive and the bartender that night was less than interested in doing his job, we about had to send up signal flares to get his attention and we were only 6ft. away at a table. Looking back the hotel and rooms are great, but you might want to go elsewhere for your nightlife. Oh yes and the plaza was just down the block very convenient. Underground parking, you can walk most places.

Room Tip: If you have trouble with stairs make sure to get a ground level, no elevators to 2nd floor rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick S, Director of Operations at Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Thank you 2oldogs for your 4-Star review,
I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed our bedding and room accommodations. Our fireplaces are definitely functioning and I hope that you will return to experience it. I regret you did not have an exceptional experience in our restaurant or bar. We have discussed these issues with the Food & Beverage manager and have made vast improvements based on your input. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. If you decide to return to Santa Fe, we wish you would make Hotel Chimayo your destination of choice. Thank you again!
Nick Stofocik, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
las vegas, nv, USA
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Hubby and I took a quick two night get away to Santa Fe, where we have visited many times but never stayed at this hotel. It was great! Super comfy bed! Separate sitting area, wood burning fireplace, rooms are off the street, quiet. Few steps from the plaza. We would stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick S, Director of Operations at Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Thank you acribari,
It seems you enjoyed your stay while at Hotel Chimayo and we couldn't be more pleased! We hope to be your mainstay hotel when you journey back to Santa Fe. The next time you are returning to The City Different, make sure you call us directly. We love welcoming back guests!
Nick Stofocik, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We just returned from a trip to Santa Fe and we had a great stay at the Hotel Chimayo. From the time we walked into the lobby the staff was so helpful. We parked our car and never needed to used it the three days we were there. The location is excellent, right off the plaza. We could walk everywhere. Great restaurants walking distance, the cathedral is about 1 block and canyon road was about a 20 min leasure walk. The hotel had a nice porch in front with comfortable chairs to sit on after a days outing. We had a fire place in our room and they would have someone come up and bring wood and start the fire. Our room was very clean and the bed very comfortable. The rooms are a bit dark during the day. The bathroom is small but very workable since the vanity area is separate. I definitely would stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: I would choose the option of a king jr suite or their larger suite due to the fact they have a separ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick S, Director of Operations at Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Thank you JudySanClemente for 4-Star rating,
Your kind words and compliments are particularly valued. Sharing them on TripAdvisor contributes to our growth as a company. While enjoying the sites and sounds of Santa Fe, you found a car is not necessarily essential and I am delighted our parking garage was a helpful tool. I look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Chimayo and maybe on your future stay, you will be able to utilize your car see the city of Chimayo. Our hotel is inspired by their community and their culture. The fireplaces and comfortable chairs you enjoyed represent the the city's unique craftsmanship and sensibility.
I hope you have a pleasant holiday season.
Nick Stofocik, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe

Address: 125 Washington Avenue, Santa Fe, NM 87501 (Formerly Hotel Plaza Real)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#19 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe (previously the Hotel Plaza Real) has just been fully remodeled. This picturesque boutique hotel offers luxurious accommodations with original artwork which celebrates the unique heritage of Chimayo. The enchanting guest room suites feature bancos, fireplaces, private or communal balconies and separate living rooms centered on an open-air plaza patio. Just a short walk from the hotel are some of the most treasured Santa Fe attractions such as the State Capitol, the Palace of the Governors, the striking St. Francis Cathedral Basilica, and the Loretto Chapel, which houses the Miraculous Spiral Staircase. "Hotels supporting cultural causes." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Real Santa Fe
Plaza Real Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.