We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel with great price and great location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe to your Saves list
Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   125 Washington Avenue, Santa Fe, NM 87501 (Formerly Hotel Plaza Real) (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Affiliate website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
'Tis the Season-Save 25%
Ranked #22 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel with great price and great location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

This is a beautiful hotel less than a block from the Plaza. Rooms are very comfortable and our's was set up with a front room with fireplace and a bedroom. Of course the motif is adobe. The bed is especially comfortable. The staff is very and nice and will jump through hoops to get what you need. The only knock, and this was because of our room location (in the very back facing the library) is that the trash was picked up directly under our room at 4:30 every morning, very loud! We will ask for a different room location next time. Will definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Stay up front, do not think it will matter which floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick S, Director of Operations at Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
I appreciate your 4-Star review Bufordclyde,
Thank you for choosing Hotel Chimayo for your recent stay in beautiful Santa Fe. I am pleased you enjoyed our room amenities and that our staff was eager and willing to make your stay memorable. I apologize for the noise you experienced while here and please contact us directly to avoid the same issue on your next stay. I look forward to your return!
Nick Stofocik, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

604 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    252
    224
    68
    37
    23
See reviews for
103
275
40
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Recently spent 2 nights at the hotel Chimayo Santa Fe. We booked well in advance directly with the hotel. We were told at the time that the king rooms were much nicer due to a fireplace and sitting area. I explained at the time my sister and I were sharing a room and would prefer to have our own beds. At check in we got the same spiel and said no we would stick to the original request - 2 beds. We had to walk all the way to the very back end of the hotel making our way up about 6 stairs to our room. Upon opening the door to the room we had to climb close to 20 stairs to get to the beds. I've never seen a hotel room like this. I walk with a cane and this hotel is in no way handicap friendly or elderly friendly. No elevator to access these rooms. No extra roll of TP in the room, only one wash cloth, soaps weren't replaced the second day & sticks had to be placed in the windows to keep them up. Not at all what we were expecting for close to $200 a night. The parking garage was a nice perk but we did pay extra for that.

Room Tip: If you have any mobility issues stay at another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick S, Director of Operations at Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Thank you Tebaca40 for your review,
I very much appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel. It is important to our hotel family and helps us grow and improve our customer service practices. As you mentioned, our hotel is rather unique and unfortunately does not offer elevator access to all of our rooms. Since our building is historic, we have tried to maintain the original look and feel of the structure. We hope that this experience did not deter you from coming back to Hotel Chimayo. Many of our rooms have first floor access and we try very hard to fulfill all guest requests. The next time you would like to stay, please contact me directly and we will make sure you are 100% satisfied.
Nick Stofocik, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Found this hotel after browsing numerous websites. Trip advisor reviews were a couple of years old so decided to go for it based on gut instinct.
1st impression was not great since the lobby did not have air conditioning and it is June in Santa Fe! You had to go outside to enter the guest room area which is an exterior passageway with 2 levels. Our room was on the 2nd level and consisted of a sitiing area and separate bedroom (king size) and bath. There was a kitchen area with a mini frig, sink, microwave, and coffee maker. The sitting area had a sofa bed, chair and fireplace, which I imagine must be fabulous in the winter. All furnishings are traditional Santa Fe style. Thankfully all the rooms have super airconditioning!
The room decor is updated but not fancy or modern. There is no view except for the exterior passageway. Passageway is adorable and decorated Santa Fe style with dried chiles hanging from the roof and various sculptures.
The hotel is associated with the Chimayo pueblo and is decorated in that style with proceeeds from sales benefitting the pueblo.
Location was and is fantastic!!!!! Right of the main plaza. Hotel has a garage for parking below and even thought it was full, we gave our key to the lobby personnel and they took care of making sure that it was parked when we got back from our side trips.
Al in all it turned out to be a fantastic stay. The front porch is huge with great chairs for people-watching. WE did not eat in the restaurant but heard that the food was very good.
This is a terrific boutique hotel, pet friendly, and definitely a good choice for couples.

Room Tip: Ask for 2nd level room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick S, Director of Operations at Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Thank you Letty0 for your review
I am so pleased that you enjoyed your time in Santa Fe while at Hotel Chimayo. It is wonderful that you chose to stay with us after doing your research. As you discovered, our hotel is designed to represent the distinctive culture of Chimayo. I understand that you were unable to try our exceptional restaurant, Tia’s Cocina, but hopefully on your next visit I can convince you to sample some of our mouth-watering dishes. We hope that you think about Hotel Chimayo the next time you visit Santa Fe and look forward to welcoming you!
Nick Stofocik, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

This hotel is a lovely place and has a great location - near the plaza right in the thick of the Santa Fe downtown scene. It has fairly reasonable rates for the location. The decor is nice, very Santa Fe but not overdone as some places can be. There's a nice front porch for sitting and people-watching, and our room had a shared balcony area with nice views and tables/chairs with good views of the hills surrounding the town. It's surprisingly quiet for being in the downtown area.

