We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but a few issues” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe

Save Saved
You added Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   125 Washington Avenue, Santa Fe, NM 87501 (Formerly Hotel Plaza Real) (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Affiliate website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Exclusive offer-Save 15%
Ranked #24 of 60 hotels in Santa Fe
New Mexico
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Nice but a few issues”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

This hotel is a lovely place and has a great location - near the plaza right in the thick of the Santa Fe downtown scene. It has fairly reasonable rates for the location. The decor is nice, very Santa Fe but not overdone as some places can be. There's a nice front porch for sitting and people-watching, and our room had a shared balcony area with nice views and tables/chairs with good views of the hills surrounding the town. It's surprisingly quiet for being in the downtown area.

Now for the less appealing side. Our room was upstairs, but within the room there was a stair that led to two locked doors - one presumably an additional room should you want a suite and the other possibly an outside door, but one that we did not have a key for. Thus it seemed that there was only one exit from the room in case of fire - via the balcony, and one way off that balcony - down the stairwell - there was not a stair at the other end that we could see. A little thing, you might say, but of course the fire alarm did go off at 7:45 our second morning there. According to another guest who'd been there before, this is not that uncommon - it had gone off a couple of times on a previous trip, and it went off again later that morning. It's a jarring thing to wake up to, for sure. Also, the window, while functional, lacked a counterweight so we had to prop it open with either a stick (provided by the hotel) or some other sturdy object.....it was heavy and not easy to do that without three hands. It's the time of year that you don't need air conditioning, but you do need ventilation. Finally, for a high-priced hotel, it was skimpy on towels, and on places to hang those towels. The bathroom was large, so why only one towel rack? Two towels, two washcloths? Again, not a huge deal, but one hopes for more. The final jury - I would stay there again, but my husband did not care for it, so a mixed vote.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

575 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    234
    215
    66
    36
    24
See reviews for
99
262
38
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Roseville, California
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Pros- courteous, professional staff, very comfortable beds, great location within walking distance to everything downtown, nice hotel bar/restaurant with great home style New Mexcan food. Nice fireplace in the room, although no firewood or any way to start a fire.

Cons- the bathroom reminded me of the ones in middle school - just a sink hanging out of the wall, toilet and a plain mirror stuck to the wall. No place to put your toiletries, even a toothbrush, anywhere near the sink. Pretty skimpy amount of towels and just basic toiletries - not what you'd expect for a hotel in this price range.There looks like there once was a mini fridge, there was a space for it but no fridge. Furishings and carpeting somewhat dated, Also the garage parking was $14.00 a day...pretty pricey in my book.

Room Tip: I would try to stay on the first floor but not too close to the lobby as they have live music on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

The hotel itself was ok (nice room, comfortable bed, in a good location, etc) but the logic of having the air conditioning turned off because it might snow in a few weeks was ridiculous. We inquired about a floor fan for the room and were told we were put on a list (knowing there was a problem, they went out and got fans - unfortunately, not enough for all of the rooms), but it seems we were somehow skipped over - having only gotten a fan on our last (of 5) nights. We spoke with several staff members (all very nice and gracious) but never got to speak to the true root of the problem - a new general manager that made a bad call on the a/c. We were eventually granted a $50 credit (not even enough to cover the mandatory parking fee) but that really didn't cut it! I think we will be disputing the full balance of our stay with the credit card company because it was IMPOSSIBLE to sleep with the windows wide open and noise from the surrounding hotels sorting their garbage. We could have gotten more rest in a chain hotel for 2/3 less ! PS: they did offer to get us a room in another hotel but we were not up to dealing with the inconvenience of repacking all of our things and moving clear across the square.

Room Tip: I agree with previous tips about bar noise in 101, 201 & 301 but will add to also avoid rooms at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael B, Manager at Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Thank you for your review on Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe. We always appreciate any and all feedback our guests provide us. This way we can learn from our mistakes, and correct any issues that may have happened. We apologize if you were uncomfortable during your stay without air conditioning. We always strive for perfection In guest service, and never want our guests to feel anything less than having a burning desire to return. I've looked into all concerns you've expressed and have corrected all. Once again thank you for your review, and we look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

I came here with a group of family getting five rooms total and they lost one of our parties reservations all together sending them to a hotel out of down town Santa fe. Whenn we arrived there were dirty dishes in the room. Finally after a long day in the 84 degree weather I returned to my room to find it unbarabley hot and there was no air conditioning in the room resulting in the worst night sleep I've gotten in years. I would not go back.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael B, Manager at Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Thank you for your review, and staying with us at Hotel Chimayo. We apologize for the mix up with your reservation. I’ll be looking into this to see exactly what happened, and use this as a training tool for our reservations department moving forward. We never want this happening again. In Santa Fe we are coming into our colder weather season. Because of this we have switched over our unit to provide heat, so our guests have more comfort. Please remember our building is an older historic structure. We do apologize if you were a little uncomfortable. Once again thank you for your review. We always appreciate any feedback so that we can improve and provide our guests with a burning desire to return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

We arrived on Wednesday, mid 80's, nice day. Got a suite (room 200) - the front room of the hotel. Would have been awesome if there was air conditioning- but since they switched to heat recently, we had to open the windows. Noisy does not begin to describe it. And so hot for sleeping. They gave us a fan, and we bought ear plugs. But nothing blocks out the sound of street sweepers and chain saws at 7 am. Bizarre.

Next is the issue with wash cloths. When we arrived, we had one wash cloth in the room. So I called and asked for a few more. They were out of clean wash cloths. Some man at the desk gave us hand towels instead. Again, bizarre.

Breakfast was good. The front porch is nice and great for people watching. Dogs everywhere. In the lobby, on the porch, in the square. Dogs everywhere. Not really a dog person, but they were all nice.

I would not stay there again, but if you choose to, I would suggest you bring wash cloths and your own shampoo and body wash. And lots of lotion because it is so dry in Santa Fe. And they only give you a tiny bottle for 2 people.

It costed 848.00 for three nights (Wednesday to Saturday ), and at those prices, I expected more.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

I had been to this hotel a couple of times during Indian Market, but had never stayed here. So, on a recent trip I made it a point to stay here. The hotel's location is great, staff is friendly, the room clean and the bed was great. The bathroom could be updated but it was large with a jetted tub. A window would not stay up, but a piece of wood was provided to prop the window open. All in all a nice stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Hotel was perfect. Great location in downtown close to the Plaza. Rooms weren't too fancy, but they were perfect and comfortable. Hotel staff was friendly and the manager Mike was very helpful. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe

Address: 125 Washington Avenue, Santa Fe, NM 87501 (Formerly Hotel Plaza Real)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#19 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe (previously the Hotel Plaza Real) has just been fully remodeled. This picturesque boutique hotel offers luxurious accommodations with original artwork which celebrates the unique heritage of Chimayo. The enchanting guest room suites feature bancos, fireplaces, private or communal balconies and separate living rooms centered on an open-air plaza patio. Just a short walk from the hotel are some of the most treasured Santa Fe attractions such as the State Capitol, the Palace of the Governors, the striking St. Francis Cathedral Basilica, and the Loretto Chapel, which houses the Miraculous Spiral Staircase. "Hotels supporting cultural causes." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotel.de, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Real Santa Fe
Plaza Real Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;