We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice spot downtown” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe to your Saves list
Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   125 Washington Avenue, Santa Fe, NM 87501 (Formerly Hotel Plaza Real) (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Affiliate website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Limited Time - Save 20%
Ranked #22 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Shreveport, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Nice spot downtown”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

We decided to travel to Santa Fe on a whim. Got a good last minute deal at Hotel Chimayo. Great location a block from historic square which I loved. I like that it's just far enough away from the hustle and bustle. Bed was very comfortable. Loved the authentic Spanish Mission decor. Bath water was nice and hot for us. Housekeeping quick on getting additional towels to the room. I would have liked a place outside our 2nd floor room for morning coffee but still would choose to return to this quaint neat hotel. Side note: no elevator for 2nd floor outdoor rooms, if anyone in your party has difficulty with stairs. No problem for us.

Room Tip: There is no elevator for 2nd floor outdoor rooms, if anyone in your party has difficulty with stairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

630 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    264
    234
    70
    39
    23
See reviews for
106
286
43
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dania Beach, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

We made our reservations a month in advance and arrived about seven p.m. at the Hotel Chimayo to stay the weekend with friends who had already checked in. The clerk told us that he had bad news. The hotel had overbooked, and there was no room for us. When I explained that we had reservations, and what the term reservation means--an arrangement to secure accommodations at a restaurant or hotel, on a boat or plane, etc.--he shrugged and tried to look empathetic. Apparently it is the custom of the Hotel Chimayo to overbook. Be advised! We were told the hotel had a room for us at the St. Francis Hotel across the plaza, and that the room would be far superior than the room here--that says something about what the staff thinks of its own hotel, I suppose. Or perhaps the clerks are instructed to lie at these tense moments. The clerk, of course, was not responsible for the situation. He assured us we would have rooms for both nights. When we arrived at the St. Francis, we were told that the clerk had only asked for one, not two, nights. After some scrambling, our St. Francis clerk did find us a room for the next night as well. The room at the St. Francis was cramped, dark and not the quality of the room at the Chimayo. We travel to Santa Fe twice a year. We won’t be staying at the Hotel Chimayo when we do.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico, United States
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

We stayed this past weekend at the Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe (7-01-2012).
We awoke on Sunday morning at 7:30 am to the loud noise a power washer cleaning the front walk. Not cool.
I also noticed green fingernail polish on the bottom sheet.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

Great Hotel right in the middle of downtown, across street from the Library on Washington. EXCELLENT beds, similar to the Westin Hotels, down comforter and pillows awesome. A quick minute to the Plaza and restaurants. Very quaint Hotel with nice ambiance and Santa Fe design. Quiet and nice balconies and even downstairs rooms have table and chairs outside. No pool or jacuzzi both not needed if you are there to see the sights of Santa Fe. If you don't want to pay for parking, use meters at night, just move your car or pay meter at 8am the next morning. No need for food at this Hotel as many restaurants within walking distance. Bathroom very small but ya don't need much time in there, vanity outside of bathroom.

Room Tip: Upstairs have nice balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

The actual building is historic and interesting and the room is "cute", but ill suited or equipped for more than one person. We had a 2nd floor "balcony" room (balcony not big enough to sit out on), The sink and mirror are only barely wide enough for one person, so plan on getting ready sequentially in the morning. Coffee is set out for one and not replenished 2nd day. 1 package of creamer for 2 of us for 2 days. Just not much service or TLC. Same sleepy guy at the front desk all 3 days. Couldn't make eye contact to tell us where coffee could be found. Mattress and down comforter and pillows were great. Just not worth $200 per night. A/C units blow down on toilet on tub and made them very cold.

Room Tip: No real views so don't spend money for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

We happened to arrive at the Hotel de Chimayo de Santa Fe after a few days of roughing it. In short, we were looking forward to our much needed showers. Strangely enough, we arrived while the hotel was experiencing problems with their hot water heater. We kept it all in perspective: it wasn't Cuba where the average citizen has to have water delivered... And we decided to wander around Santa Fe.
However, when we called the front desk for an update on the hot water, a bratty boy hung up on me instead of giving a basic update. A few interactions with this guy in the hotel business made me think : he shouldn't be in the hospitality business. Hopefully, he straightened out his attitude or the managing staff straightened him out.
Our room was a split level, which was fine. But those with bad knees, etc., might want to ask about rooms without stairs. The attached bar, "Low Rider," was fine for drinks close by. The newly opened restaurant upstairs had a great bus-guy, but our waitress basically abandonned us.
Great location--right off the historic plaza. We walked everywhere: Canyon Road, to meals and the closer museums. Great trolley service too for tired bodies.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

I just wanted to share what a wonderful experience I had this hotel. I had some difficulties finding it, The actual hotel sign is low and hard to spot, but the sign you can spot id there glowing "Low N Slow" bar sign which is probably a landmark everyone should know about so they don't pass the hotel several times not realizing that is the hotel. After finding the hotel and walking into the beautiful lobby I proceeded to the front desk to check in. The ambiance of this hotel is quiet uplifting and lovely. Yes there are a lot of catholic decor everywhere in the hotel, but after speaking with Amanda, my husband and I quickly came to realize that the hotel is involving the culture of Chimayo and how they give a percentage of their profits to the preservation charity in the town. Which I think is wonderful for a company to be giving back to a community. Raquel and Amanda were a great duo at the front desk while checking us in. Raquel was very friendly and we were patient as you could tell she was still learning everything. Amanda had great recommendations of things to do and places to eat during our stay in Santa Fe. We travel to Santa Fe often, and have stayed here before, so with the new renovations and the great staff they have there I would definitely say our stay there was much improved. Our room was lovely we have a junior suite rm 205 which happens to have 2 private balconies which I thought was lovely! (best kept secret) Although it is summer and to hot for the fire place it is a lovely feature to have had in our room that will definitely make us come back during the cooler seasons especially because they are wood burning! Big plus!! The Low and Slow bar is fantastic, Frido was a wonderful and friendly bartender, and Paula served us breakfast in the Tia's Cocina Restaurant which has a beautiful outside balcony to enjoy the fresh new mornings. Everything about the hotel I find superb, the only down fall I see the wireless seemed to drop several times during our stay, and also the parking got a little crowded. All in all we had a lovley time and we will definitely be back!!!

Room Tip: Request room 205 you will have stairs, but the 2 private balconies are definitely worth it!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe

Address: 125 Washington Avenue, Santa Fe, NM 87501 (Formerly Hotel Plaza Real)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#19 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#22 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe 3.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe (previously the Hotel Plaza Real) has just been fully remodeled. This picturesque boutique hotel offers luxurious accommodations with original artwork which celebrates the unique heritage of Chimayo. The enchanting guest room suites feature bancos, fireplaces, private or communal balconies and separate living rooms centered on an open-air plaza patio. Just a short walk from the hotel are some of the most treasured Santa Fe attractions such as the State Capitol, the Palace of the Governors, the striking St. Francis Cathedral Basilica, and the Loretto Chapel, which houses the Miraculous Spiral Staircase. "Hotels supporting cultural causes." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Real Santa Fe
Plaza Real Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.