Now for the less appealing side. Our room was upstairs, but within the room there was a stair that led to two locked doors - one presumably an additional room should you want a suite and the other possibly an outside door, but one that we did not have a key for. Thus it seemed that there was only one exit from the room in case of fire - via the balcony, and one way off that balcony - down the stairwell - there was not a stair at the other end that we could see. A little thing, you might say, but of course the fire alarm did go off at 7:45 our second morning there. According to another guest who'd been there before, this is not that uncommon - it had gone off a couple of times on a previous trip, and it went off again later that morning. It's a jarring thing to wake up to, for sure. Also, the window, while functional, lacked a counterweight so we had to prop it open with either a stick (provided by the hotel) or some other sturdy object.....it was heavy and not easy to do that without three hands. It's the time of year that you don't need air conditioning, but you do need ventilation. Finally, for a high-priced hotel, it was skimpy on towels, and on places to hang those towels. The bathroom was large, so why only one towel rack? Two towels, two washcloths? Again, not a huge deal, but one hopes for more. The final jury - I would stay there again, but my husband did not care for it, so a mixed vote.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, California
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Pros- courteous, professional staff, very comfortable beds, great location within walking distance to everything downtown, nice hotel bar/restaurant with great home style New Mexcan food. Nice fireplace in the room, although no firewood or any way to start a fire.

Cons- the bathroom reminded me of the ones in middle school - just a sink hanging out of the wall, toilet and a plain mirror stuck to the wall. No place to put your toiletries, even a toothbrush, anywhere near the sink. Pretty skimpy amount of towels and just basic toiletries - not what you'd expect for a hotel in this price range.There looks like there once was a mini fridge, there was a space for it but no fridge. Furishings and carpeting somewhat dated, Also the garage parking was $14.00 a day...pretty pricey in my book.

Room Tip: I would try to stay on the first floor but not too close to the lobby as they have live music on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

The hotel itself was ok (nice room, comfortable bed, in a good location, etc) but the logic of having the air conditioning turned off because it might snow in a few weeks was ridiculous. We inquired about a floor fan for the room and were told we were put on a list (knowing there was a problem, they went out and got fans - unfortunately, not enough for all of the rooms), but it seems we were somehow skipped over - having only gotten a fan on our last (of 5) nights. We spoke with several staff members (all very nice and gracious) but never got to speak to the true root of the problem - a new general manager that made a bad call on the a/c. We were eventually granted a $50 credit (not even enough to cover the mandatory parking fee) but that really didn't cut it! I think we will be disputing the full balance of our stay with the credit card company because it was IMPOSSIBLE to sleep with the windows wide open and noise from the surrounding hotels sorting their garbage. We could have gotten more rest in a chain hotel for 2/3 less ! PS: they did offer to get us a room in another hotel but we were not up to dealing with the inconvenience of repacking all of our things and moving clear across the square.

Room Tip: I agree with previous tips about bar noise in 101, 201 & 301 but will add to also avoid rooms at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael B, Manager at Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Thank you for your review on Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe. We always appreciate any and all feedback our guests provide us. This way we can learn from our mistakes, and correct any issues that may have happened. We apologize if you were uncomfortable during your stay without air conditioning. We always strive for perfection In guest service, and never want our guests to feel anything less than having a burning desire to return. I've looked into all concerns you've expressed and have corrected all. Once again thank you for your review, and we look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

I came here with a group of family getting five rooms total and they lost one of our parties reservations all together sending them to a hotel out of down town Santa fe. Whenn we arrived there were dirty dishes in the room. Finally after a long day in the 84 degree weather I returned to my room to find it unbarabley hot and there was no air conditioning in the room resulting in the worst night sleep I've gotten in years. I would not go back.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael B, Manager at Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Thank you for your review, and staying with us at Hotel Chimayo. We apologize for the mix up with your reservation. I’ll be looking into this to see exactly what happened, and use this as a training tool for our reservations department moving forward. We never want this happening again. In Santa Fe we are coming into our colder weather season. Because of this we have switched over our unit to provide heat, so our guests have more comfort. Please remember our building is an older historic structure. We do apologize if you were a little uncomfortable. Once again thank you for your review. We always appreciate any feedback so that we can improve and provide our guests with a burning desire to return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe

Address: 125 Washington Avenue, Santa Fe, NM 87501 (Formerly Hotel Plaza Real)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#16 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe 3.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe (previously the Hotel Plaza Real) has just been fully remodeled. This picturesque boutique hotel offers luxurious accommodations with original artwork which celebrates the unique heritage of Chimayo. The enchanting guest room suites feature bancos, fireplaces, private or communal balconies and separate living rooms centered on an open-air plaza patio. Just a short walk from the hotel are some of the most treasured Santa Fe attractions such as the State Capitol, the Palace of the Governors, the striking St. Francis Cathedral Basilica, and the Loretto Chapel, which houses the Miraculous Spiral Staircase. "Hotels supporting cultural causes." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Real Santa Fe
Plaza Real Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.